We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9805 Federal Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80921   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was my second hotel in COS this trip. I checked into the first place around midnight, and by noon the next day, I had made reservations here. What a relief to walk in and find a clean, spacious room with a functional kitchen, recliner, nice TV, and brand-new bathroom. Not to mention pool, hot tub, copious complimentary breakfast, and helpful desk staff who gave me pre-printed sheets of directions to shopping, restaurants, and places to work out. They have a deal that hotel guests can use the local Gold's Gym for free - turns out that includes their group classes - so free yoga, all month!

This place is totally family friendly - putting green, basketball and tennis courts, all the equipment for play available at the desk. There are plenty of families here and the kids seem to be having fun.
My favorite part is that the room is set up exactly like the one in the Las Vegas Residence Inn where I spent a month last year. No wonder I was right at home - I knew where everything went! I'm starting to feel like George Clooney in the airplane movie; I may start staying at all Residence Inns, all the time.....
Re: some of the other reviews below-
Somebody mentioned pets - sometimes I won't stay at hotels that do accept pets (unless I'm traveling with my own) but I haven't even seen any animals here, let alone heard or smelled them.
Somebody else mentioned traffic noise - we should trade rooms - I'm on the other side of the hotel and it's actually almost too quiet to sleep. The noise might just be an issue of what you're used to.
I think someone else said the internet is slow - I do work from here and I haven't noticed any problems. I lost my connection a couple times in the breakfast area (very nice fireplace for reading in front of, btw) but it came back up the minute I clicked on it.
I may be over-enthusiastic about this place, because the first hotel was so bad, but whatever. Every time I turn around there's a new amenity and I'm having a great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGMCOSTW, General Manager at Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Pedsfs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We're very happy that you chose to stay with us and even happier that you enjoyed our location. Thank you for mentioning the Gold's Gym agreement. It's a great service for guests that want to keep their exercise routine while on the road. It sounds like you have been "Residized"! We look forward to another opportunity to serve you :)

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
31
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel is clean and updated, very modern style, kept very well. Rooms are large and kitchenettes with fridge, microwave and stove, dishes and utensils are perfect for someone staying longer than a couple nights. The VIEWS to the Rockies are amazing! We took a top floor 1bedroom suite facing the mountaints and could not take our eyes off the views. 2 TVs in two separate areas were great. The extra services and amenities were outstanding. Mon/Tue/Wed you will get a special reception snack bar and free drinks, and morning breakfast gives you a variety of both cold and warm options as well. We were most impressed with the level of customer service at the hotel: check in and check out were easy, quick and friendly. The staff went far and beyond to accomodate everyone and make everyone's stay nice and cozy. Kids could rent sports equipment, or swim in a pool. We were most impressed with how the staff gathered together at breakfast to congratulate one little birthday girl with baloons , card and singing. It seemed like a nice touch. Free parking, breakfast, newspaper and wi-fi were excellent too! The location is perfect for those of you planning a trip to the Air Force Academy. We definetely recommend this hotel to anyone passing through.

Room Tip: inquire about a fascinating military discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGMCOSTW, General Manager at Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Barnaul2000,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to hear the positive feedback on our guest services and ammenities. I agree - the views of the Rockies are AMAZING! You will have to come back in the winter or spring and see how beautiful the snow capped peaks of the front range are during that time of the year too! Our team really had a great time surprising the youngster on her birthday :)

We appreciate your reccommendations.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita KS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed there for 3 days in March, very clean hotel free breakfast was very good, with different choices each day. Evening reception was good as well, good variety as well as micro brew from near by restaurant. Traveled with 2 teenagers and it was very nice to have a 2 bedroom suite, plenty of room.
Staff was very helpful and courteous.
Only down fall was the location, (not the hotels fault) it is located in a new area and there are a couple of restaurants but that is about it. That being said, it is close to interstate and can be in location with many restaurants within 5 to 0 minutes. Just a couple of minutes to the Academy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGMCOSTW, General Manager at Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Ictpaul,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and found it's location to be convenient to your needs. We upgraded our breakfast late 2010 and it's only getting better as our team learns. In March we renovated the hotel and I hope you had a chance to see our new, fresh rooms!

