We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cheyenne Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“beautiful views and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at this property the last weekend of April. The staff here is very good and very helpful.It is in a very beautiful setting but I'm not sure it deserves a four star rating. First off when we arrived someone was letting their large dog relieve himself about 15 feet from the main entrance which showed no class at all Not the hotel's fault.There are not too many walking paths & what there is are very steep. The beds are too soft & have a very heavy comforter between two sheets so it's very hard to sleep comfortably. There is no book to tell about the hotel & no menu for room service. The do not disturb sign is cute but bangs on the door when it's windy out & turns over easily. The room we stayed in had a very nice balcony but the rooms a a little noisy. We were on the second floor and were awakened more than once by what sounded like and elephant walking around in the room above us. Over all we had a nice stay & would stay again. Another resort we stayed at in Tucson in February was older but in better condition & classier.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the top floor is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Nothing pleases us more than to hear that a guest would stay with us again. We’d like to apologize if certain aspects of our hotel did not meet your expectations although we are happy to hear you loved our views and our staff. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our team. Thank you for staying with us at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, we hope you will be back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    238
    119
    55
    26
See reviews for
226
168
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Accompanied my spouse to conference at this unique property with simply stunning view of Cheyenne Mountain and the Rockies IF you are on the patio or your room is so situated. But beyond the view the resort lacked in several areas, including walking paths throughout the property, a changing room/restroom at the closest hotel pool used by families. The indoor bubble-covered pool was in dire need of some paint on rusted exit doors as well as some pool lounging chairs for guests waiting for lanes to open up or between laps. Outdoor spa was open in April, but an awkward location out of the building. Some of the harder/tougher bagels were served on a buffet table each morning. Two double beds rather than queen beds or 1 king-sized was all that was offered, making for crowded/cluttered rooms and yet less than generous sleeping. Excessive quilts, pillows, ottoman, easy chair and a stuffed bear (for sale) added to more stuff and clutter. Ground floor room looked straight into the parking lot, and from the looks of the locks and bars, and bent screen door, looked like bottom floor rooms may be subject to break-ins from the parking lot. Cute but dysfunctional "do not disturb" room sign swung continuously into the opposite position--so housekeeping knocked on the door when we were sleeping and failed to make up the room when we left for the day. Separate sink outside of bath was useful, but need to get over the need for freestanding sink cabinet with little counter space, sharp corners, towel loops (that fall off the wall) and useless baskets on top--just need counter space, storage space. Hotel seems subject to "over-design" while ignoring basic hotel room needs--elbow room, counter space, some kind of decent view out the window, and especially a nice pedestrian path around the grounds that offer such fabulous scenery.
It is a nice property in a simply remarkable location, but might want to address some practicalities.

Room Tip: A room that isn't limited to a view of the parking lot would be nice. Try for upper floor and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are glad you were able to get away and relax while your husband attended a conference here at Cheyenne Mountain Resort. All reviews whether positive and otherwise are greatly appreciated as it helps us to better focus on areas that may need to be addressed. While we understand our hotel did not meet your expectations in some areas, we can assure you that break-ins are not an issue here. Also, we have several different room types available with king, queen or double beds as listed on our website accommodations page. Thank you for your feedback, your comments and suggestions will be reviewed with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed at the Mountain Resort last weekend. The location by the mountains was nice but the resort itself is in an neighborhood across from residential housing. We waited quite a long time to check in but when we did I encountered Sheridan - she was very pleasant to deal with and checked us in promptly. Encountered a bit of a snafu that we arrived at our room and the maids were still cleaning it so we had to go back to the office and they gave us the room next to it. My main disappointment with this was that I had what was called a "courtyard view" reserved which to me would be a room that at least looked over the resort or the pool but instead our room was on a ground level and our patio overlooked the parking lot. When the room mix up with the maids happened I asked about the view and I was told if i paid $20 extra dollars I would be given a better view. i thought if that was the case that maybe they would have given me the better room for the mix up on the room that wasn't ready.
The rest of the stay was nice - the beds were SUPER comfortable, it was nice to have bathrobes, the gym was nice (although a bit hot). We had the dessert bar later that night with a bottle of wine - good service and food at the Mountain View Restaurant.
One other thing to note - this resort does accept pets. They had a gala with dogs invited and we had a dog down the hall that was a BARKER. Had this dog been next door to us - it would have been an issue.

