We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal View of Pike's Peak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town GuestHouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Town GuestHouse to your Saves list
Old Town GuestHouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   115 S 26th St., Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal View of Pike's Peak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in the Indian Paintbrush room, not our first choice but the only room available for the two nights we wanted to stay there. To our surprise the room was decorated quite tastefully so even a person that doesn't care for "Native American" decor can really still enjoy the room. The check in was smooth and Don did a great job giving us information on the area and showing us Old Colorado City from our room's balcony. We enjoyed using the hot tub with the breath-taking view of the mountains. You put your hand up and you feel like you can almost touch Pike's Peak.

In the accommodations, I don't think there's anything that's been overlooked. They have a decently stocked pantry with coffee, popcorn, tea, sewing supplies, toiletries, the list goes on... I was very impressed that there were even cotton balls, q-tips and tampons in the bathroom as that is the last thing any girl wants to need and not have.

The wine social was fantastic! They had plenty for everyone and a wide variety of from sweet to dry and white, red and blush (truly something for everyone who drinks wine). It was fun to meet some of the other people staying there and learn what they've done or are doing in the area (we learned there was more to do than we thought!) The room and furniture is very comfortable and when we were starting to think about dinner they have a menu from all of the nearby restaurants and so many of the others that are not within walking distance.

The location is fabulous with the neighborhood being adorable with little privately owned shops and restaurants, but still very close to chain restaurants and retail. Only a few miles from Garden of the gods, trails, parks, etc. And a little over an hour from Royal Gorge.

The breakfasts were fantastic with three courses. We had never heard of Scotch Eggs but were pleasantly surprised! We had a tremendous egg bake the second morning. Mmmmmm...

There are other little things that we think made the stay great, but I don't want to ruin all surprises!

The only thing we weren't totally impressed with was the bed. There's no perfect solution for everyone and I think that it's great that they have something other than the standard hard bed you get at many hotels. Not sure how to describe it, it feels a little hard when sleeping on it but there's certainly plenty of give to it. Probably, like any bed, just takes more than two nights to get used to it.

Don and Shirley have really done a great job at making the rooms comfortable and beautiful. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different. The Indian paintbrush is unique in that it has a twin size bed (sem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Old Town GuestHouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We try hard to make everyone feel comfortable and welcome. We're really happy when we hit the mark.
Sleep systems (and preferences) vary greatly and, as you say, not everyone works for everybody. Our waveless floatation beds seem a good compromise on the whole (we love ours).
Again, thanks for the compliments. I'll share this with Shirley and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    20
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
135
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Oriental Poppy room for 4 days and loved it. The hot tub is on the balcony and faces the mountains with a beautiful room. The ladies that were running the place while the owners were on vacation did a great job and we had a lot of conversation while waiting for breakfast or just hanging around waiting for our next sight to see. The room is stocked with pretty much everything you need and everyone is local so asking for personal favorite places to eat and see allowed us to get outside of the touristy parts. It's located in Old Colorado Springs which is right next to a lot of places to shop and eat within walking distance but it's also located close to many of the sights worth seeing within just a few miles away.

There were a couple of issues but they were minor. We were presented with our parting gifts (which were a nice touch) a day early but I believe that was due to the fact our original stay was shorter and I added an extra day later on after the reservation.

We were not told about the breakfast sign up and happened upon it while going downstairs. They seem to make enough regardless though since we removed our name to get an earlier start the day we left but got held up and they served us with no issues.

Unfortunately the owner's were not there but it's obvious that there is a lot of care put into their place and we still had a great time nd look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The Oriental Poppy rooms with the hot tub on the balcony are a must have to unwind after a long day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Old Town GuestHouse, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We're thrilled to hear that Lisa and Dawn took such good care of you while we were away. Of course, we knew they would!!! It's easier for Shirley and I to treat our guests well, after all it is our home; it harder when it's "just a job". Knowing that our guests were well cared for made our time away all that much more relaxing.
As hard as we strive for perfection it eludes us but we will keep trying and we rely on our guests to let us know where we can do better.
Thanks for the great review we'll make sure Lisa and dawn see it also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Loved that they had a private hot tub on the balcony. Very relaxing and great way to end our night. Lisa the Assistant Innkeeper was very sociable and made us feel welcome. She even gave us 2 delicious truffles in honor of our anniversary. Bed was soft, room was clean. They have a ton of little extra's if you have forgotten anything. I also love that they have popcorn, soda's and movies available if you just want to chill in your room. The evening reception was nice. They had beer, soda and wine and some snacks. We were the only ones that took advantage of this on our night there. It was a nice way to start our evening before our dinner. It was a little foggy and cold when we visited so didn't get to see the beautiful views of pikes peak. We had to leave early so didn't get a chance to have the delicious smelling breakfast that was cooking when we left. Don and Shirley were away on vacation so didn't get to experience their hospitality as so many of the other reviews have mentioned. Would definitely reccommend to anyone looking for a nice cozy place to stay.

