We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended Cottage Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Ayre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Ayre
3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
ST LOUIS, MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extended Cottage Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the 100 year old, updated cottage adjacent to the hotel from mid- December 2012 to mid-Jan 2013. They have done a wonderful job decorating and outfitting the cottage with all the essential living stuff required for an extended stay. The king bed provided me some of the best sleep I have had in years. The location is convenient to many restaurants and activities. Mike is a fantastic owner/manager. He was always available when we had a question or a need. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    34
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
53
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed at Hotel San Ayre many times and look forward to many more. Great location and very reasonable prices. Walk to grocery store, Dominoes, and several other restaurants. Professionally run and very clean. Can't ask for more really. Mike is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: Great value! Don't miss an opportunity to start a tradition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My college summers were spent as a driver/guide for touring in the late 50s. The San Ayre took
me back to the area and ambiance of that time. Most enjoyable to once again immerse myself
in those memories. Stepping out from my room gave an immediate view of Pikes Peak where I had spent a lot of time.

As others have stated, the cozy room and friendliness of Mike make for a nice stay. Mike's diversified business background made for interesting conversations. Price was great for the extended stay. Locally, this area is known as the Westside or as it was originally known, Colorado City, from back in 1859. Many restaurants. My breakfast choice is the nearby Bon Ton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister, brother and I stayed in the cottage next door to the hotel. It was very nice and comfortable for the three of us. This was much better than a hotel that would have cost us a lot more for one room. Beware the bathroom is in the middle of the house and too small to dress in, bring a house coat for making runs to and from bedroom.
The area was great! Garden of the gods right behind us, Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City blocks away.

Room Tip: The Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful room with great ambiance and a very comfy vibe. Loved the wood floors and nice sized closet! Location was great and I would definitely stay there again. Great value as well! I would pick this place over any chain hotel room that is usually overpriced for what you get. I was so thrilled that I was able to do an early check in the day I arrived! Mike was very pleasant to work with and extremely helpful. Thank you for the great experience!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Note - this review is for the cottage on the property, and does not apply to other room types at the hotel.

I took a working vacation to Colorado Springs, and this cottage was a fantastic option for me and my fiancé.

There was one bedroom in back with a king bed, a mudroom with washer and drier, a dining area, large kitchen, front bedroom with queen bed, a bathroom, and a living room. The landscaping around the property was very nice and included a fire pit and charcoal grill. Mike was just great to us; super friendly and helped us with everything we needed.

What worked for us:
friendly host
size and layout
clean floors
washer and dryer with laundry soap provided
well-stocked kitchen
LOCATION! (walkable to Old Colorado City, very close to Manitou Springs and Garden of the Gods)
price


What could have been better:
king bed slopes downward from foot to head
internet speeds were at best 1.5 Mbps and sometimes less, which caused intermittent issues while I was working remotely across the internet


Just a few other notes about the condition of the cottage. It is a 100 year old house, with single-paned windows. Sounds from the road came straight through. We didn't find this a problem, and we noticed that there was a "spa sounds" machine provided. But those sensitive to road noise should be aware that this is an older house that sound passes right through. The door into the bathroom is not of a modern height. So my fiancé, who is 6'4", had to remember to duck to get into the bathroom without bumping his head. Water quality was excellent. We refilled our water bottles from the tap, and the taste was excellent. The shower was of a comfortable height and water pressure.

While the hotel website listed "spa quality bath amenities," I would suggest that you bring your own shampoo, because I did not see any provided in the room.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel San Ayre, and we look forward to staying there again when we travel to Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel San Ayre is a GREAT little motel with a wonderful ambiance. A more sophisticated feel without the upscale cost. Higher quality linens than you normally find, and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! Mike is extremely helpful and friendly. There is a bit of traffic noise at night, but that's not unique to this hotel. Any place along W Colorado Ave / Manitou Ave has the same issue so don't let that dissuade you from staying here. A great place for couples and friends to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#23 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#26 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the desirable vacation and shopping districts of Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs sits The Hotel San Ayre. Discover the West Side's premier boutique lodging experience at a surprisingly affordable rate. The Hotel San Ayre offers 9 premium rooms and 2 family-size suites, each uniquely styled with breathtaking mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ayre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.