We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern

Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern
230 Point Of The Pines Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-8003
+1 719-598-8990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #585 of 1,224 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: near the intersection of Rusina Road and Elkton Dr
Transit: 0.5 miles away, at Garden of the Gods and Chestnut
Description: As you drive the Winding road of Point of the Pines, you begin to sense that you are about to embark on something unique. At the Summit of the hill sits The Sunbird Restaurant, a Colorado Springs Landmark for 40 years. The Sunbird is Casual fine dining that fits the Colorado Springs lifestyle to a tee. Whether you are looking for elegant and sophisticated, or casual and comfortable, you will feel at home at the Sunbird. Join us for Dinner and Choose from Fresh Seafood, Steaks, Chops, Pasta, and more, or for our Lounge or Patio for our Small-plate Bar menu, our Award Winning Sunday Brunch, or Plan your next Special Event for a First-Class Private dining experience your guests will Love and only you will know how much you saved.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great View Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This place has the best Sunday Brunch I especially liked the made to order omelets and all the eggs Benedict- lots of fruit- seafood- ham- sausage Breads- juices just about the best I have had and the made to order bananas foster for dessert was fantastic service was good had to wait a bit to be seated but it was worth it and its gone a great view of the city I will go again Family Friendly and just a great selection a bit pricey but the quality is worth it go you will enjoy it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    29
    27
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here last night and it was excellent. The outdoor area is fun too for a drink. I had the pecan encrusted red trout. Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We attended Sunbird for their Father's Day Brunch and it was memorable. Hosts and waitstaff were so accommodating of our two little ones, making it a pleasant experience for all of us. The view is stellar, but most importantly, the food was varied and delicious. Our family party of seven have varied tastes, and there was enough variety to satisfy everyone. My favorites were the varied cheeses from brie to more pungent smoked cheeses, crab legs, smoked salmon, and perfectly medium rare prime rib with sauces and au jus. For desserts, the cheese blintz with blueberries, creme brulee and chocolate mousse were not to be outdone by the chocolate fountain with fresh strawberries and cakes for dipping. Mimosas or champagne were included in the price. A treat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The view is spectacular the food not so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This great venue needs a some polish. Our waitress was nervous, unfamiliar with the menu and slow. The bartender was inadequately trained and could not produce an acceptable Manhattan. The food tasted pretty good but was presented in an unappetizing manner, just thrown on the plate. The final blow was when my grandson found the cap to a whip cream can buried in his dessert.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorafo Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Not the place you remembered.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although we live quite close to this restaurant we only went once before trying it again because of a promotion congratulating school kids for completing another year of school. Wow what a change to this always stogy place. All new up to date menu with mostly casual food items that are well prepared and priced right. Service is excellent and friendly and as always the best view around. Also, I believe just about the best cocktail patio in town - great drinks, great view with several fire pitts to gather around. We'll be regulars now for sure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbird Mountain Grill and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.