Room Tip: Oriental Poppy Room, the patio looks out to Pikes Peak
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Old Town GuestHouse, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for the review and the nice reference for Lisa. We're fortunate to have a person who can take over in our absence. As much as we'd like to be here to meet and greet each and every guest, there are just times when we have to get away for a while.
We had a great vacation and hope to see you the next time your plans call for a night out. Happy Anniversary and many wonderful returns of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Old Town GuestHouse is located just a block off the main street in Old Colorado, Colorado Springs. Nearby are a variety of ethnic restaurants, jewelry stores, and boutiques (even a shop dedicated to cupcakes, with gluten-free Friday). You can leave the guesthouse, after a wonderfully delicious 4 course breakfast (served by Don, owner) and be within close distance to Pike's Peak, Garden of the Gods, Cliff Dwellings, and beautiful scenery. We enjoyed looking at Pike's Peak from our outdoor hot tub (ample for two), then warming up in front of the gas fireplace in our room. Don, Shirley and their staff are attentive, yet guests are given all the privacy they want. A glass of wine in the late afternoon, provided by the Don Shirley, was an added bonus. We enjoyed our stay and will return. Ann and Roger

Room Tip: Upper floor with brick patio half-walls offer added privacy for hot tubbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Old Town GuestHouse, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Ahhh! The cupcake shop!! They're almost too pretty to eat. She has the most spectacularly decorated cupcakes we've ever seen - and I think - could be wrong - that they're no-calorie! LOL
We had a great time with Ann and Roger and hope to see them back again and again. Tailored hospitality is our specialty - we try to treat each guest as we would like to be treated.
Thanks for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing night away just the two of us, and we are so glad we discovered this gem! The Oriental Poppy room we stayed in was beautifully decorated with a private hot tub on the deck. There were a number of great personalized touches throughout our stay, including chocolates left at our door along with a weather forecast for the next day. Shirley and Don, the innkeepers, were fantastic - very personable, obviously taking a great deal of pride in the level of service they provide. The breakfast was incredibly gourmet and delicious. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a beautiful view of the Rocky Mountains, and rooms on the top floor have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Old Town GuestHouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
You were in my favorite room (and I like the all). Great view, comfortable seating, room to put your 'stuff' and the Hot Tub - good choice. Thanks for staying with us, some days we think no one knows we're alive and then we get guests like you. I've said this before but - good guests make being good hosts a easy and a pleasure. Thanks for making our job a little easier and your stay a bit more pleasant as a result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first visit to the B&B. We were delighted with our accomodations. The B&B is beautifully decorated and the owner's were ever attentive to our needs. They definitly made our stay enjoyable. The amenities of the inn were better than we expected and we consider it an outstanding value. The rooms have hot-tubs on private balconies. There is an elevator which was an unexpected amenity as our room was on the 3rds floor. The rooms are quiet - We stayed over St. Patricks Day weekend and noticed no noise from the street. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Old Town GuestHouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We're fortunate that most of the St. Pat's Day roudiness is downtown and not in our quiet little Old Town area. The soundproof rooms take care of most of the rest of the noises. We try hard to treat all of our guests as though they had never stayed at a B&B before - it's never too late to give a good 'first impression'. Hope to see you guys back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

It's been several years since we stayed at OTGH. We had high expectations because we were so pleased years ago. Well, we were not disappointed! We stayed in the Oriental Poppy room. We loved the fireplace, the hot tub and all of the comforts of the room.
I should also mention how much we enjoyed our conversations with Don and Shirley, the owners. Intelligent, deep, lighthearted conversations were had! They made us feel right at home. We enjoyed visiting over wine and snacks.
Don did a great job accommodating my special needs for breakfast. Everything was very yummy and beautifully presented.
Any room would be great, but if you want a personal hot tub to use, then book on the third floor. It was so enjoyable while the snow was falling!
Don't hesitate to stay at the OTGH!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Old Town GuestHouse, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review. It's been a good winter for Hot Tubbing we're glad it was such nice weather. We're always happy to welcome back friends we made in the past at the GuestHouse. Perhaps we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town GuestHouse

Address: 115 S 26th St., Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Town GuestHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse is conveniently located in the Historic Old Colorado City near shops, restaurants, boutiques and local attractions. We offer luxury accommodations to adult leisure and business travelers and our rooms feature such amenities as private Hot Tubs, Steam Showers, Fireplaces, spectacular views and more. Our conference facility can accommodate groups to about 50 with classroom seating for 30. WIFI, copy and fax, audio and videoconferencing, and catering services are available. This room is available by the hour or for longer meetings, scrapbooking or party needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Town GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town GuestHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.