We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to stay for a Day and felt safe at night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Ayre to your Saves list
Hotel San Ayre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice to stay for a Day and felt safe at night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed based on a Trip Advisor rating.
This fantastically updated vintage hotel kept just enough of the atmosphere to make it my new place to stay in Colorado Springs. the location is so convenient for going to the Garden of the Gods, or the grocery store just across the street, and even the car wash to clear the thousand of miles of bugs on my ride.
My room was right next to the office but once the door was shut I could not hear a thing. (solid old construction) the door was like something from a castle, and the Decor was good enough for me, the princess. The only issue I had was the mirror in the snappily remodeled bath was the mirror was a bit low for my 6 foot height, ( I mention this so you know that was the ONLY problem I found)
I cannot remember whom I spoke too to make the reservation but he was like talking to a buddy immediately. this is no corporate run warehouse. just some American guys running an old fashion safe place to stay on your journey.

Room Tip: make a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
55
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were pleased. The longer our stay went on the happier we became. First of all, our hosts were cheerful and welcoming. The location is great--about equidistant from Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City---and both are oh-so-close. The street noise disappeared the moment we closed the door of our room. The property being a 50's style strip motel was cool enough but the the room itself is retro-chic and freshly done. It was in good taste, well-furnished and totally comfortable. Considering their highly competitive rates, it was the best value on our whirlwind, one-night-per-city tour of Southwest Colorado. DO NOT HESITATE! P.S. They have a very inviting back-of-inn patio area and even encourage a little cooking with their fire pit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A comfy room, with lovely décor throughout. Everything was immaculately clean, and we found the microwave and fridge very useful. The hotel is ideally situated for Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak and Manitou Springs as well as old town Colorado. Although on a busy road, we did not find the noise intrusive. The hotel staff owners are really friendly and gave us loads of really useful information about what to do in the local area. Free coffee in the office in the mornings, which we non-coffee drinkers unfortunately could not take advantage of. Internet connection very quick. Only criticism – found the lighting in the room a bit lacking, could do with an extra lamp.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The best hotel staff you could have. Relaxed and accommodating, you won't have problems with a disinterested or corporate-esque staff. The rooms are standard size with comfortable beds. It won't look like much from the outside, but it's worth it.

Close to everything.

If you're coming here to watch TV, don't. Just basic stations... But there's too many things to do than just watch tv.

It's close to the main drag, so be aware that there may be car noise, but it quiets down at night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Mike and Steve were great in helping me and very friendly. I am moving to Colorado Springs and needed a place to stay with my two big dogs, who are my kids, while finding a home. The room was spacious and clean and had a kitchenette. It has a very convenient location to Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs and downtown. I would absolutely recommend Hotel San Ayre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here last year for a couple days before we hiked Pike's Peak. All of the rooms were being remodeled, and each room was unique. Our room was clean, newly remodeled, and comfy with lots of room to sort your gear. Mike and Steve gave us great advice about our hike and alternate hikes in the area. They are good people who put a lot of care into making the hotel stay a great experience for guests.

The hotel is right along a highway, but we didn't notice any noise. There is, as I recall, a good Mexican restaurant down the road, but I wouldn't recommend walking to it -- there weren't any sidewalks. No biggie. Upon staff recommendation we went to Mason Jar. We went back twice more just for biscuits to-go. (They are that good.)

We like comfortable motels/hotels with character (no boring chains, please) and good people; Hotel San Ayre and staff were perfect. We'd happily stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TABERNASH
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Steve was wonderful. Adorable rooms. But the hotel is TOO close to a main road, which is a shame. Car traffic until 1am (which we were told died down @ 10 pm @ the latest). Then @ 6am a yippy dog next to our room started yapping when its owners left their room! Total shame as the rooms were quaint & electic& service was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#27 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the desirable vacation and shopping districts of Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs sits The Hotel San Ayre. Discover the West Side's premier boutique lodging experience at a surprisingly affordable rate. The Hotel San Ayre offers 9 premium rooms and 2 family-size suites, each uniquely styled with breathtaking mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Ayre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.