We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Springs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Springs
24 E Kiowa St, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1502
719-634-0800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #669 of 1,224 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Typical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Service at Hunan Springs was very attentive and good. Unfortunately the food was just average. Maybe that's okay for most. I have a problem when the chicken and/or shrimp in my sweet and sour entree is fried "hard". This seems to happen frequently these days at Chinese restaurants. I think they must double fry them....once to cook...and then again when someone orders to reheat.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Will not be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Very inexpensive menu. The Beef Hunan style was uninspired. The Shrimp and Vegetables offered lots of overcooked, not so fresh shrimp.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was one of the view reviews of chinese restaurants in Colo Springs that seemed decent, but it really isn't. We had steamed dumplings which tasted like flour...Sesame chicken was bland and boring too. They were very polite and the sevice was good and efficient, but we were very dissapointed food wise.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavorful, wonderful Asian food. A gem in Colorado Springs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Not being a regular diner in the Springs, Hunan Springs is a wonderful place for fresh prepared meals. The General Tsao Chicken was the best I have found, anywhere. The Kung Pao Shrimp was very flavorful. The spring rolls were fresh and crispy.

I wish that this restaurant was in Fort Collins.

Our only complaint would be that some of the service areas should be screened.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Consistenly decent to very good Chinese food. Lunch is a better value than dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Lunch is good to very good. Portions are big, and the price is very reasonable. And this is a Dining Rewards network restaurant so you get a few frequent flyer miles too :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Springs also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Hunan Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.