We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchenna

Uchenna
2501 W Colorado Ave, Ste 108 Use Entrance to the Building, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
+1 719-634-5070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,224 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uchenna is closed on Monday.Open Tuesday-Friday lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 09:00pm Saturdays and Sundays 12:00pm to 3:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 09:00pmHonoured to welcome you.Peace and Blessings
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Amazing Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The meal and experience was amazing. Maya is a wonderful host and super accommodating. I showed up at 5:00 on a Friday night asking for a reservation for twelve people at 5:30. When eighteen people showed up a half hour later, it was not a problem. The food was incredible. I had the vegetarian combo. The spices in the misser and shiro dishes were super flavorful. The injera has an incredible "sourdough" taste. If you like Ethiopian food and a welcoming atmosphere, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    40
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very hard to decide with the wonderful selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

With the combination plates, it gave us a chance to try the Ethiopian cuisine. Everything that was on our plates was outstanding! We felt like we were part of the family with all of the love and involvement!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some of the greatest service and food I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The owner is the sweetest lady in the world and you can tell that the food was made from the heart. We had the seafood special (with shrimps and scallops) and it was life-changing. Honestly, the spices and way that she cooks it has such great depth if flavor and wonderful complexity. We always get an extra order of injera to take home, and we got an extra side of gomen because you just can't get enough.

It's all good, but I can speak especially to the lamb, seafood, and vegetarian options. All of them are divine.

Honestly, if you haven't tried this place, you have to. You can thank me later. :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had never had Eithiopian food before and what a great surprise. This is amazing food, amazing service. Did I mention that the food was amazing?! Will go again and again! Thank you Maya for your hard work. We now feel like a member of the family after only one visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Just Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. Uchenna is a fabulous culinary adventure for the taste buds. But you will have to wait, as the chef makes everything to order and is pretty much on her own in the kitchen.But while you wait, there is plenty to occupy your other senses: good music, interesting Ethiopian art and mementos, and the ever growing smells of the many different spices being craftily blended to create the next Ethiopian masterpiece. While American style servings (individual plates) are available, for a truly authentic experience, ask for your food to be severed "Ethiopian style" (a single platter in the middle if the table from which everyone eats from). The owner Maya is reason enough to pay the place a visit. A genuinely kind and sweet person, she really cares for each of her guests. She is the reason I took the time to write this review. If you appreciate good Ethiopian food and can afford to set aside at least two hours for dinner, Uchenna is a must!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrar u, Owner at Uchenna, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Very dear customer,
Thank you for choosing to come to Uchenna and for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
May you and your family be blessed with health, health, love, peace and prosperity for 2013 and beyond. We send you our heartfelt thank you for your kind comment and promise to better ourselves day after day. Thank you.
Love, peace and blessings!
Chef Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchenna also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Uchenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchenna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.