We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just A Little Short of Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1307 Republic Drive, I-25 North @ interquest - Exit 153, Colorado Springs, CO 80921   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just A Little Short of Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hampton Inn is a reliable brand, and this one was pretty much up to par. The room was well stocked and clean, the TV was a newer flat-screen, the AC worked well, and the bathroom was nicely decorated. Though I'd never been to this particular property, it felt familiar because of the many times I've frequented Hampton Inns - lumpy comforter and all! (It really is a nice comforter; I can't figure out why they're lumpy in every hotel.)

I had only three complaints: 1) Housekeeping did not empty BOTH trash cans, nor restock the coffee, nor replace the towels I'd used. I stayed 3 nights, and each day there was something overlooked (but the bed was made with its lumpy comforter);
2) The eggs at breakfast were a very interesting and unappealing texture. I've had eggs-poured-from-a-carton at other motels, but I fear these may have been genuine powdered. They were actually mushy, even when made into omelets;
3) As others have stated, the walls are paper thin. I could hear the person in the room next to me talking on the phone.

The front desk staff more than made up for the small inconveniences, however. Everyone I encountered was friendly and professional, and when my traveling companion had issues with the AC unit and the TV (in another room), both problems were fixed immediately.

I would definitely stay here again--I always return for those cookies!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I appreciate your comments during your last stay at our property. We are in the process of replacing the comforters... they are nice and can be a little lumpy I will address our executive housekeeper to make sure that all the supplies are being refreshed every day. I am happy that our front desk staff was able to assist you. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next travels to the area.


Lauri B
General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    65
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
158
79
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
COLLIERVILLE
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel was very standard IMO, especially for the large price tag $200+/night. The front desk help was fine, quick check-in. The room was fine (although I requested a room with a view on the website check-in and did not get one, nor was the hotel full. Do hotel personnel even read "Special Requests" sections?). The view that one reviewer mentioned appears to be blocked now by a newer hotel. As we had never been to Colorado we really wanted a view and saw mostly parking lot. The area is not very attractive and driving from the South is a downright nightmare on a very busy street for 10 miles.

Our room was over the outdoor hot tub and the children playing there were VERY loud. Glad they left after an hour. One thing this hotel needs to make clear to restaurants advertising in their own hotel information booklet -- if I call you to deliver a meal to me, you should have heard of the hotel before! We called a Chinese restaurant who seemingly had never heard of the hotel and asked three times for the street address.

I would stay elsewhere next visit. Not because anything was wrong, but TripAdvisor usually has outstanding #1 hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This Hampton Inn property was wonderful. It was easy to get to, clean, safe, and quiet. It's a short drive to wherever you want to go in Colorado Springs. We booked a two-queen bed suite with a pull-out couch. It was perfect for myself, two smaller children, and a teenager. They utilized the hot tub and pool. Their only complaint was how salty the pool was. I expected warm cookies upon arrival, but was told they only do that Monday-Friday. We were offered packs of gum, however. This was a great property and we would stay there again. Also, we got 2x the points!

Room Tip: Room 228 is a 2-queen bed suite with a pull-out couch. It has a somewhat obstructed view, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Booked several rooms for family wedding ... hotel staff (Hannah, in particular) was outstanding ... nice rooms ... quiet, even with a large contingent of church youth groups in for a conference ... easy access to interstate ... business travelers should love this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. While we spent most of our time in the area away from the hotel, our time in the hotel itself was pleasant. The location was very good and mostly quiet. My family would have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

From the time we walked in the door until we left in our car a week later..we were treated like royalty. smling faces, good food, clean rooms and bathrooms top Notch hotel staff the best in my 30 yeas of travelling

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comment you wrote about our property. WOW.....best in 30 years?? I really appreciate that and thankful that you chose to stay with us. Yes, we love our staff, they truly are the best. Thank you again.

Lauri B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

very nice staff. rooms nice. beds very comfortable. really good breakfast- had several hot options. would definitely recommend. wasn't the best of location for us since we were driving back to 24 but it was worth the drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauri B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your nice response about your stay. Yes, our beds are probably the #1 compliment we get here....the cloud 9 are the best. Glad to hear it was a great experience. Hope to see you again when you come back to Colorado.

Lauri B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy

Address: 1307 Republic Drive, I-25 North @ interquest - Exit 153, Colorado Springs, CO 80921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Newest and closest Hilton family hotel to Air Force Academy- Within walking distance of new movie theater and restaurants- Free hot breakfast and wifi- Large indoor salt-water pool, outdoor hot tub, and fitness center- "Cloud 9" upscale bedding - refrigerators and microwaves in every room- meeting space, business center, guest laundry, and convenience store- beautiful mountain views- Award winning hotel with all "Outstanding" quality assurance reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.