We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ayre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Ayre
3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Albuquerque
1 review
“Great stay at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here for a night on our way to Fort Collins and couldn't have picked a better hotel in the Colorado Springs area. After looking at all of the chain hotels in town and reading some unsettling reviews, we eventually chose Hotel San Ayre and were very impressed. The owner was out of the office when we arrived but had a note in the window, and when I called him he came from the back of the property with his son and was incredibly kind and accommodating. He showed us the room personally and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Staying in a family-owned hotel with such friendly owners was a great change from all of the motels I usually end up in while on road trips, and the price was comparable. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and the shower was nice as well. Another great touch was the binder in the room with a list of area restaurants and things to do. I highly recommend staying here if you're in the area, and will absolutely be returning when I am in Colorado next.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    34
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
53
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The owner Mike stayed late to check us in because our flight was delayed. He also gave us the name of a great BBQ place that was open late as well. We stayed in the suite with the deck and when we woke up in the morning the view of Pikes Peak was amazing. The place was very clean and neat! Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holton, Kansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our small room was clean. We feed deer in the courtyard. We walked two blocks to starbucks for coffee in the morning and it was a 2 minute drive to old colorado city for evening dining. We did not hear the traffic from the major street. The price of our room was very economical.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in the two-bedroom mountain suite, which the owner provided for us at the same price as the smaller guest suite. This was a large, beautiful apartment on the top floor of the hotel. It was much nicer than what we could have gotten at a comparable price at a chain hotel, and with a lot more character.

The rooms appeared new and were clean and nicely decorated. The apartment was very spacious, and the wifi worked well. The owner was helpful and accommodating. The location was outstanding--within 10 minutes of all the main attractions we wanted to see in Colorado Springs.

Only downsides I can think of: some traffic noise, and no elevator--lots of stairs up to the room. Altogether, though, this place can't be beat for both quality and price! We would have gladly spent more time here.

Room Tip: The mountain suite is huge and hard to beat! You have the whole top floor to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My friend and I decided to stay a couple nights in Manitou Springs to have better access to attractions. We booked the night before our stay at a very reasonable price compared to "name brand" hotels. We were supposed to check in between 2-6pm and Mike the owner was very nice and flexible with our check in time as we were still in Golden at the Coors Brewery at a quarter till 5. Mike was very nice and hospitable, and told us to text him if we needed anything at all. The rooms were very cozy and homey. Great experience, and would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay in manitou springs!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the San Ayre last summer for a week. We were in town for work and the management brought us in a desk so we were more comfortable working on the laptop. When the weekend rolled around we ended up with an unexpected guest from home and they upgraded us to the two room suite to accommodate! So helpful! Both the rooms we stayed in were very clean, comfortable and well decorated. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This small hotel is such a gem near Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City. It is in the perfect location to get to all the best sights in the area. Our room was charming, and the staff was even more so. This is an older hotel which has been well maintained and updated. We had a special situation that needed to be accommodated, and the owner was very gracious about it all, which we appreciate immensely. Skip the cookie cutter hotels that charge more and visit the San Ayre. Also, take every suggestion the owner gives you for food in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#23 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#25 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the desirable vacation and shopping districts of Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs sits The Hotel San Ayre. Discover the West Side's premier boutique lodging experience at a surprisingly affordable rate. The Hotel San Ayre offers 9 premium rooms and 2 family-size suites, each uniquely styled with breathtaking mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ayre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.