We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomidating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy to your Saves list
Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9805 Federal Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Pacific, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very accomidating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the moment we arrive through the moment we left, all staff was wonderful. Room was very nice: comfortable bed, clean, and quiet. Anything we wanted or needed was readily available. They even changed our room so that we could see the mountains. Best hotel stay in years!

Room Tip: Choose the side of the hotel that looks at the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
59
33
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple weeks while waiting to close on our home in the area. The location has a wonderful view of the Front Range and the Air Force Academy. The hotel itself is nice (the lobby, hearth room, outside fire pit area).

The room was nice. I've stayed in several different Residence Inns, so I pretty much know what to expect. Chief complaints about the room are that the 2 burner stove is the old coil type. For such a nice room, the coils are an eyesore and harder to clean that a flat cooktop. The dishwasher would spit water out of the top part by the sink and spill out all over the countertop by the coffee maker.

Clean sheets are a bit hard to come by. In the weeks that we stayed there the sheets were only changed once. We allowed housekeeping in several times and requested that the sheets be changed, even stripping the bed. When we returned, the same sheets were back on the bed (I sleep in my makeup sometimes and makeup was on the sheets). I should mention that we were in a pet room and had our cat with us. The room was vacuumed ONCE during the duration of our stay. Although it seemed they were obsessive about vacuuming the area by the elevators.

Internet is insanely slow and devices continually got kicked off of wifi despite signing in.

The food is the absolute worst part of the hotel. Complimentary breakfast includes chalky eggs from a carton. Eggs are so cheap, buy real eggs. Cut potatoes aren't cooked through. The best parts of breakfast are waffles and sausage patties. Other things like canned fruit cocktail in syrup are the "fresh fruit." We stayed there during Air Force Academy graduation, so one would think that they'd try harder, but The BBQ was a previously frozen hamburger patty that had been grilled within an inch of a hockey puck or a hotdog. Buns were frozen in the middle. Chips and pudding from a can was also offered. One time they grilled chicken breasts in 3 weeks for The BBQ and it was gone in 5 seconds. For soup and salad night the salad was iceberg lettuce, shredded orange cheese, canned sliced olives, canned jalepeno slices, diced white onion, stale croutons and dressing bottles were crusty with old, hardened dressing. The soup wasn't any better. It's cheap in all of the wrong ways, they should honestly just stop offering evening reception and breakfast if the effort is to save money. It's disgusting and only highlights what the hotel lacks.

Oh and for a hotel of that size, it only has 3 washing machines. It was difficult to deal with especially during academy graduation and one was out of order despite the maintenance man walking around the lobby constantly.

Front desk ladies need a lesson in eyeliner and the younger guy with the glasses needs a haircut if he's going to wear a blazer.

Overall, it's a fail. We were happy to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. I felt right at home! Can wholeheartedly recommend for either business or pleasure. I was able to see Pikes Peak from room. How great is that? We had our camping gear shipped in and the hotel was great about helping us getting it shipped back out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is one of my best recent hotel experiences. I reserved a one bedroom suite and it was huge. It had a good sized bedroom with the sink area separate from the tub/shower and toilet. Unexpectedly, i had to "host" my brother as well and he found the sofa bed in the sitting/kitchen area to be comfortable.

There was a full kitchen with totally clean dishes and silverware. The bathroom and the rest of the room was totally clean. No complaints whatsoever.

We stayed there Sunday night-Tuesday morning and it was totally quiet.

Internet was free and i did not experience any speed issues. Bathroom amenities were by Paul Mitchell - very nice! The free breakfast featured hot and cold items; not high end (regular full-sugar/full fat, not Greek yogurt; Special K/Cheerios cereal) but just fine. I would have preferred cut up fresh fruit instead of fruit cocktail from a can but they did have fresh apples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for the Air Force Academy graduation. The rooms were clean, service was great, and front desk was extremely nice. The rates were higher for graduation. The hotel has a great view of the mountains and is conveniently located near restaurants. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet, but the front desk staff was really nice and offered to call when it was. I asked if we could get a mountain view and they said it would be no problem. Within a couple hours they called, and it was still a few hours before regular check in hours. When we got back there she apologized again for making us wait. We were very early, so it certainly wasn't their fault. Our room was perfect, with a beautiful view of Pikes Peak and the Air Force Academy. The room was very spacious, more like a small apartment. There was a full kitchen with full size fridge, microwave, stove top, sink and dishwasher, plus dishes. The bedroom was separate and had its own tv. There was a little renovation going on in the room across from ours, but we never heard anything. The room was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had at a hotel. There was a large variety, and the food was different the two mornings we ate there. There were also a lot of toppings for the waffles (chocolate chips, sprinkles, fruit, etc) and toppings for the scrambled eggs (cheese, onions, etc). We are military, and got a great rate ($83/day), so I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. There is a similar hotel across the street, which offered us the same price, but I think this hotel had the better view.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We travel to the Springs from time to time for business or just to get away. Marriott Residence Inn North is our place to stay! Convenient to shopping, theaters, and nice restaurants. Close to Briargate! We have brought pets and they are very accommodating. Decent breakfast every morning included. We love this place! Not a Four Seasons...but that's not what we want on out outings in Colorado Springs.
For the price, it's terrific!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy

Address: 9805 Federal Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80921
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Colorado Springs North Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.