We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Face-to-Face with Giraffes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheyenne Mountain Zoo

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
4250 Cheyenne Mountain Zoo Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906
719-633-9925
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gorgeous natural setting is just one of the things this zoo has going for it. Baby meerkats, a Kamodo dragon and art done by an elephant are a few others.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Be Face-to-Face with Giraffes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A zoo on the mountain. Grandchildren love it. Be face-to-face with the giraffes as walk the elevated path -- can feed them, too. Lots of other exhibits with a new special exhibit each year. Wonderful carousel! Really good food at the adjourning cafe. Good to have grandchildren as another reason to go.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    297
    68
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This isn't the biggest zoo in the world, but it is a great time. It's size is about right for a half-day, and it has a good assortment of animals in natural habitats. There are plenty of non-zoo attractions, parks, play areas as well. Feeding the giraffes and petting the kangaroos never gets old. The staff has always been very friendly and the crowds never get so big that it feels too busy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome day at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have been to this zoo many times. Went with extended family. The kids (and adults) love feeding the giraffes. Got to see the small monkeys (sorry I don't remember their actual names) head out to their outside enclosure via a "branch walkway". The staff was really informative. My daughter loved the bears, even though one did not approve of her, however. Only problem we had was with a wheelchair. My mother-in-law walks with a cane so we got her a wheelchair for the zoo. The pathways can be a bit steep since the zoo is on the side of a mountain. It took my husband and brother-in-law both at times to ensure she didn't go flying down the mountain. Admission seemed a bit pricey for what I am used to at zoos.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have been to this zoo twice. I'm from the east coast and this is the best zoo I've ever been to. You go in and you can feed the giraffes lettuce. Do not miss the grizzley bear show everyday at 11:30. It is a sight to behold. You can stand in front of this water tank and the bears are right there and the staff has them do tricks. The food at the restaurant is good with good variety, a little pricey and the ice cream at the restaurant is really good. Pony rides are mostly on the weekend but I think it depends on how busy it is. When you first go in they give you a coin & you can place it in the box of the animal that you'd most like to help.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than Denver Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The zoo is creativley designed to be integrated into the mountain. You can actually hug a giraffe!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheyenne Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.