We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walter's Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Walter's Bistro
146 E. Cheyenne Mountain Blvd., Colorado Springs, CO 80906-1925
(719) 630-0201
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Walter's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 1,062 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 115-Nevada Ave.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent 4 days in Colorado Springs. This was the best restaurant we found. The froi gras with cherries soaked in cherry bandy was special. Their sauces too are very good. We had the lamb and halibut. Both exceptional. Given one night in CS, I would go here over more famous (and much more expensive) places. And it is very nice to have to owner visiting the table to say hello.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Forest, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Moved to Colorado Springs in 1984...this is one of my favorite spots. Hidden in a shoppette, but elegant. Great food (try the Lobster Bisque and Sea Bass) and friendly service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We went there last night with our two college age children and had a great dinner with wonderful service. This was our third time there. It is located in a very unassuming strip center, but we have never had a bad experience here. The wait staff is extremely professional in the best sense. Even though it seems like a place to dress up for, we've seen people dressed in a wide range of attire and in fact our daughter was wearing jeans, our son wearing khaki shorts, and my husband and I were wearing more business casual type clothes and we all felt comfortable. You get a warm greeting at the door as if they are genuinely glad you are there. It takes about 15 minutes to drive there from the Garden of the Gods Club where we are staying. The menu is quite traditional but absolutely delicious. A full range of possibilities from a wonderful roast chicken to leg of lamb. They have a lobster bisque that everyone raves about. And our desserts were great. Will continue to go there when we come to Colorado Springs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“No sense of customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had dined at Walter's old location two or three times and were always impressed. We took a party of six to the new location with great expectations. I ordered a bottle of wine. It was junk! The waiter poured six glasses and everyone took a sip. We all agreed it was garbage and pushed our glasses to the center of the table. That's where they sat for the rest of the meal. The waiter was oblivious. We got the check and paid, including the cost of the wine which we didn't drink. I complained to Walter, but he did nothing; didn't even reverse the charge. We haven't been back since.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Walters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Romantic, relaxed, great ambiance. Great wait staff and excellent food. Walter himself is a very cheerful and respectful man. I will frequent this establishment for years to come.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter's Bistro also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Walter's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walter's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.