We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center
Save
You added Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center to your Saves list
3820 North 30th Street, Colorado Springs, CO 80934   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had already planned to attend the post-Christmas winter concert at Glen Eyrie, but some dear friends shared a gift certificate with us for a night in the Castle. It was a wonderful experience, first to last, with one exception: My husband had been battling a minor illness the day before the concert, but thought he'd be ok because he didn't want to disappoint me. Well, the illness got worse during the night. The staff was so helpful, very caring and willing to do anything I needed, including sending up Sprite or anything else I asked for. (And they refused to accept a tip.)

Keep in mind, this is more of a personal retreat and conference center, so they don't have a regular full-service restaurant. This surprised me, as they serve a hot breakfast in the morning. However, it was pretty bare-bones with a fixed menu of eggs, sausage, and toast, along with a continental buffet (loved the turnovers). Come for the atmosphere, not necessarily the food.

The rooms are lovely! We stayed in a suite (don't remember if it had a name) that was enormous! It was furnished with antiques, must have had 15' ceilings and, in addition to the large bedroom and separate bath, it had a very large living room with views of the mountains, perfect as the gathering place for a reunion of family or friends. It was very quiet during the night, but I think the occupancy rate was pretty low, so I don't what it would be like when it's full. I did an impromptu self-guided tour around the castle after breakfast; it's an amazing building, more so because of its location at the base of the mountains of Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We appreciate hearing from our guests, and we value your input. We hope you and your husband will come see us again when you're both able to enjoy the experience more fully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
21
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed on 12-14, was booked into the Big Horn Lodge, the room reminded me of a run down Motel 6, the carpet was very stained, lots of mold in the bathroom, and the room had a lot of dust the nightstand made my hand turn white after wiping it off. The beds have seen better days, the linen was dusty and it made it hard to breathe when trying to sleep. The walls are very thin you can hear the neighbors go to the bathroom, and talk quietly. I was a bit nervous about the doors between the rooms not having a dead-bolt lock. There was not really much to do here, being this was a retreat I was surprised to find out that the location did not have a place for dinner. The breakfast in the morning was a "Nice Try" the bacon was very greasy, potatoes were mush, and the eggs cold. Had a gift certificate that we had to use the balance of due to the exp. date the Guest Service agent did not have the power to extend the value nor would he offer to help and put the effort to the customer. I would never stay here again, management needs to step out of the operational role and look at the property from the guests view and a lot will be improved.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay. Toured the Cliff House while in the area, seemed much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Although your expectations were not met during your stay with us, your thoughts are important to us and we value your input. We sincerely apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory, and we can assure you that we are committed to improving the quality of the guest experience in any way we can. We hope we’ll have the opportunity to serve you better in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The home of Colorado Springs Founder William Jackson Palmer, Glen Eyrie offers tours and overnight stays. I stayed in Palmer's room, which was clean, comfortable, and a trip back in time. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the grounds were relaxing and beautiful.

Room Tip: Try to arrive before 1 PM so to catch the Castle Tour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! We are so glad you had a great time at Glen Eyrie, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have had several "high teas" while living overseas so I did have certain expectations that were not met in regard to the food and drink that was served. That aside it is a lovely setting and structure. If one could afford to be an overnight guest I would imagine one's stay would be quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again, perhaps as an overnight guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you have an opportunity to stay in the Castle don't pass it by! We had the top room in the tower and it is beautiful. A perfect place for a romantic getaway with your spouse. The afternoon Tea is excellent as is the service from the entire Glen Eyrie staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here and we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Va
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Long time resident of Colorado and finally made it to the castle. Though not really a castle it is an impressive stone mansion. Tea service was great and the tour was wonderfull (althought it is enhanced with religious rethoric). General Palmer was really something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We are so glad that you had the opportunity to come here for the tea and tour. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had our family reunion here. The grounds are beautiful!! The rooms in the Oaks Lodge were ok, a bit dated and the building is showing some wear, but we honestly didn't spend that much time in our rooms. We all stayed together in the lodge and use the conference room there for our get togethers. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The ladies went to tea and had a great time and made a great family memory. Most of us did some hiking and sight seeing on the grounds. What a peaceful, relaxing location.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at Glen Eyrie for your family reunion! Your thoughts are important to us as we continually strive to improve the guest experience.

We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center

Address: 3820 North 30th Street, Colorado Springs, CO 80934
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
Glen Eyrie Castle Hotel Colorado Springs
Glen Eyrie Castle And Conference Center
Glen Eyrie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.