We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the setting is lovely, but that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cheyenne Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“the setting is lovely, but that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent a weekend at this conveniently located and well situated resort in the southern part of Colorado Springs. It is a typical conference style hotel with large public spaces and comfortable accommodations in a very beautiful setting near Pike's Peak. The bar is large with a good selection of beverages. The dining room is enormous. Window seats look over valley to rugged rocky peaks. Sleeping rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food however is another matter. One can order off the menu or have the buffet at every meal which is what the place touts. One dinner included lamb chops and braised buffalo--tasty but ordinary. Breakfast off the menu was ordinary. A seafood pasta dish off the menu incorporated pasta so glutinous as to be inedible. Similarly, a roast chicken dish was so overcooked that we could not finish it. The Sunday champagne brunch was delightfully set, but again the pork loin was dry and the spicy mussels so overdone as to be like rubber. One might suffer the poor food picking a choosing dishes from the buffet if the prices reflected the quality. They do not. At $32 the dinner buffet is just not worth the money; entree prices are only slightly lower. Frankly, given the look of the place, eating there was very disappointing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Our resort, situated in picturesque Colorado Springs, offer manicured grounds, rustic yet modern public spaces as well as roomy lodge-style accommodations and we’re glad you found them all pleasing. We do regret, however, if your dining experiences did not exceed your expectations as it is our hope to ensure our guests come away from meals at our resort completely satisfied. Your comments will be shared with and further investigated by our dining team in an effort to continually improve upon all that we do. Thank you for your review, we hope you’ll consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    242
    123
    56
    26
See reviews for
229
173
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crestone, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My friend and I went there to swim indoors and exercise, sleep, eat, watch movies, exercise and then eat great food again. This we did though not without a bit of hassle which was dealt with by a friendly and sympathetic staff. Being the New Year weekend, it was VERY noisy and we had to move to the top floor so not to live under what was comprable to a herd of elephants on migration. Also, being a holiday, the spa/fitnesscenter/pool closed early each day which was disappointing since that was the reason we went there. Nevertheless, we appreciate that the staff deserve holiday time with their families as well.

Would love to go back in the spring or fall that is NOT during a holiday time. The heated pool was fantastic and there are even indoor tennis courts!!! How cool is THAT! There would be a lot more to do in terms of exercise outdoors in other seasons.

The staff was wonderful coming in at 4 stars, the room 4 stars (not nearly as large as what we expected) and the food more than adequate.

The only weird thing was finding a bible in the bedside table - what's with THAT? Where's the Koran? The Buddhists texts? The Vedas? Greek Mythology? Just so 1950's to see that there...

Room Tip: Make sure you get the top floor is you are sensitive to sounds above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Regardless of the season, there is always tons to do at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort! Thank you for visiting with us over New Year’s and for taking the time to share your perspective. Our resort, located in beautiful Colorado Springs, is home to numerous recreational amenities like our fitness center, pools, Pete Dye championship golf course and 18 tennis courts. We’re pleased to read you were able to fill your days with plenty of activities, however, we do regret if the holiday hours of a few of our amenities caused any inconvenience. We are sorry if you were disrupted by other guests, however, we were glad you reached out to us as it was our pleasure to resolve any potential issue by facilitating a room change. It is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you may experience all we have to offer during another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but we came to have some drinks and enjoy the scenery. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the Christmas decor was perfect. I liked that it wasn't packed and we could enjoy the lobby and terrace. It is a large lodge, but cozy at the same time. We had several drinks by the outdoor fireplace and watched the Christmas Eve snow roll in. We decided to stay for a casual dinner and the food and service were amazing. It was the perfect way to spend a beautiful snowy Christmas Eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It is supremely touching to know that the Cheyenne Mountain Resort was a memorable part of your holidays, thank you for visiting with us during this wonderful time of year! Our lounges and restaurants are great options for enjoying a festive beverage, light fare or delicious meal amid gorgeous views of Colorado Springs. We’re so glad you got to curl up by the fire on the Mountain View Terrace during a snowy Christmas Eve. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us, we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for a stay at our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The resort’s curb appeal is lovely in the winter. The holiday lights on the gigantic trees are simply breathtaking. I was really excited to stay the night. However the elements inside this property lacked the sparkle of the outside. My stay didn't disappoint me but it didn't wow me, either. The rooms and public areas are exceptionally clean and the beds are fantastic. The customer service wasn't great. Every time I walked by the front desk there were groups of employees chatting which was unusual. In the bar it took 7 minutes to be acknowledged by our server. Only one other table was occupied. She was very nice for the rest of our dining experience and the food was fine and presented well. When we got to our room (after taking two different elevators and a flight of stairs) the heat had been put on full blast. We had to open the doors on a below freezing night for 3 hours to cool the room down to a livable temperature. I placed a wakeup call for 9am. We got a call at 8:25am and then again at 9:10am. For $100 it was nicer than the big chains down the street. I was disappointed that this resort didn’t live up to its reputation.

Room Tip: Request the Dove Lodge when booking. It is the only lodge that is connected to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
While we are happy to read that upon arrival you found our resort inviting, we are truly disappointed that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies if you experienced anything less than exceptional service while you were here, we will share your review with our entire team to ensure our steadfast commitment to a top-notch resort experience is ever present. We’ve asked our maintenance associates to look into your feedback to make certain our guest accommodations provide the warmth and comfort ideal for a pleasant experience. Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, it is our hope to have a future opportunity to impress you with a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Cheyenne Mountain Resort offers something different, and special, for all seasons. During the Christmas season, I would argue that it is the best resort in Colorado Springs. It offers a beautiful combination of coziness and class. A extra large fireplace welcomes you to the lodge, and the entire lodge glows with classy white Christmas lights. You can look over the new fire pit with dancing flames to see the snowy mountains through the back wall of glass. It's gorgeous. (I'm in my room watching the snow fall on the mountain as I write this now.)
Spring offers beautiful grounds with interesting growth. Summer takes advantage of the great location and bountiful amenities (golf, exercise, hiking, etc.). Fall season make the lodge especially inviting, with the pool tables, televisions, leather chairs, and long granite bar all teaming together to provide an excellent place to just hang out with your company or meet new people.
The rooms are classy and clean. The views are awesome. One downside for some is that the rooms all have separate entrances and require a little walking. if you are going from your room to the lodge or the exercise center, it may feel like quite a walk (or hike) for some. Not to be intimidated, it's not that far, but may feel that way to someone not accustomed to the high altitude of this region.
The breakfast buffet is a must do. It's excellent.
You have to bring your workout clothes because it's a worthwhile experience to walk down the hill and visit the gym. One of my favorite pictures in Colorado is taken from right outside the door.
The staff is always good. They haven't been trained to be "world-class", but I've never met one that wasn't willing to help and to do it with a good attitude.
This resort feels more like Colorado than does the ones that you'd find elsewhere in the Springs. I recommend it strongly for business or for pleasure.

Room Tip: Eat at the breakfast buffet- for sure. Do NOT just stay in your room. The lodge, deck, grounds, ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are supremely touched by your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort. It is our hope to offer a complete resort experience to each of our guests every day of the year, so to read of what you enjoyed as we welcome the winter months is a real treat. We are so glad you enjoyed our scenic location, helpful staff, fitness facilities and more. Thank you for your beautiful acknowledgement of our decorated public spaces as well as your review and recommendation. It would be our true pleasure to welcome you back to the Cheyenne Mountain Resort again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice place, excellent service. The view from the room was very nice, especially in the evenings.They have an excellent fitness center which is well equipped. The place is set up to be ideal for a quiet holiday, but it was reasonably crowded when I visited, esp in the evenings and dinner time, perhaps due to the popularity of the place. Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
At the Cheyenne Mountain Resort, we want to provide our guests with everything they need for a relaxing stay anytime of year, so we’re thrilled you enjoyed yours. Our views are a favorite among our guests as is our well-equipped fitness center and we thank you for your mention of these and other highlights of your time with us. Our on-site restaurants and lounges bring visitors and locals to the resort nightly. Thank you for sharing your feedback, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at Cheyenne Mountain Resort several times, and this hotel has the most comfortable, cozy beds. I have stayed at a number of hotels that boast extra comfortable beds, and they all need to take a lesson from Cheyenne Mountain Resort. Beautiful location with a warm lodge feel.

If I have any criticism of this hotel, it is that they have hosted large parties each time I have stayed, and parking lot access becomes a hassle. As a result, I purchased a shuttle pass, and the party that took place that evening caused the shuttle to be unavailable for some reason. It seemed that the event became the priority over the guests, which has caused me to reconsider a future stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheyenneResort, General Manager at Cheyenne Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Our luxurious bedding is perfect for a relaxing weekend getaway and a welcomed sight after an action-packed day of sightseeing at nearby Pikes Peak area attractions, so we’re delighted you enjoyed a rest and relaxation. We certainly apologize for any confusion regarding the shuttle or any parking inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. Each and every guest we welcome is a priority to us and we’re deeply sorry if you felt otherwise at any point. We thank you for sharing these comments with us and will utilize them to ensure we’re at our very best for every guest. Thank you for your feedback, we hope you’ll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheyenne Mountain Resort

Address: 3225 Broadmoor Valley Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#21 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#23 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheyenne Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cheyenne Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheyenne Mountain Hotel Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Mountain Resort Colorado Springs
Cheyenne Resort Colorado Springs Co

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheyenne Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.