We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect from a Springhill on a business trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South to your Saves list
Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1570 N Newport Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80916   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% This Summer!
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What you expect from a Springhill on a business trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Overall a very good hotel. It was certainly clean and recently updated. The rooms are large enough to spread out. Microwave and fridge were small but handy and clean. Two small changes that would have made my stay better: 1) The TVs are bolted down to a chest and did not swivel to face the couch. It was fine from the bed, just not the sitting area 2) Breakfast was lacking. There was relatively no variation in the food day to day and the "omelettes" were over-cooked and nearly inedible.

For sake of helping you find this place - it is a little quirky to get into the parking lot. Turn by the plane restaurant then around the roundabout to enter. Also - although this seems to be close to the airport, the entrance is on the far side. It took nearly 10 minutes to get to the terminal because of that.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the common areas. Walls were a bit thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy h, Manager at Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear wdsanantontio,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at our SpringHill Suites. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the spacious room, but would like to take a moment to address a few of your concerns. The televisions in all of our suites should swivel to be viewed from the bedroom and living area. I have addressed this issue with our maintenance team for an immediate repair. Our newly updated SpringHill Suites breakfast should also have a great variety from day-to-day, as well from weekday to weekend. We will certainly be investigating these two items to ensure our expected quality standard is met daily for all of our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable in the near future.

Andy Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    59
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
27
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I've stayed at this Hotel a couple of times and always find it to be clean and inviting. Very nice staff and a good variety of breakfast selections in the morning. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. This hotel is located close to the Colorado Springs airport and there are plenty of restaurant and shopping selections nearby. I would definately reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: Get a mountain view floor on an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Over Christmas in 2013 my daughters and I traveled back to Colorado Springs to visit my oldest daughter and grandchildren and stayed at the Springhill Suites on Newport Rd. Great place to stay with curteous staff, great complimentary breakfast in the morning and just an overall relaxing environment.

Room Tip: I can only imagine that all the rooms here are of great quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a week plus stay at this hotel. Was very pleased with a third floor mountain view room. Hotel staff were friendly and very courteous. Room was kept scrupulously clean the entire stay with fresh supplies. Noise was not a problem in the room. The hotel was not packed so the occupied rooms were spread out pretty well. Beds are comfy and room temp may be easily modified, the HVAC unit is fairly quiet. During one night some noise from a next door room was evident when near the bar sink and mini fridge. It seemed like phone conversation but was not loud enough to be disturbing. Breakfast was typical hot prepared fare. Plenty of it and the area was kept clean and supplied by the weekday and weekend attendants. There is very little in the immediate area, but the location is readily accessible to eating, shopping, and tourist activity. Close to the airport but no aircraft noise.
We enjoyed it and would readily stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice views from higher floors and stairs are easy to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stated here over Christmas. Reading some reviews I was concerned with the noise being a problem but it wasn't at all! We have a 2 year old and never had any complaints and the room next to us had a little one and we never heard them once. The beds were soft and so where the pillows. The bathroom sink is outside of the bathroom so you can get ready while someone is taking a shower. We had a 2 queen bed room that had plenty of room for our daughter's pack-n-play. It also had a living room area, seperated by a half wall from the bedroom, with a pull out couch, easy chair, computer desk and chair, and a kitchenette with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and a kitchen sink. There was so much space in this room it was a wonderful place to spend our Christmas away from home. We didn't feel like we were in a hotel room at all. The breakfast was good. Coffee, apple and orange juice, white milk, yogurt, a waffle maker and plain hot oatmeal with toppings such as dried cranberries, raisins, chocolate chips, brown sugar, cinnamon sugar, walnuts, strawberry toppings and syrup. They also had a muffin choice, danishes, a different sweet bread every day, bread and bagels for toasting, hard boiled eggs, apples, bananas, and grapes, sliced deli ham and cheese, scrambled eggs and sausage. Very yummy. Every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly. The pool is on the small side, really only fitting 1 family at a time, but that didn't bother us. The only negative I found was the towels in the bathroom were very scratchy. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at Springhill Suites the week of Christmas. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and very welcoming. We absolutely loved our stay. From check in to check out, we were greeted with smiles and great attitudes at every turn. Being Christmas, we never were met with anyone grumpy they had to work during the holiday. We loved having the suite to have family meet up and spend time together without people having to sit on the bed and be cramped in. The hotel was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Lots of pillows! I would recommend this hotel to families, business travelers, and couples. The breakfast was great for a hotel breakfast. Something for everyone. Thank you Springhill staff for a great week! It was our first trip away from home at Christmas and we couldn't have landed in a better spot!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I got a good deal on Springhill Suites from Expedia and I stayed here for 3 nights during the thanksgiving weekend. We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff was very pleasant and nice. The room was very neat. It had a great Mountain View as well! It was cleaned everyday and we got new Towels everyday. The room had all the important accessories and was spacious enough for the 3 of us. The only thing which bothered me a little was probably that the heat was turned on a little too much, so I had to put the air conditioning on to get a comfortable sleep. Since Colorado Springs is a small city, all the interesting places are easily accessible from here. Would love to stay here again while visiting Colorado Springs. And I forgot to add, the breakfast is one of the best that I've had!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South

Address: 1570 N Newport Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80916
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#24 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Colorado Springs South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.