We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was warned before we went... that it has gone DOWN HILL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern

Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern
230 Point Of The Pines Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-8003
+1 719-598-8990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #620 of 1,194 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: near the intersection of Rusina Road and Elkton Dr
Transit: 0.5 miles away, at Garden of the Gods and Chestnut
Description: As you drive the Winding road of Point of the Pines, you begin to sense that you are about to embark on something unique. At the Summit of the hill sits The Sunbird Restaurant, a Colorado Springs Landmark for 40 years. The Sunbird is Casual fine dining that fits the Colorado Springs lifestyle to a tee. Whether you are looking for elegant and sophisticated, or casual and comfortable, you will feel at home at the Sunbird. Join us for Dinner and Choose from Fresh Seafood, Steaks, Chops, Pasta, and more, or for our Lounge or Patio for our Small-plate Bar menu, our Award Winning Sunday Brunch, or Plan your next Special Event for a First-Class Private dining experience your guests will Love and only you will know how much you saved.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I was warned before we went... that it has gone DOWN HILL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If they are under NEW management, they NEED HELP DESPERATELY.

This was the worst brunch I have ever been to – seriously. $40 plus tax & tip per person, what a disappointment.

Our family went to Easter brunch (we had reservations). The food area was in shambles, no one was filling the empty food containers, they were all (no exaggeration) empty or nearly empty, and what was there was cold (cold salmon, cold eggs). They continually ran out of plates so guests had to stand and wait for 10-15 plates to come out of the kitchen at time, and there was no direction or indication of what items they had (or was supposed to have). The drips and mess from guest dipping was never wiped up...no one was refilling the empty (basic) containers such as butter and syrup.

The meat carving area was in with the servers area, so while guests were trying to get food, servers were reaching over and behind to get napkins.

They ran out of champagne for the mimosas. They ran out of bacon. The carpet is in dire need of cleaning and the tile area (steps) was filthy.

The “manager” Tom White was no where to be found – we asked several times, one server actually laughed when we asked for him.

I was told before we went that the new management wasn't helping the restaurant any, and boy were they right about that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    29
    26
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad management - bad overall experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I gave one star, of which was not deserved!!! - We have been to Sunbird Restaurant several times before, with enjoyable experiences, but this Sunday was worst than disappointing and will be our last, as we found out under new management. Our Easter Brunch experience, 4-20-2014, we arrived 20 minutes as suggested, before our reservation, and waited for an additional 25 minutes after reservation time, 45 minutes total time, before being seated. We were taken to our table, husband stayed at the table for drinks and to talk with server, while the rest of our group went to food stations. When we went to food stations - more than half the food containers were, either completely empty, or very little in them. The first several plates from stack had food left on them and we set these aside and told other guests to not use those. The scrambled eggs were cold and soggy and the few potatoes I scraped from the pan were cold as well. After we made the rounds at the food stations and having stood waited, a good while for fresh food to be brought, of which never happened, we returned to our table, drinks had not arrived during all this time. Two of our group, got up to see if there had been food brought and we found there to be a line waiting for plates - we returned to our table, wiped the plates we had used and reused them. I went to the omelette bar and waited behind six people, two men were preparing the omelettes as well as, cutting the meats, I waited a very long time, finally ordered my omelette and went back to our table, as it was so crowded in the area for the omelettes with staff running back and forth for supplies ( this small area was also staff supply area) and people waiting in line, a horrible situation to say the least. Everyone at our table was talking about the lack of plates, as we could see the food area from where we were seated, half the area was filled with people waiting for plates. No excuse for this to be happening. Our glasses, now empty and waiting for refills, we saw some food refills arriving and went to get some, but lines were so long now from those having just gotten plates, most were empty by the time we got to them. It was the worst situation I have ever been through. Since we had been to Sunbird, several times before, we do know it can be handled better with food warm and plentiful - whatever was happening on this day was inexcusably poor management, of which we continued to look for a manager and never saw one on the floor. Summerized: cost was high at $40 a plate, food not replenished- more than half containers empty at any given time, food cold, not enough plates and of those, many still not cleaned - causing people to stand for long periods of time waiting for plates, beverages not being replenished, station for omelette preparations mingled with staff running through and in their supply area causing congestion and rude staff to customer interactions - ridiculous - move staff supplies from this area,tables jammed together so tightly, chairs touched and nobody could get in and out without others having to stand, bathroom had towels all over the floor - staff was not checking to keep cleaned and picked up - overall, bad to worse experience - without management on the floor over seeing, inexcusable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My family gathered for brunch at The Sunbird on March 30, 2014, expecting to enjoy a nice meal. What a disappointment. The food is horrendous. There are an impressive number of misspelled items from which to choose at the brunch buffet, the tastiest of which are tolerable at best. One can choose from powdered(!) eggs (scrambled or made to order omelets,) mushy spanakopita, tough, overdone prime rib, store-bought muffins, tasteless, watery shellfish, petrified salmon... Need I go on? The Sunbird charges $33 per person for this! The most palatable selection was the fresh fruit, as it hadn't had the misfortune of being subjected to whatever passes for cooking at this establishment. IHOP and Village Inn do significantly a better job.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I drove an hour from Denver to meet wito meet with our family for a nice dinner. This was our first and last time eating at this establishment. We were there for 15 mins before even getting water (only four other tables in the restaurant had customers), the iappetizers were a jokeit took them 1/2 an hour to bring out our food and when they finally did, they forgot to cook my husbands food at all so we had to wait for his and I shared some of mine so he could eat (the brought him an appetizer to tide him over but remember what I said earlier about the appetizers) When they finally brought his chicken out...it was raw!! He finally said not to even try to fix it...then the waitress came back and actually asked how he liked the sides...really??? The prices they are charging for sub par food (if you are lucky enough to get your food or get it cooked) is just not right and although they apologized and took the chicken off the bill, it was too little too late. Such a shame...Great scenery and not bad ambiance but we will never go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't even bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I ate here on 2/17/14 for the first and last time. My husband's steak (asked for medium) was burned to the point of being inedible and the fries that came with his meal were cold and had obviously been made much earlier in the day. I ordered the mac and cheese with chicken- a 16 dollar dish- which was subpar hardly seasoned mac and cheese with cold, dry, and bland chicken on top. Thankfully the manager took his steak off our check because we just wanted to leave and get food else where. Its such a shame, the location is beautiful- but unless they change owners or something we will never be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.