We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - if you can get service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marigold Cafe & Bakery

Marigold Cafe & Bakery
4605 Centennial Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-3304
719-599-4776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,196 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dallas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food - if you can get service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went for a late lunch on a Saturday afternoon. The restaurant looked very busy but we were seated very quickly. Unfortunately no one ever came to ask for our drink orders. The hostess came by the table after about 10 minutes & asked if we had been helped yet & we said no. Instead of going to get someone she just re-seated us in another part of the restaurant - which seemed odd. There was still some delay before a waitress appeared to take our drink orders. I noticed several tables around us that all seemed to be waiting on something (food, check, etc). Although there were several tables open, I guess there just wasn't enough wait staff. My friend & I had very simple orders ( we ordered the same salad, mine without peppers & hers with salmon added). Mine came out with peppers & hers came out later without the salmon. Both orders had to be sent back & corrected. There was also a long wait for drink refills. The waitresses seemed quite flustered. The food was great tasting, but the lunch took a very long time to be served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    101
    36
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aston, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Don't miss this place, great selection off the menu with good portions. Wish i had a few more days to go back and try some of the other dishes. Love the atmosphere of the place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Going Downhill?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Marigold has been a favorite place for years. This past Saturday was my first dinner in a year (I've moved to Jackson, Wyoming), and I gotta tell you five of us were pretty disappointed. Not like previous visits. Have the owners (husband and wife, I think) run out of steam and ideas? Our server, usually absolutely the best, was slow and pretty indifferent this time. Long time before server asked for our drink orders. Then about an hour before dinner arrived. That ain't good. And the food: pretty flat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoxabc
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Yumm...will go back each time I'm in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Many have said this is the best restaurant in Colorado Springs! I found the food very good; the menu was interesting with many seafood and shellfish dishes as well as pastas, heartier entrees etc. Would definitely go back every time I am in town in order to try everything. I was so full I didn't have time for the amazing desserts. I heard many people just go for wine and dessert later in the evening... Service was very good too and we didn't have to wait forever to be served.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food and atmosphere and great deserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Marigold is a French restaurant, what is nice is that you can dress up, or you can go casual and you will see dinners in both attires. The food is average $25 a plate, there are some dishes for around $20, but there are also some excellent cuts of meat for up to $35, just depends on what you want. For the two of us to have an appetizer, main course, desert, coffee and two drinks we spent $85. I have eaten there twice and the two dishes that I will keep going back for are the Seafood Risotto and the Pork Chop, you would not think that a pork chop would be a big deal in a restaurant but theirs is the best pork chop I have ever had! The Calamari appetizer is wonderful as well as the clams and mussels in a white wine sauce, both are cooked perfectly! My favorite about this restaurant is the wide selection of amazing deserts; we love the Triple Chocolate Mousse cake and the carrot cake. You can also sit in some bistro tables up front to enjoy just coffee and their deserts. If you go on a Friday or Saturday I HIGHLY recommend that you choose an earlier reservation time because they often run out of the popular dishes such as the duck and risotto or any dishes that are the special for that evening. Which can be a bummer if you want something they are out of, but they make everything fresh for that evening which I appreciate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marigold Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Marigold Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigold Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.