We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hectic and Unorganized” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
805 Citadel Dr E, Colorado Springs, CO 80909
(719) 380-7620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 1,061 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Woodland Park, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hectic and Unorganized”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Joe's has gone downhill during the past several years. We especially miss the Salad with coconut shrimp.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    6
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goldfield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Joe's Lobster Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to receive gift cards to Joe's Crab Shack for Christmas and with the new Lobster Pie on the menu, it seemed the perfect time to use them.
Before we left home, we joined Joe's Crab Shack e-mail and got coupons for a free appetizer with the order of an entree.
We got there at lunch time and it wasn't very busy but the server was friendly and prompt,.
There was a problem with our coupons though. Since my husband and I were both getting entrees, we both wanted an appetizer with our two coupons. Our server said that we could only use one coupon but went to ask the manager what to do.
The manager, Chris, came back to our table and treated us royally! He let us use both coupons and visited with us for awhile.
My husband got the crab dip and I got the Crab stuffed mushrooms.
Both were excellent and the only suggestion I have is to offer toast with the crab dip instead of chips.
We both ordered the Lobster Pie. The presentation was wonderful and the taste was excellent. I would suggest that instead of the puff pastry, they use pie crust. It was difficult to cut through the puff pastry and the bottom crust was kind of rubbery.
There was more than enough food for our lunch and we took home boxes so that should cover lunch for the next two days.
Yes, it is pricy but if you read reviews and look up menus online, you should know this before you go and know what to expect.
Overall it was an enjoyable outing and we plan to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbkonczak, General Manager at Joe's Crab Shack, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so happy that you loved our Lobster Pot Pie! Thank you very much for letting folks know. We hope to see you back again soon!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“$30 bucks for four legs of King crab and two where empty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Outrageous font waste your money, just go to Red Lobster.
Prices way to high and food not do good. Had the mussel appetizer and no flavor when I did get king crab no flavor once again. Who are they kidding, I have black listed them from my list of places to eat out.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbkonczak, General Manager at Joe's Crab Shack, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very sorry you left Joe's unhappy. We are always happy to solve any issues that may arise while our guests are in the building. It is unfortunate to find out we let you down via the internet. In any event, we invite you to come back in so we can make things right for you! Sincerely, Chris - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Over-Priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been to Joe's many, many times in the last 8 years. We haven't been there in a few months and today's visit was a shock. They have "revised" their menu. What that means is they have increased their prices about 20% from what it was a few months ago, and they have taken several items off the menu. Their appetizers average $10. Most meals near $20 an entree. When we got our food, it was far worse than the last time we went. The pasta-laya was bland and not remotely hot. The other entrees were very average. And on top of it, they "forgot" to take our coupon off the ticket and rather than fix it, they just gave it back to us. Seriously doubt we'll be back again to use it! There are tons of really great restaurants in Colorado Springs - go to one of those and get a better meal at a more reasonable price!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbkonczak, General Manager at Joe's Crab Shack, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very sorry to hear you felt we were expensive. Seafood is expensive. In any event, we have not increased our menu prices 20% recently-- in fact the prices have been pretty flat for years. If we failed to meet you expectations, I am truly sorry. We hope you'll come in and give us another try. Ask for me and I'll make sure you leave happy. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
“Special Order Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Food and adjustments to menu items were wonderful and tasted great. Service not so good. Sunday evening, no wait was a plus as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.