We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Academy Hotel to your Saves list
The Academy Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Academy Hotel
8110 N. Academy Blvd., ,, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
Hotel amenities
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our family stays at the Academy Hotel every spring when we come to Colorado Springs for vacation. We love the atmosphere of warmth and friendliness. The rooms are comfortable,very clean and we had a view of Pikes Peak out our window. Love waking up to that each morning! The kids love the pool and sitting by the large cozy fireplace. And of course we all love their amazing free buffet breakfast which has just about any breakfast choice you can imagine. We also eat in their dining area which is conveniently right in the hotel. Their food is really good and very reasonably priced. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Colorado Spring area. You are going to be surprised how much you enjoyed this place and how reasonable it is.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a great view of Pikes Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The service at this hotel is as good as I have received at some 5 star hotels. From the receptionists to the housekeepers and everyone in between was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is better than I have had at any other free breakfast, it included mto omlettes, waffles, burritos, etc. The pool area is nice and it is heated. The kids loved this. The rooms were clean but the hotel is old so there were things like stained ceiling tiles and some burns on the sink but everything was very clean. Overall I would stay again bc of the service and this time I would check to see if they had any updated rooms instead of hte older ones.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our 12 year old granddaughter found this hotel on the internet to replace one that we had already booked. When we then read reviews about The Academy, we decided to go with her find instead and were SO glad that we did. The hotel itself is so lovely and was so affordable that we are considering taking our grandchildren there again this year. They especially loved the pool, which is located in the huge lobby of the hotel. Breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) was one of the best that we have ever had, with a class A chef to cook eggs to your liking. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. Staff are customer-service oriented, making you feel that they are glad to have you at their facility. There are so many family-type activities in the area. I could go on and on......the Academy is simply magnificant!

Room Tip: If you need adjoining rooms, ask about the Executive rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

While on the way from the Denver airport to the Colorado Springs area my friend remembered passing by this hotel months earlier. As luck would have it there was availability for the night. The cozy fireplace was ablaze which set the atmosphere. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast buffet which was included in the nightly rate was WONDERFUL! This is not your typical buffet...the chef was on hand to make omelets and the buffet was extensive. If you are in area do yourself a favor an put this hotel on your list. It is in close proximity to the Garden of the Gods and Pike's Peak.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Academy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel

Address: 8110 N. Academy Blvd., ,, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Academy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Academy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.