We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mackenzie's Chophouse

Mackenzie's Chophouse
128 S Tejon St, Colorado Springs, CO 80903
(719) 635-3536
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mackenzie's Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 1,224 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Colorado Ave.
Description: We serve only the finest steaks, chops and seafood combined with innovative cuisine in an upscale, nostalgic environment. MacKenzie’s is perfect for a special occasion or casual gathering and features the finest service in the greater Colorado Springs area. Our cutting edge wine list, extensive martini menu and fine array of single malt scotches all add to the Chophouse tradition.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

As always, the food is delicious, a little pricy but not bad for a special occasion. Great atmosphere!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    63
    31
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“High end downtown restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nothing is inexpensive but nice special place to go. Make reservations to be sure to get in. Best Lemon drop martini I have ever had. Food is very good, parking garage across the street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak House with a nice atmosphere, great service, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Glad we chose this place for our date night! Hot fresh bread with roasted garlic and butter was brought with our drinks - yummmmm! I could have filled up on this alone! We then ordered the mussel appetizer. They were plentiful and delicious - enough for a party of 4 really. I had a wedge salad which was okay and a sirloin which was very good and cooked perfectly medium. Hubby chose the lamb chops which he really enjoyed (I didn't care for the raspberry glaze). My house cabernet was great, and like the food, reasonably priced!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had our anniversary dinner at the Chop house last nite Feb 28th..just really not good food. The service was horrible and food just tasteless. My husband had a sirloin that looked more like a tennis ball. You know when the knife doesn't cut the meat you're in trouble, The prime rib was just not good either. Will never go back. The décor was just tired and dark ..kinda shabby. Could of had a much more enjoyable dinner elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Over the Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I dined at Mackenzie's last night in celebration of my wife's birthday. The food, service, and atmosphere was superb. I highly recommend both the Signature Bone-in NY Strip and the Blackened Ahi Tuna. Mark B. (Gen. Mgr.) and his staff provided us with a truly memorable visit.

Steve (Colorado Springs, CO)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackenzie's Chophouse also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Mackenzie's Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackenzie's Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.