We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Shadows Restaurant

Mountain Shadows Restaurant
2223 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3324
+1 719-633-2122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,061 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Dessert, Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We set out on vacation determined to stay away from chains and support small businesses, this place was a great stop! We sat outside and people watched. The kids were happy to be able to eat pancakes for lunch and they loved them! They serve local beers and the burgers were great! The fries are fresh cut and the beer battered onion rings were delicious! We were seated quickly and the service was great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Green chille me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

As you walk into this restaurant you will notice the home feel to it. It is clear that patrons know the servers and vice-versa. For appetizer we had the famous green chille. My wife had the beef burger with a side salad. I had the Buffalo burger with a broccoli and cheese soup. All the food was warm, quick and delicious. Our waitress had a ownership stake in the restaurant based on her confidence and calm personality to all patrons. She told us she baked all the desserts in house: carrot cake cupcake, pies, choc cake, etc. we had the carrot cake cupcake and left only crumbs on the plate. I will recommend this place to all guests to town. My wife and I were in town visiting Denver and close cities. Enjoy this hidden gem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, KS 66725
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quaint friendly atmosphere. Helpful staff aided tourist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is an old house that has been made a restaurant. The staff was cheerful and friendly and answered all of our dumb tourist questions, and most important my tea glass never went dry. Food was good. Husband had a sandwich off the lunch menu, and I had breakfast. Would go there again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Mushroom Swiss Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wow - this place serves an amazingly delicious mushroom swiss burger! I had onion rings on the side. Highly recommend this humble little restaurant. Easy to find, great service, excellent value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“decent food, good service, easy parking - laid back atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This restaurant is very laid back. I came with a friend and my 9 month old twins. The wait staff was very friendly and helped get us all situated with the high chairs and were patient and we took our time ordering.

I got a steak salad that was good.

There is plenty of space indoors or there is a nice patio.

This is located just East of Old Colorado City and had plenty of parking on the street right out front.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Shadows Restaurant also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Mountain Shadows Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Shadows Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.