Room Tip: I would be sure of what your view actually means AND if there are any possible barking dogs in the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
It’s nice to hear our friendly staff and nice atmosphere were so appreciated and that you enjoyed our comfortable beds along with the food and service at our Mountain View Restaurant. We’re sorry for the expectation and confusion you may have had in reference to our rooms. A complete description of the rooms and views available are listed on our website for all guests to review before making their reservation. Here at Cheyenne Mountain Resort we know that dogs are a part of the family and yes, our resort is pet friendly. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to any furry friend staying with us. We do encourage guests to let us know if any situation does arise during their stay that inhibits the comfort and quietness of their stay. Thank you for your feedback, we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort last week for a conference. The resort is very nice, updated, etc. The main lodge has large areas to relax, both inside at the bar and outside on the huge balcony--with amazing views of the golf course, lake, and mountains. Check-in was quick and painless. My room was large and nice, with a big balcony that had the same view as the lodge up the hill. There is a small fridge in the room. The bed was soft and comfy. Room was fairly quiet. I was also puzzled about the lack of information about the resort in the room, until I accessed the wifi in the room. The wifi opening page, is the resort website. This has all the info on the resort, including restaurant/room service menus. Still, it would have been nice to have a hard copy of that in the room. (Wifi signal was excellent, by the way--in case you need to work or face time, etc.) Catering for our meeting was excellent--fresh, healthy food with good portion sizes. Staff was friendly. It would have been nice to stay a couple extra days and take advantage of the golf course, tennis courts, athletic center, and lower pool. There is an upper pool by the main lodge, with a hot tub and pool. I would definitely recommend this resort for a vacation or business conference!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We’re so glad you had such an all-around enjoyable stay with us during your conference here at Cheyenne Mountain Resort. Our location surrounded by the Rocky Mountains does allow us to partake in breathtaking views. We appreciate your recommendation of Cheyenne Mountain Resort for both a vacation resort and a conference venue and hope to be welcoming you back someday for another stay where you will be able to take advantage of our outdoor amenities like you stated in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was at the resort for a conference and the staff (in the hotel, conference area, bar, restaurants and shuttle) were all extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. I would LOVE to come back to stay again and check out the golf course, pool and the rest of the property. Such a wonderful place and a great location. The buffets and snacks that were provided for our conference were outstanding, the dessert section of the buffet was phenomenal. Such a wonderful treat :)

Room Tip: I was in the Cripple Creek lodge, first floor and the view overlooked the driving range. I LOVED IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Wow! What a great review! Thank you for your acknowledgement of our staff and the food provided during your conference. We would love for you to stay with us again at Cheyenne Mountain Resort too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved the resort! Staff was more than helpful, kind, and happy! The buffets were incredible! I've never has such good food at a bufet. It was as if you ordered gourmet meals individually prepared. Thery used pans that stayed hot, or cold , and were constantly replacing them. Tried some wonderful new dishes, desserts were fabulous as well.
Views were wonderful !! It snowed one day (after being 68 the day before and 60 2 days later) so some paths were slick so the shuttle even drove us to our building from the main one.

Great all around!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We love that you loved us! To hear such great reviews on our staff really makes us smile. They really wish to make all of our guests feel welcomed and at home here, thank you for acknowledging them and for your fantastic review on our buffet. We’re so glad you enjoyed and experienced some new entrées with us. We hope you’ll be back to stay with us again soon at Cheyenne Mountain Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The bed and ambiance in the room was fantastic. I slept well and enjoyed the sweeping view from the balcony through the sliding glass door. Even the wallpaper kept with the theme of leaves which was reinforced in the bathroom light fixture and the drapes.
I was surprised there wasn't a room service menu or a leather pouch with stationary. I also called and asked for a tea other than black and I was told plain, black tea was the standard. When I got a room service menu delivered it reflected $8.00 for a pot of tea!
The front desk staff was pleasant and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for the best valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Nothing pleases us more than hearing a guest would stay with us again. Thank you for your review and kind comments on your room as well as our staff. We’re glad you enjoyed a comfortable sleep here with us and enjoyed our views too. We appreciate your feedback and will review your comments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again at Cheyenne Mountain Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Address: 3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#18 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheyenne Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cheyenne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheyenne Mountain Hotel Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Resort Colorado Springs Co

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheyenne Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.