We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Downtown Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Downtown Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were small, but very nice! All amenities you would need. Restaurant had very reasonably priced and good breakfasts..only meal eaten there. Suggest self parking one block away...very reasonable if in and out once a day..otherwise $18 per night valet, plus tip of course, for each out.. Easy to get anywhere from this location!

Room Tip: Rooms with two doubles much bigger than one king..same price..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    241
    46
    21
    9
See reviews for
319
435
50
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forked River, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights and found the staff to be quite pleasant and helpful. The rooms and sitting areas were very clean. The only room we could get had one king bed in it and very little room for anything else. It was difficult to walk around there was no place to sit. The "desk" was a bar like structure attached to the wall at the foot of the bed. You could not sit there without the chair hitting the bed. The only thing that was spacious was the shower however, the soap and shampoo were in bottles that were mounted so high it made using them difficult. Although they were full, you had to pump quite a bit to get the product out. The sink area had enough room for a bar of soap and your tooth brush, not much else. The coffee area was so small that it could only hold the machine (which did not work properly) and the condiments. Wifi was intermittent. I didn't realize how depressing all this was until we checked out. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby P, General Manager at The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are so glad you choose The Mining Exchange for your stay. We are a boutique style property so all of our rooms are different from the next. There are several different room types as well. If you did not like the space of the room you were in, don’t let that scare you as there are over 12 different room types and sizes. Thank you for the kind words you said about the staff and I truly hope you stay with us again and let us help you find a room type that is to your liking. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We visited the hotel for a wedding weekend. The common areas and rooms were very clean and the staff members were very attentive to customer needs. This is a very nice hotel. We would recommend it to other travelers. There are many outdoor activities for all ages if time permits!

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which did not meet the standards of the hotel. It was advertised as "an award winning restaurant." Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and the service was poor (long waits). We would recommend looking at other dining options.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This property was the site of the wedding celebration of my lady's daughter. I really had no involvement in any of the planning so can't speak to that. But I was very pleasantly surprised by the very nice corner room we (the mother of the bride and I) were assigned. The appearance of the hotel was very good in all ways. And, in spite of what had been a poor impression of Wyndham (timeshare properties), this place opened up my eyes to a better thought. I was told the brunch was excellent.

There is valet parking. There is also a parking garage about a block away. Extremely reasonable on weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very nice, nearly new hotel in downtown Colorado Springs. They have kept many of the architectural details of the original building which enhances it's appeal. You can walk to restaurants, wine bars etc. Our room, while small, was very functional and nicely laid out. The bed was comfortable but seemed shorter than normal. I am only 5'4" and my feet were close to the edge of the bed. I would inquire about this if you are tall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Not only is the hotel really beautiful but the thing that made our stay perfect was the kindness and attentiveness shown by all the staff at the hotel, who bent over backwards to enhance our stay. I would absolutely stay here again if I were visiting Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham and Priceline so you can book your The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.