We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambience and equally good steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Famous Steak House

The Famous Steak House
31 N Tejon St, Colorado Springs, CO 80903
719-227-7333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Famous Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 1,195 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kiowa
Description: BEST STEAK - Colorado Springs Gazette 2013 || BEST STEAKHOUSE - BEST FINE DINING - Colorado Springs Independent 2012 || BEST CHEESEBURGER (LUNCH) - Colorado Springs Independent Colorado Springs’ finest upscale steak house and lounge located in the center of downtown. Dine in an elegant and classic steak house environment. Award winning prime steaks, fresh seafood, premium wines and piano bar provide a provocative mix of atmosphere and entertainment. Featuring 30+ Colorado spirits and wines as well as local craft brews.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good ambience and equally good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We went as a medium sized party on a busy Monday evening. The service was quick and efficient, steak well cooked and the place was buzzing. Overall a very pleasant evening, worth a re-visit

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    32
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We made reservations and were glad we did. This restaurant was almost full at 6:30 pm. The room has a wonderful ambiance that matches the food. The menu is extensive and the portions very large. Our server suggested we the sides and he was correct. The overall experience made us want to come back the next time we are in Colorado Springs

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The beast steakhouse in the Springs .......still!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great steaks - very good service and a wonderful ambiance. Good wine list with a reasonable, not great, range of wines by the glass. Been here a few times over the past five years - and will certainly return

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great steak place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

nice decor, great service (sat at the bar), great food (colorado lamb). highly recommended if looking for an upscale place to dine.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The great steak grading debate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I would think twice about eating a dinner here again. When I inquired about the type and quality of the meats our server gave a short story that I would suggest belonged in the "Beef B.S. [Below Standard] category. I mean seriously people, if you don't know the answer to a question don't try to dazzle a customer that has instant internet access. It's just too easy to get the answers to questions nowadays.

I asked how beef is graded. What's the difference between prime, choice, select, etc. The answer I got told me our server didn't know. That should have been the answer. (For the answer visit this website: http://meat.tamu.edu/beefgrading/)

The short answer is good beef is graded on marbling and whiteness of the fat. (The more yellow the fat the poorer taste quality)

Service was not to my standards. This restaurant is an old converted shoe store that seemed to me to be a popular spot based on its location rather than its quality. The food was just ok. For the price, I'd recommend elsewhere. And next time that's where I'll go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Steak House also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to The Famous Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Famous Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.