We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended Cottage Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast to your Saves list
Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
ST LOUIS, MO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extended Cottage Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the 100 year old, updated cottage adjacent to the hotel from mid- December 2012 to mid-Jan 2013. They have done a wonderful job decorating and outfitting the cottage with all the essential living stuff required for an extended stay. The king bed provided me some of the best sleep I have had in years. The location is convenient to many restaurants and activities. Mike is a fantastic owner/manager. He was always available when we had a question or a need. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed at Hotel San Ayre many times and look forward to many more. Great location and very reasonable prices. Walk to grocery store, Dominoes, and several other restaurants. Professionally run and very clean. Can't ask for more really. Mike is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: Great value! Don't miss an opportunity to start a tradition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My college summers were spent as a driver/guide for touring in the late 50s. The San Ayre took
me back to the area and ambiance of that time. Most enjoyable to once again immerse myself
in those memories. Stepping out from my room gave an immediate view of Pikes Peak where I had spent a lot of time.

As others have stated, the cozy room and friendliness of Mike make for a nice stay. Mike's diversified business background made for interesting conversations. Price was great for the extended stay. Locally, this area is known as the Westside or as it was originally known, Colorado City, from back in 1859. Many restaurants. My breakfast choice is the nearby Bon Ton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rt66tbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister, brother and I stayed in the cottage next door to the hotel. It was very nice and comfortable for the three of us. This was much better than a hotel that would have cost us a lot more for one room. Beware the bathroom is in the middle of the house and too small to dress in, bring a house coat for making runs to and from bedroom.
The area was great! Garden of the gods right behind us, Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City blocks away.

Room Tip: The Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful room with great ambiance and a very comfy vibe. Loved the wood floors and nice sized closet! Location was great and I would definitely stay there again. Great value as well! I would pick this place over any chain hotel room that is usually overpriced for what you get. I was so thrilled that I was able to do an early check in the day I arrived! Mike was very pleasant to work with and extremely helpful. Thank you for the great experience!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Note - this review is for the cottage on the property, and does not apply to other room types at the hotel.

I took a working vacation to Colorado Springs, and this cottage was a fantastic option for me and my fiancé.

There was one bedroom in back with a king bed, a mudroom with washer and drier, a dining area, large kitchen, front bedroom with queen bed, a bathroom, and a living room. The landscaping around the property was very nice and included a fire pit and charcoal grill. Mike was just great to us; super friendly and helped us with everything we needed.

What worked for us:
friendly host
size and layout
clean floors
washer and dryer with laundry soap provided
well-stocked kitchen
LOCATION! (walkable to Old Colorado City, very close to Manitou Springs and Garden of the Gods)
price


What could have been better:
king bed slopes downward from foot to head
internet speeds were at best 1.5 Mbps and sometimes less, which caused intermittent issues while I was working remotely across the internet


Just a few other notes about the condition of the cottage. It is a 100 year old house, with single-paned windows. Sounds from the road came straight through. We didn't find this a problem, and we noticed that there was a "spa sounds" machine provided. But those sensitive to road noise should be aware that this is an older house that sound passes right through. The door into the bathroom is not of a modern height. So my fiancé, who is 6'4", had to remember to duck to get into the bathroom without bumping his head. Water quality was excellent. We refilled our water bottles from the tap, and the taste was excellent. The shower was of a comfortable height and water pressure.

While the hotel website listed "spa quality bath amenities," I would suggest that you bring your own shampoo, because I did not see any provided in the room.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel San Ayre, and we look forward to staying there again when we travel to Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamboo_Orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel San Ayre is a GREAT little motel with a wonderful ambiance. A more sophisticated feel without the upscale cost. Higher quality linens than you normally find, and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! Mike is extremely helpful and friendly. There is a bit of traffic noise at night, but that's not unique to this hotel. Any place along W Colorado Ave / Manitou Ave has the same issue so don't let that dissuade you from staying here. A great place for couples and friends to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJK-WMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.7 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#5 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham G...
#2 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
10.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 107 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
The Academy Hotel Colorado Sprin...
#19 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between historic vacation and shopping districts, the Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast is a contemporary, boutique-inspired lodge located in the heart of Colorado Springs. Our cannabis-friendly property is outfitted with seven uniquely-styled Mountain Rooms, two Mountain Suites, and two Mountain Cottages, all surrounded by breathtaking views and within walking distance of Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon Park, and Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing