We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm with modern luxury is spot on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn
1102 West Pikes Peak Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tanks For The Memories
S.F., CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic charm with modern luxury is spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Holden House in Colorado Springs is a wonderful place to stay. As soon as you walk in to the drawing room with its blazing fire - you feel you're in a special place. The rooms are spacious, cozy, and very thoughtfully decorated. The amenities are outstanding. Huge tub, gas fireplace with remote, WiFi, thick terry robe...And the breakfast is crazy good. Freshly made and delicious. Bonus - home made peanut butter filled chocolates and cookies - The whole package. Plus for history buffs and antique-o-philes there are many interesting artifacts displayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

located in a great neighborhood, great friendly hosts, great breakfasts, great Victorian House, nice clean rooms - can see why people come back over and over again - made by business stay all the more enjoyable. the hospitality here makes you feel like you have made new friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenHouse1902, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Colorado and we were very happy staying @ the Holden House 1902 B&B. Everything was perfect! Even the weather! The rooms were beautiful, spacious, & very comfortable! We were greeted by friendly & helpful innkeepers - always giving us great ideas! Breakfast was so good I had to ask for a few of the recipes - which they were more than happy to share with me. My favorite was the Breakfast Strudel - yet all the breakfasts were yummy! We had an unexpected pleasant surprise in Colorado - they had a wine social with some snacks [oh yeah - almost forgot the cookie jar that never gets empty]! We've been to many B&B's and Holden House 1902 is definitely one of the very best!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aspen Room - which we chose because of the ceiling [painted clouds] - but all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenHouse1902, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We so appreciated your great comments. Glad to see Holden House is on your top list of B&Bs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My fiance' and I love to visit the Holden House at least once per year for a 'staycation'. The owners are VERY friendly and we always choose the Independence Suite because we love feeling secluded from everyone else at the B&B. The breakfast here is amazing and we have met some very nice people who were also staying over.

Room Tip: The Independence Suite has far more privacy than any other suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenHouse1902, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
A wonderful review is so important to provide recommendations to our future guests and also to our hard working innkeepers here at Holden House. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent the weekend @ The Holden House - and in full disclosure I'm not a typical B&B type traveler - Holden House is in a beautiful neighborhood - the food was spectacular - and Sallie and Welling were GREAT hosts !! What an enjoyable weekend !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenHouse1902, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for the complimentary feedback. We value our guests and their reviews at Holden House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've traveled the country a lot in my life and this was my 3rd time going cross country and my first time at a B&B. being a paraplegic of 23 years I've found that " wheelchair friendly & accessible " don't always hold water, so much that I've just expected to be inconvenienced and have problems. The Holden house means it when they say wheelchair accessible! My room was perfect! Nothing in my way or out of my reach, a nice shower that was equipped with a padded bench, easy access in and out with wide door ways. Pretty much everything you would need. Anyone in a chair that wants to experience a B&B don't think twice about booking your stay here. You won't have any problems at all!! I've never come across an accessible B&B, I would return
and also recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenHouse1902, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We are dedicated to providing accommodations with options to those with disabilities. Thank you for posting this information, as we feel it's important that B&Bs like Holden House offer accessibility whenever possible. The beautiful Independence suite awaits your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swink, CO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Holden House is a Victorian near Old Colorado City in Colorado Springs. Most recently, we were in the Aspen Suite, in the main house. As you can see from the photos we have added, this suite is long and relatively narrow, with the bed at one end, under the turret at the front of the house, and the bath to the rear. Aspen has a very nice gas fireplace, and is nicely furnished with lots of closet space. This was a very comfortable stay. We have also stayed in the Carriage House, in the Silverton Suite.

Service and accomodations were nothing less than excellent in all respects. Breakfasts are served on an elegant service, with options for an 8:00 or 9:00 AM serving. Our favorite breakfast has been the Eggs Florentine, though the Crunchy French Toast runs a close second. The coffee is quite good, not requiring feaux-feaux flavored creamers to offset bad roasting or poor beans.

There is a 'bottomless' cookie jar, and an afternoon wine social for guests.

The staff are friendly, very personable, and extremely helpful. These guys could teach just about any business a thing or two about customer service.

The main house and the carriage house are beautifully furnished with era antiques, as well as memorabilia from the families of the owners, Sallie and Welling Clark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldenHouse1902, Owner at Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Great stays are made better by great guests. Your appreciative review made our day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1102 West Pikes Peak Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Pikes Peak treasure! Voted “Best” B&B for a Honeymoon/Anniversary by Arrington’s B&B Traveler. Romantic restored storybook Victorians filled with antiques. Each guest suite boasts traditional furnishings, queen bed, private bath, in-room telephone/modem, sitting area, fireplace, oversized bubble bath “tub for two”, color/cable tv, cd/clock/radio, refrigerator. Centrally located in a tree-lined residential area. Verandah’s with porch swings, secret garden with gazebo and fountains. Near shopping, restaurants and activities. AAA/Mobil Inspected and Approved. Full gourmet breakfast and afternoon wine social included. “The Romance of the Past with the Comforts of Today” ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list