We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Colorado Springs to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Colorado Springs
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8280 Voyager Parkway, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #73 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK for the Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here because it was close to everything. If you want the five star service then this is not your place. We were literally only there to sleep and it was pretty quiet at night, I can't complain about that. The breakfast was yummy (OMG the waffles!!) they had fresh coffee in the morning too. A few things:

1) The shower had this weird yellow stuff that was peeling off

2) The toilet did not have a toilet seat cover - yuck

3) The ice machine in the second building was not working.

The room itself was pretty clean so I can't complain about that.

I am not very picky with hotels as long as I'm safe at night and I have a comfortable place to sleep in that's all that matters. I am giving this hotel 4 stars mainly because the toilet seat cover was missing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. We really appreciate and value all the comments and opinions given to us. We are happy that you enjoyed most of your stay with our facility. We apologize that you had an inconvenience with the toilet seat cover, ice machine, and bath tub/shower. We have recently began updating and renovating the hotel and this is including all the above mentioned areas as well as others. We hope that you will visit us again in the future and enjoy the new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    73
    51
    58
See reviews for
99
49
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hickory
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The best part of our stay was Definitely the staff. All of them were super friendly and helpful. I give a Big Thank You to
Sandra, the Asst. Manager, Awesome Customer Service. As far as the room, the chairs were Very dirty and stained, we had No drawers in the dresser and could have used at least one more garbage can. Other than that, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. We really appreciate and value all the comments and opinions given to us. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed our staff. We work very hard to provide a great customer service experience for each of our guests. We apologize for the dirty and stained chair in your room. We are currently updating and renovating the hotel including the furniture. We hope to see you again in the future and that your enjoy all our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Right as I walked in, I knew that we were in for a ride. The lobby did not match the pictures we saw. When we mentioned this to the staff at the front desk, they stated that they "had recently painted," although last I checked, paint doesn't completely change the layout. Despite this blatant lie, the staff was very friendly nearly the entire trip we were there, and that was four days. When we entered the room, the beds were very sloppily made (the top blanket wasn't even completely on the bed), the mini-fridge was left open and unplugged which caused all of the water inside to leak out onto the floor, and the room smelled very musky, probably from previous leaks onto the floor. The bathroom was very small, the tile in the shower was disgusting, and the bath tub was chipped in various places. The beds were very uncomfortable, and there was no microwave so we were forced to eat out almost every day. The cleaning staff did not do their job well, all they did was make the beds. We had spilled some chip crumbs on the floor one day and left them there to be cleaned. When we returned, they were still there, the room hadn't been vacuumed at all, and we had no towels or rags. When we complained at the front desk, they had explained that they were cleaning the rags and towels and we would get some later (they were very nice about it), but it was annoying. Our worst night was our third one. We had brought some food back to the hotel after a long day and had no forks, so we went to the front desk to ask as we had done every night so far. It was the first time we had encountered this receptionist, and she was very rude. She was standing outside smoking, and when I had asked for forks she said that they were out in a very rude tone. I had told her that we had asked for them every other night with no issues, and she still insisted that they were all out. Without these forks, we had no way to eat our food. When I went back to the hotel room and told my husband, he went out to ask as well. He had asked just as I had, but she changed the story. This time, she told him that she, "can only hand out a certain amount every night, and already have reached the limit." Upset, he talked to the maintenance man. He said there was no such limit and that he would get us some right away, and he apologized for her behavior. The next morning, we told the manager what had happened and she said that they have had many complaints about her, and ours would most probably be the straw that broke the camel's back. The only thing that bothered us was that the manager had also said, "I would give you some of your money back, but seeing you prepaid I can't." I have never heard of a hotel not being able to give any sort of refund simply because we prepaid, and I feel as if it was an excuse. All in all, the hotel was terrible, and I would most likely give it a one-star-rating if it had not been for our beautiful mountain view (we could see them from inside the room), and the mostly-helpful staff. I definitely will NOT be staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second/third floor have the most beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. We really appreciate and value all the comments and opinions given to us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff during your stay. We value and pride ourselves on providing great customer service to our valued guests. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with your stay at our hotel. We had recently updated the lobby with paint, rearranged the furniture and updated the television. We are currently renovating and updating our facility and once we are complete, we will update all new photos of the property. The fridges in every room are unplugged and left open after each person checks out. This is done for multiple reasons such as saving electricity and avoiding the freezer from freezing up causing more issues and broken items. We do clean out the fridge and typically have a towel to catch any extra water that may drip from the fridge/freezer. With our renovations, we will be address the whole bathroom to update all items. Unfortunately at this time, only our suites come with microwaves in the room. However we have a microwave in our lobby that is open for guests to use at any time. I want to give my sincere apology that you had to deal with a rude desk agent and had to go through multiple people just to get some silverware. Unfortunately, when the reservation is a prepaid, we cannot issue a refund. However, the prepaid company could have issued the refund. The third party companies take the payment from you and then provide us payment from their personal account so this is why we were unable to give the refund. Again, I apologize as the desk agent should have explained this better. We pride ourselves in being a hotel with friendly staff and that was not properly given during your stay. We would love for you to consider staying with us again and we hope you do enjoy our new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Luckily, we only spent one night here. The shower floor was peeling off, there was hair in the shower. The bed had sand or something in it so I assume the sheets weren't cleaned. We had a non-smoking room that smelled horribly of smoke. The vending machine was broken and there was no other way to get water. The lobby was nice and free breakfast okay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. We really appreciate and value all the comments and opinions given to us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our hotel property and the room. We have recently put in new cleaning measures along with new and better linens. We are currently updating and renovating the hotel from top to bottom and this is including the bathroom. Unfortunately, with the vending machine, it is a local company that runs these and when they break we do make a call into the company for them to come out and fix the problem. We hope that you will visit us in the future and enjoy the new improvements the hotel has made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel was filthy and smelled like old musty carpet. Smells like sweaty feet in the rooms. No parking so you have to go across thw street. No room key because they ran out! I have never heard of a hotel running out of room keys. I think this place is being operated like a one night love shack.
Won't be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. We really appreciate and value all the comments and opinions given to us. We apologize for the lack of cleanliness that you experienced at our hotel. We have been updating and renovating the facility and this includes extra training to staff to ensure all items are taken care of properly. Unfortunately with the room keys, we have unique keys that have to be made for our doors. This takes time for us to order and receive them. We try to always have extra on hand and sometimes we get fully booked and run out due to people not returning their keys. We apologize for this and making every effort to ensure this incident does not occur again. We hope that you will consider visiting us again and enjoy the new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Noisy, people were grilling in the parking lot in front of my room, smoke keep seeping in the front door. 4 adults plus at least that many kids stayed in the room, family brought a double air bed with them. Never have been in a motel where grilling was permitted in front of the rooms, I would have thought the motel would be afraid of a fire.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJo80920, Manager at Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. We really appreciate and value all the comments and opinions given to us. We apologize that you had an inconvenience with our hotel because of other guests. We do not allow guests to use grills at our hotel, regardless of what type it may be. Unfortunately, some guests do not follow the rules. When we are notified of a complaint or issue that is against the rules or causing other guests to be uncomfortable or unhappy, we immediately take action to stop the issues. We apologize that we were unable to stop the issue before it started. We have recently become more strict on our clientele and hope that you will visit us again in the future and find things are much nicer now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Address: 8280 Voyager Parkway, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-story Inn. Great location, beautiful views of the Rocky Mountains, shopping and restaurants within walking distance, modern guest comforts, outdoor seasonal pool, near the Air Force Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.