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Not pet friendly. If your dog barks once or twice after being in the hotel for 3 weeks they want to move you instead of the people that are only there for a few days. The hotel can be pretty much vacant but they crowd everyone at the same end of the hotel. The dogs never bark at night or in the early in the morning. One of us has always been in the hotel room with the dogs with the exception of going out for dinner, one day when my husband went to his office in Denver, and for the first week during the day when we were looking for houses. There were no complaints until this last Thursday/Friday.

When the manager called to tell us about the dogs, he said there were "numerous" complaints and from "multiple" customers. When we went downstairs to talk to the front desk they said there were only two complaints and they were from the same person. Honesty really is the best policy, and you shouldn't lie or over exaggerate to your customers.

The internet is very slow. If you need to work from the hotel you might not be able too. The latency is pretty much the worse that I have ever seen. It is so slow to the point websites sometimes will time out and not load.

The service is horrible. They sometimes don't tell you if you have mail. The wait at the front desk can take 20 minutes before anyone shows up.

My family ended up moving to a friendlier hotel for the remainder of our 1.5 months.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGMCOSTW, General Manager at Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Residence Inns are pet friendly in the fact that we accept pets (with limitations). In fact, we have even walked some of our guests’ dogs. However, we do have a pet policy that helps us to keep our hotel a safe, fun, and restful place to stay. We know that some guests are not as tolerant of animals as others and we’re always willing to work with pet owners to find a location that works for them, their pets, and our other guests. We have been happily serving guests with pets for over 7 years now.

Access to the internet is a MUST for those on the road. Working with a VPN can be particularly challenging while staying at a hotel and many internet service providers (ours being one of those) require special settings for a VPN to work correctly. Our friendly staff is available 24 hours a day to assist you with internet troubleshooting and can connect you with a technician within minutes.

We approach service with a personal touch. It’s often that you will find that our “Guest Service Agents”, “Maintenance Technicians”, “Suite Attendants”, and “Managers” stepping out of the traditional role of these titles and helping to serve food, give directions, shovel snow, help with luggage, deliver mail, or even jump start a car.

We agree that honesty is the best policy! And, should you ever have a concern or need we are here for you and ready to help you however we can.

Cordially,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Enjoyed the suite with two private bedrooms and baths. Would have preferred king size beds. The kitchen was great as we brought food with us. The open area around hotel is a plus and was beautiful covered with snow. We all enjoyed playing in the snow and building a large snowman. Staff is very friendly and cooperative. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGMCOSTW, General Manager at Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to tell you that the last bit your snowman is about to melt away. We and many other guests really enjoyed seeing Frosty there everyday - well done!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The hotel was good but i couldnot sleep because of noise. This hotel was close to interstate. Noise from interstate wake me up all night long. Frontdesk was nice and helpful but that could not give me sound sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGMCOSTW, General Manager at Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
I’m sorry that you didn’t get a good night’s rest. It’s ironic. We try to put people on the west side of the building so they can enjoy the fabulous mountain views. However, Interstate 25 is between the hotel and the mountains. There is a development plan underway which will house some office buildings on the land between the hotel and freeway. These new office buildings should help to mitigate some of the noise the freeway traffic produces. In the meantime, if you’re willing to give us another shot, please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure that we get you a room located on the east side of the hotel.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

On a short road trip, we chose this Residence Inn based on price and amenities. The one bedroom suite was perfect, plenty of room to spread out. The kids liked the pool, and the exercise room was more than adequate. No complaints about the breakfast buffet, and healthy choices were available. Throughout our stay, the staff was friendly, accommodating and helpful. I was surprised they had kid-sized toothbrushes at the front desk. Great mountain views. We will stay here again when our travels bring us back to Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGMCOSTW, General Manager at Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while on your roadtrip. We're happy that you enjoyed your time here and even happier that you'll stay with us again. Have you signed up for Marriott Rewards? You can earn free nights and other goodies by staying at Marriott Hotels! We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy

Address: 9805 Federal Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Colorado Springs North Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.