We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern

Tavern
1 Lake Ave, The First Floor of Broadmoor Main, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
(855) 634-7711
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 1,061 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The expansive dinner menu of La Taverne sizzles with the finest selection of hand-cut steaks, chops, prime rib and seafood available in Colorado Springs. A wide variety of cold shellfish, classic appetizers, homemade soups, and more provide a wide variety of options for every diner. For lunch, La Taverne serves up favorites such as Seafood Salad Louis, sandwiches, and delicious flatbreads. Relax in Entre Deux with a beverage selection from the expanded wine or classic cocktail program. Sit in the Front Room while keeping time to the live music of La Taverne orchestra Friday through Sunday evenings. Or choose to dine in the airy Le Jardin among lush florals and the stunning 16-foot chandelier for an al fresco feel.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent prime rib, But if you are going for a special occasion meal where the setting counts as much as the food, this may not be the place. Tables are crowded together. Love the fireplace. This place is better for live music night, very lively. Food and service was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    67
    33
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expect small portions and expensive !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice interiors and atmosphere. The service is excellent. We had lunch here as soon as we arrived to stay the night at the Broadmoor . I had the shrimp salad and it was good except the portion size was extremely small. With it you receive 2 prices of romaine lettuce. The hamburgers were nothing special. My sister had a club sandwich and it was 2 tea size sandwiches. Our bill for lunch for 4 people was $90.00 and we had ice tea and 4 basic lunches and no desert. It was disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a group of 11 and the staff was attentive and willing to do whatever needed to be done to make our experience amazing. The food was top-notch and our entire group walked out stuffed and happy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent prime rib, steak, sides and french onion soup. But if you are going for a special occasion meal where the setting counts as much as the food, this may not be the place. Tables are crowded together, noice level is high (le Jardin is below ground level so no view - high glass ceiling, hard walls, tile-type floor), no table cloth/crystal (setting is more like a casual steakhouse vs an upscale restaurant). Service was so-so - an empty breadbasket sat on our table until we left (no offer to refill, no bussing it away). I'd go back if I was in the mood for a steak, but I wouldn't take guests... a trip to the Broadmoor connotes a special event for most and the Tavern setting didn't meet that (though it does carry a special occasion price). But I have NO complaint with the food itself!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Birhtday trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went later in the evening for drinks. Had a band which played great music. Ended staying over three hours just to dance besides a couple of drinks. Very casual atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.