We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ayre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Ayre
3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Abilene, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in the two-bedroom mountain suite, which the owner provided for us at the same price as the smaller guest suite. This was a large, beautiful apartment on the top floor of the hotel. It was much nicer than what we could have gotten at a comparable price at a chain hotel, and with a lot more character.

The rooms appeared new and were clean and nicely decorated. The apartment was very spacious, and the wifi worked well. The owner was helpful and accommodating. The location was outstanding--within 10 minutes of all the main attractions we wanted to see in Colorado Springs.

Only downsides I can think of: some traffic noise, and no elevator--lots of stairs up to the room. Altogether, though, this place can't be beat for both quality and price! We would have gladly spent more time here.

Room Tip: The mountain suite is huge and hard to beat! You have the whole top floor to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    34
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
53
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My friend and I decided to stay a couple nights in Manitou Springs to have better access to attractions. We booked the night before our stay at a very reasonable price compared to "name brand" hotels. We were supposed to check in between 2-6pm and Mike the owner was very nice and flexible with our check in time as we were still in Golden at the Coors Brewery at a quarter till 5. Mike was very nice and hospitable, and told us to text him if we needed anything at all. The rooms were very cozy and homey. Great experience, and would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay in manitou springs!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the San Ayre last summer for a week. We were in town for work and the management brought us in a desk so we were more comfortable working on the laptop. When the weekend rolled around we ended up with an unexpected guest from home and they upgraded us to the two room suite to accommodate! So helpful! Both the rooms we stayed in were very clean, comfortable and well decorated. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This small hotel is such a gem near Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City. It is in the perfect location to get to all the best sights in the area. Our room was charming, and the staff was even more so. This is an older hotel which has been well maintained and updated. We had a special situation that needed to be accommodated, and the owner was very gracious about it all, which we appreciate immensely. Skip the cookie cutter hotels that charge more and visit the San Ayre. Also, take every suggestion the owner gives you for food in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Our room was very comfortable and the staff made us feel at home. The hotel is obviously older and the rooms are small, but the current owner/manager has done a lot to tastefully update the rooms and he and his staff are very welcoming. We appreciated the owner's commitment to sustainability. The price was very fair for a tourist destination. And, we loved the area outdoors where we could relax after a day of exploring the amazing marvels in the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed just one night in this lovely and clean cottage and found it very comfortable. All rooms (except the bathroom) are spacious; the staff very friendly and helpful. It is along a busy street, but the patios/outside seating areas feel private. Having the room air conditioner going helped to block out street noise. Safeway and fast food is close by. This cottage is close to Manitou Springs where we spent the day (Pike's Peak, Cave of the Winds, Garden of the Gods). Only suggestion would be to add shades in addition to the blinds as early morning light woke us up. Would definitely return if ever in Colorado Springs again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in the cottage for two weeks this spring while attending a bicycle maintenance class in the city. The space was perfect, being right across the street from the grocery store and not far from the old city, as well as super close to our class. The owners were so welcoming and helpful. Ask for restaurant recommendations- you will not be disappointed. Also, the hotel is incredibly close to Red Rock Canyon Park, where there are miles of beautiful and scenic trails for hiking and biking. Just down the road from Manitou Springs, too, which was fun to explore during our down time. The cottage itself was simple and well kept. We had everything we needed to cook in, and space enough to relax inside or out. Thanks Mike! We'll look you up again if we end up back in the Springs!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#25 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the desirable vacation and shopping districts of Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs sits The Hotel San Ayre. Discover the West Side's premier boutique lodging experience at a surprisingly affordable rate. The Hotel San Ayre offers 9 premium rooms and 2 family-size suites, each uniquely styled with breathtaking mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ayre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.