We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walter's Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Walter's Bistro
146 E. Cheyenne Mountain Blvd., Colorado Springs, CO 80906-1925
(719) 630-0201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Walter's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 1,174 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 115-Nevada Ave.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The service is always top-shelf.

We had the lobster bisque and shared an order of escargot. My wife had the Chilean Sea Bass. I would have ordered that if she hadn't, but instead, I went with the Rack of Lamb. It was all wonderful. The lamb was terrific.

The prices are high for us, but worth it for special occasions, and we will absolutely be back!

One thing I appreciate about WB is that from the host to the wait staff to the clientele, everything feels more refined than a lot of places in that same price range... yet, without being snobbish in any way. I wore a jacket and tie and didn't feel over-dressed or out-of-place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best meal we had in Colorado Springs. Just around the corner from the Broadmoor. Foie Gras was better than we've had in France. Excellent service and great atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The location is buried in a strip mall. They take your coat from you. You definitely need a reservation because its packed every night. The staff and customers are very snobbish and appear affluent. The appetizers are pretty pricey I had a butternut squash soup and a lobster bisque. Both were really good. I am a steak kind of lady and was expecting better cuts of meat. Anyways the steak was "meh" at best. It took a long time to get my food. I only got 1 refill for my diet coke. We only got 2 entrees and 2 appetizers and right there was 100$ down the drain. It wasn't worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Odd location but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I found the location of this higher end restaurant odd since it is in the corner of a strip mall. I will say, however, if you could overlook the fact you are just outside a parking lot while sitting in their outside seating...the view of the mountains beyond the parking lot is spectacular.

The food was very good. We had been referred to this restaurant by another couple who was also staying at the Broadmoor resort. They suggested we try the lamb chops. For the price, I was not particularly impressed. I was, however, very impressed with the scallops. They were some of the best I had ever had. The lobster bisque was also very good. If I lived in the area I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Birthday Dinner at the Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Consistently good food and service. Walter himself is a reminder of just what European grace and charm is all about.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter's Bistro also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Walter's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walter's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.