We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but clearly dated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Inn

Plaza Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plaza Inn to your Saves list
Plaza Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8155 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920 (Formerly Drury Inn Pikes Peak-Colorado Springs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good, but clearly dated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The main cons are the bedding (pillows ok, but the bedspread/ruffle are very old looking, very uncomfortable, and very dark), the outdated carpet (not in terrible shape, but clearly well trodden), tiny bathrooms which lack fans, and limited access to elevators. Pros are friendly staff, overall cleanliness (which can be difficult to achieve in older buildings such as this one), indoor/outdoor pool. It's better than some hotels that give you the heebie jeebies just thinking about sleeping in their bed, but it's a bit too drab, dark and dreary for me for more than a night or two.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here because this group always stays at Drury Hotels when they get together - so this place has recently changed management because they're building a new Drury about two miles away and letting this older property go back to some other owners. Although it's not bad for an overnight visit it was just ok. Can't say it's unpleasant - the rooms were clean and the amenities were there - one treadmill in the 'fitness center'; flat screen tv's in the rooms; free food provided at breakfast and dinner (odd, dinner?) People we were meeting there really went for the free food, however, free doesn't necessarily always mean good so I tend to avoid it. They don't have a shuttle from the airport to this hotel, so be sure to arrange to rent a car if you're coming here. The view was okay from the lobby - you could see Pike's Peak in the afternoon with the sun setting behind it. Great for that. Close to Cracker Barrel and Walmart. I suppose it's an okay place however not as convenient as others downtown perhaps.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room and its amenities were top-notch as was the continental breakfast, but the real surprise was a very complete complimentary supper buffet at 5:30pm when we checked in! It was all included in the price and made our stay so much easier by not having to go out again to have our meal (and it saved us money!). We were able to go to our room and relax. It was a great deal! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Ford, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in was quick, gave complimentary card for drinks. Room was large, with reclining chair, business center, fridge and microwave,flat screen TV. Very quite and the king bed is comfortable with plenty of pillows. Appreciate the extra outlets to plug electronics in without having to move tables. This hotel is north centrally located to many fine restaurants across the street, Chapel Hills Mall, and movie theaters. The room rate was an exceptionally great deal. I highly recommend!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Inn

Address: 8155 N Academy Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920 (Formerly Drury Inn Pikes Peak-Colorado Springs)
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Pikes Peak-Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Drury Inn
Drury Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.