We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy we stayed here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast to your Saves list
Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Happy we stayed here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Lucky enough to stay in the cottage for two nights.

First of all, this is not like a typical chain hotel/motel and after all the traveling we have done have come to appreciate something a bit different.

We were traveling with a 2 year old and really enjoyed the space and privacy of the two bedrooms. There was also a dining room, kitchen, living room and private laundry. Outside there was a private covered front porch and a less private sitting area and firepit in the back.

The back bedroom was quieter and had a bit more privacy. The front bedroom had loads of natural light with windows on 3 sides but less privacy due to a passthrough window to the kitchen.

Since this was an old home and the bathroom was probably installed at a later date so was small but did the trick for us since this wasn't a spa type trip for us. However I needed to be careful going in and out or I'd bump my head on the top door frame.

It is located on the main hwy from Old Colorado City to Manitou Springs and is a bit noisy but didn't bother us. At night is seemed to really quiet down.

There is not a 24 hour front desk so you need to make arrangements for off hours arrvial or departure.

They will not turn your room by default, you will need to request it. Makes sense to us since we are always using the do not disturb sign at other hotels.

Feel free to contact me with any specific questions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

The westsides best. Beautiful location, near all atractions such as Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, Barr Trail and The Pikes Peak Incline. Suite has Jaccuzi, Nice hot tub, Awesome Rooms! Teller Cab is my reccomandation for a fast , cheap taxi service.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This property is advertised as being this luxury boutique hotel with tons of amenities and low prices. Both are false. We ended up leaving before our stay was up and moved to another hotel in the Springs.

I was actually in shock when I stepped into the room. It was dark, dingy and depressing. The bed was hard as a rock with a filthy bedspread (they are clearly not washed after every guest).

There were two lights in the entire room. An overhead fan light & a teeny pin dot light at the nightstand. It was not pleasing. There were no decorations, etc., nothing on the concrete walls, no curtains to shut out the bright light in the morning.
There were 2 electrical outlets in the room, one behind the bed that was impossible to get at and 1 behind the armoire that was also impossible to get at. I had to charge my phone, etc in the bathroom with it sitting on the floor.

The first thing the owner should have done was replace the ancient windows with new soundproof ones. This hotel sits directly on Colorado Ave and it's like trying to sleep in the middle of a highway. It was so loud and distracting no wonder they give you a "sound machine" to use. Maybe they could replace the windows to block the sound instead. With the hard bed and traffic noise, there was no sleep to be had.

The website claims you get "spa quality bath amenities". The only thing you get is a bar of ivory soap. I actually laughed when I saw it.
The a/c was something ancient over the bed that never really cooled the room. It also claims cable tv. Guess what?? You get all of 18 channels. Local channels + pbs + foreign. No news, etc. Wifi knocked me off line consistently and was very slow.

Also, no deadbolts on the doors, only a single lock. It doesn't seem to be the most upstanding area of town either. There are no coffee pots or silverware (but there is a fridge and microwave) in the rooms, which forces you to go to Starbucks or Safeway to get an early morning drink. I do believe they have coffee in the office but they don't open until around 9am. By that time we have already started our day.

On that note, the office is only open limited hours during the day. You are out of luck to contact anyone if you need anything if it's not between the "bankers hours" they keep. When they did appear I personally felt the staff was condescending and watched my every move coming and going.

There is no maid service. What? For a $100/night. Really?

Their website claims "Be prepared to have your expectations surpassed". They never even met one expectation that they claimed I would have. What a colossal disappointment!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mypinkparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver,co
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

this is a great little place, fantastic location, great view and the staff is super fantastic!! If your looking for a great deal with a down home feel, come stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mssixxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have stayed at the San Ayre on two occasions for a total of close to 3 months. Mike and Steve are very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area. All of the rooms are beautifully renovated and homey. I would not consider staying anywhere else when I'm in the Springs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbaker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The cottage at Hotel San Ayre was just perfect. Beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Staff was extremely accomodating. We hope to return again and again. Thanks Steve!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

My family of 3 stayed in the Colorado Cottage for 2 nights, and we were very pleased. First impressions can be deceiving - it's a converted motel, and that's what it looks like from the outside.

But the owners obviously have a talent for decorating, and they put a lot of effort into making the Colorado Cottage a warm and welcoming place.

We got 2 bedrooms, a living room, and a kitchen for a very reasonable price. The location was also convenient for everything we wanted to do.

Other reviewers have complained about road noise, but it didn't bother us at all.

We will definitely consider staying again next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.7 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#5 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham G...
#1 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
The Academy Hotel Colorado Sprin...
#19 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
10.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between historic vacation and shopping districts, the Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast is a contemporary, boutique-inspired lodge located in the heart of Colorado Springs. Our cannabis-friendly property is outfitted with seven uniquely-styled Mountain Rooms, two Mountain Suites, and two Mountain Cottages, all surrounded by breathtaking views and within walking distance of Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon Park, and Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing