We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat ambiance; Old fashion Victorian Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fargo's Pizza CO

Fargo's Pizza CO
2910 E Platte Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80909-6241
719-473-5540
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 1,224 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
north pole, AK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Neat ambiance; Old fashion Victorian Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful restaurant set in an old fashion Victorian style setting. Love the costumes that the workers wore. My husband said he's had better pizza. I couldn't even finish 2 pieces.
The cheese blend that is used must have Asiago in it or something strong because it certainly didn't taste like classic mozzarella cheese. As a matter of fact, the cheese on pizza looks yellow when its in front of you.

We also didn't like the flow. First you stand in line to order your food and pay.
Drinks and Dessert? Sorry but you must go next station over to the bar and order and pay separately for those and yes, wait in line again! Dumb..

No waitress service whatsoever so I wouldn't leave a tip when you pay initially. There are staff dressed in beautiful costumes from the Victorian era, but they are only there to clear the tables once you've finished.

Ordering our food: not so friendly cashier. (9-1-2013) around 1:30 pm
Wasn't rude, just didn't seem like this restaurant wanted our business. She wasn't helpful when asking questions about the types of pizza served.

This place would be 5 stars if they changed the way they do business. It would be great it was run more like a restaurant and they had a change of recipes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    45
    39
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate lunch at Fargo's and wow, what a wonderful place! The pizza was delicious, but the atmosphere of the place makes it so unique! We loved the "old time" feel of the place, and the architectural details and decor are amazing! What a fun place to go to with our family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an absolute stop everytime we visit or go through. Husband use to live here when younger and loved it then and still does. I personally find the pizza just fine but had better, but I know others think differently. They love it! The price is not bad and the choices plus there is some pasta choices. You get drinks separately and they have desert choices too. Get a trip to the salad buffet. It's decent and in fact lots of choices and I really liked the pasta choices. You wait for your number to show up in a big mirror which is fun to look for. They'll wrap unused food for you too to take home. The experience or shall I say the atmosphere is what you go for. People dress up in old time clothes. There is a playing piano which I think people pay to play but i don't know. Huge crystal chadilers hang in various areas. It's two stories and the top you can look down if you choice to sit near the railing and enjoy seeing the bustling crowd. There's too much to describe but basically something to find as you go from one area to the other. Everyone likes looking at the mannequin man and woman sitting at the top. There is also a game room where old timers like us were happy to see a still playing Pac Man and Mrs. Pac Man games with a Galaga. Not happy the Mrs. PacMan was not a fast version, but loved playing Galaga again. Other than that the games are more for the young of today. Just a fun place to go especially with kids. A must at least once.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always consistant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you have been here before, you will have the same as before. Being a native, we try to avoid tourist season, but we some how find our way there anyway. We all have our different favorites, but I love the golden nugget. Others just love the salad bar. It's a must for the tourist.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Best Carrot Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a restaurant we stop at d on every time we're in the area and have time. It's locate on the eastern edge of the city and you have to want to go there but it's worth it. The building looks as if it originally was an 1880's opera house but I couldn't say if it was or wasn't. I like the building inside and out including the employee's uniforms which are consistent with the building. You place your order at a counter that looks more like an old bank teller station and order your beverage selection at a different counter resembling an old saloon. While they don't mention it your order number, it's on your receipt, appears on all of the larger mirrors when your order is ready for pick up. Not sure how it works but it's cool. Great pizza but the surprise it the whole carrot cake you can order to dine in or take home, it's great. They also offer pasta but we go there for the pizza and cake. Worth the drive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fargo's Pizza CO also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Fargo's Pizza CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fargo's Pizza CO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.