We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Ayre to your Saves list
Hotel San Ayre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Goodland, Kansas
1 review
“Diamond in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I think the title should say it all.
We went to Colorado Springs for our honeymoon and was amazed by this place. After a ruined wedding night thanks to our local hotel, my husband and I wanted a place to get away and found it here at Hotel San Ayre. This place was everything we wanted and more. We received a phone call half way into our trip to Co Springs stating that our room was ready for us when we arrived. When we got to the hotel I looked at my husband and was a little disappointed just hoping it wouldn’t turn out like our wedding night, but we were both in complete shock when we walked into our room. It was more than we both had expected. Steve was great, he showed us places to go and awesome places to eat. It was a place that my husband and I found that we kept calling it home. We well be coming at staying at this place more often.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
55
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

When I pulled up to the place I have to admit, I was reticent. Looked a lot like a motel and motels usually don't cost as much. Happily, my concerns weren't in any way founded. Room was beautiful (nothing motel about it), staff was better than we could hope for, and we went everywhere and then some with ease from the location. My only regret is that I'm not nearly in the shape I'd have to be to keep up with some of the activities our host could have guided us on. Instead, we enjoyed the heck out of everything they suggested that I could keep up with. Really a great place and a great time, will visit again when we can.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We just can't say enough nice things about the Hotel San Ayre. We did several hours of research to find a place to stay while visiting Colorado Springs and decided on the Hotel San Anye after to speaking with Mike and Steve. They were so nice and had so much great info for us, we decided the Mountain Suite was the place for us. We also read a lot of great reviews here which helped us feel confident with our decision.

Once we arrived, we were amazed at how perfectly represented the Mountain Suite was on the website and how much thought was put into making it comfortable and inviting for guests. Our kids started calling it 'home' right away. I have to say, the decorating in the suite has also inspired me to do a little redecorating in my own home back in Tucson! It was a great place to start and end all our adventures in Colorado with. Having a full kitchen made our visit even more like home and saved us a bundle on eating out.

This hotel is close to EVERYTHING! I can't think of one attraction that took us longer than 10 minutes to drive to, Pikes Peak is right off your patio and you can even catch glimpses of the Garden of the Gods right down the street.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Hotel San Ayre and can't wait to call it home again on our next visit to Colorado.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The Hotel San Ayre in Old Colorado City/ Colorado Springs is an old style motel which is being remodeled with good taste and attention to detail. Our unit, #7, was spacious with new paint, hardwood floors, a new and comfortable king size bed (with special sheets), a remodeled bathroom with tastefully tiled shower/bath. The street is somewhat busy during the day, but at night it gets quiet and the rooms are dark. They allow (well-behaved) dogs!!! Steve and Mike are interesting guys who took the time to talk with us, help us get settled, and are a wealth of information about the area (we loved hiking near-by Waldo Canyon). Coffee in the morning in their office. A great value!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

The hotel San Ayre was a wonderful find and a great home-base for travel in the Pikes Peak, Manitou Springs, Colorado Springs area. Central location, great staff and friendly. You could almost imagine that you were traveling in the 1920s -- if the 1920s had free WiFi.

It's been two months since we stayed there & my kids still talk about how much fun they had a the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We booked the Mountain Suite at the Hotel San Ayre over a long Spring Break weekend. We are a family of five and the accommodations could not have been better. The location was ideal as it was close to all the attractions in the Colorado Springs area. Mike was very helpful in identifying spots to visit. The mountain suite is located on the second floor of the hotel and is comprised of two bedrooms, a kitchen, living room dining area and two bathrooms. We all got a kick out of the "hall bathroom"... literally a bathroom in the hall connecting the living room/dining room with the kitchen. Having three daughters, the extra bathroom was appreciated. There is a small hike up some stairs to the entrance, so probably best to have young legs to carry stuff up. The new patio on the roof would be an excellent hang out in the summer and early fall.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at San Ayre. It's a former motel which has been lovingly and charmingly re-decorated. We had just arrived in Colorado after a week of driving from Washington D.C. through the south of the USA where we experienced some pretty average lodgings, so this was welcome respite! We were travelling on a fairly tight budget and felt that the San Ayre gave us comfort, warmth and friendliness at a good price. The owner, Mike, was really amiable and helpful. We liked the room so much we got take away and a nice bottle of wine and just hung out for the evening!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#27 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the desirable vacation and shopping districts of Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs sits The Hotel San Ayre. Discover the West Side's premier boutique lodging experience at a surprisingly affordable rate. The Hotel San Ayre offers 9 premium rooms and 2 family-size suites, each uniquely styled with breathtaking mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ayre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.