We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Ethiopian food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchenna

Uchenna
2501 W Colorado Ave, Ste 108 and 105, To better serve the increase in the number of our customers, we have expanded by adding suite 105., Colorado Springs, CO 80904
719-634-5070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,196 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Ethiopian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Uchenna is closed on Monday.Open Tuesday-Friday lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 09:00pm Saturdays and Sundays 12:00pm to 3:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 09:00pmHonoured to welcome you.Peace and Blessings
Rock Rapids, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great introduction to Ethiopian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The restaurant owner Maya did a fantastic job of introducing our family to Ethiopian food. Our family of four ordered a platter with beef, chicken, lamb, and side dishes. We enjoyed eating with our hands and sharing a meal together. Make sure to try the rose water lemonade or the orange tea. Both were very unique and tasty. Thanks, Maya for a great experience!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    32
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Astoundingly Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is an eclectic resturant that serves genuine home cooked cuisine. It was the best lunch that my wife and I had. its a small place but, Maya, the owner is sweet and does all the work. I just can't say enough about this place. IF you like it spicy, it delivers!, you want Vegetarian and Vegan? this place serves it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Texas
1 review
“Authentic and wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I regularly keep my eye out for Ethiopian restaurants and have not actually visited one in many years. Located in Old Colorado City, we attempted to dine here on Monday and found it closed, as are many restaurants on Mondays in this locale. I am SO GLAD we went back Tuesday. Maya, the owner, server, chef, and probably all else at Uchenna, is authentic in her service, smile, and amazing, authentic Ethiopian and Mediterranean foods. Taught by her Grandmother to cook as though she is making love, Maya creates a sensual, mouth-watering meal and presents a loving, caring environment. My husband had never eaten Ethiopian food, and he LOVED it. Maya probably ruined us for other Ethiopian restaurants in the future. She and her food are just that good. She even hugged and kissed me when I left. A treasure of a find.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“So Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a wonderful experience eating in Maya's restaurant this weekend. My son is gluten free and we didn't need to worry about a single thing he ate! My husband hasn't had ethiopian food and loved every bite. Maya made the experience even more special. We will return everytime we're in the Springs:)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
1 review
“Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food was wonderful and the service provided by the owner, Maya, was very prompt, polite and personalized. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the explanations of Ethiopia and Ethiopian cuisine provided by Maya. We will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchenna also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Uchenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchenna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.