We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun

Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun
4250 Cheyenne Mountain Zoo Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
719 578 5367
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Absolutely beautiful view. So neat to see back into the past thru pictures of his life. Construction of the tower is amazing. The view is so worth the burn of the thighs.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirbyville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Free entrance with zoo admission. Great for anyone age 10 and in good health. Unique drive to & from Shrine. Lovely place. Stay as long as you can. Amazing memories. Take lots of Photos!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Shrine in the Clouds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

When you pay for admission to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, you can get a ticket/pass to drive up to this shrine at no extra cost.

I call it the Shrine in the Clouds because, on the day we visited, there were thunderstorms in the area and it was overcast. Nevertheless, it was worth climbing the stairs to the top for the view of the zoo below, the city of Colorado Springs, and the plains to the east.

The best part was looking at the historical pictures that lined the walls on every landing - they gave you a wonderful insight to the life of this man, the people he met, and the things that he did.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Padlocked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We drove to the shrine after our visit to the zoo. We climbed the 99 stairs only to find the door to the lookout padlocked. There are some great panoramic views form some of the lower decks, but we were disappointed that we could not walk out on the top observation deck. If you go to the zoo, don't miss this attraction.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

It was the best place I've ever visited in my life!
Beautiful panoramic view and a lovely look-out tower on the top of the mountain (several articles and pictures of Will Rogers on the walls)...and the bells playing "The Godfather".
We found this place by coincidence, I didn't even know about it!
We were the only visitors, and we were just lying on the floor of the terrace on the sun, and maybe those were the most peaceful moments of my life:)
Visited in 2010 October

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.