We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and informative!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Training Center

Olympic Training Center
1 Olympic Plaza, Colorado Springs, CO 80909
(719) 866-4618
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Sports Complexes, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Headquarters for the U.S. Olympic Committee administration and the Olympic Training Center programs.
Lees Summit MO.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were there for some nmartial arts competition. Farily large completx could spend 4 or 5 hours there if your interested. We didn't do too much because of the weather!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    159
    60
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I believe they are rebuilding parts of it, so when we went- there wasn't much to see and our timing wasn't the best. We were given a tour by one of the trainers. We watched a video and toured everything. Talked to some of the wrestlers. Indian team was there training with the americans while we were there. Watched the swimmers swimming. It was interesting, but could have been better if our timing was better. The gymnastics area was empty while we were there but it was still interesting to see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great free tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We came to the OTC because our daughter was training in a volleyball camp. The tour started with an inspiring video and an easy walk through the campus. We learned interesting facts and enjoyed our time here. Unfortunately, most athletes were away for their Christmas break; but we still enjoyed our tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited the Olympic Training Center during a family trip just before Thanksgiving. Maybe it was the time of year, but the tour was underwhelming. Mostly we just saw a couple of gyms and the Olympic-sized swimming pool. There were a couple of people in the weight room and the pool, but no well-known medalists. The facilities are spacious but the actual equipment doesn't appear any more advanced than high-end fitness centers -- perhaps because the training center relies on donations. The overview video at the beginning of the tour seemed oddly out of place: it highlighted the Winter Olympics even though this facility is predominantly used for the Summer games. We were hoping to inspire our children (12 and 9). Instead they were bored. The only good thing about this attraction is that it's free.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The "OTC", near Memorial Hospital”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

These people are a little too stuck on themselves, and are not too friendly. Their intentions are laudable, but currently there is little to SEE or interact-with. There are better uses for your time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Training Center also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Olympic Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Training Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.