We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views and Restful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center
Save
You added Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center to your Saves list
3820 North 30th Street, Colorado Springs, CO 80934   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Views and Restful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our family enjoyed a great time at Glen Eyrie nestled next to the Garden of the Gods in CO Springs. The castle was beautiful! The rooms were average but the awesome surroundings made up for it. The staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious! This was our second time there and the last time 14 yrs. ago. They have done a fantastic job of renovating many area on the huge property. Well worth your visit! Did I say a very restful and peaceful resort!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
19
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I attended an Innovo retreat at Glen Eyrie. The morning and evening devotional times were just enough to jump start the rest of the day. We came away spiritually refreshed. Stayed at The Oaks. Comfortable, simple retreat-accomodations. Food was good. The valley is beautiful, restful and unique.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here on July 20 and 21st booking 4 rooms each night when most other hotels were booked in CO Springs. The scenery and hiking trails are EXCELLENT! Bighorn sheep even walked right up to our lodge (Oaks Lodge). The breakfast at the Castle is magnificant. The AC in the rooms in Oaks Lodge ran around 60 degrees - we like it cold! This place is probably the most underrated place in all of Colorado. I can't believe you get so much for the price (we paid around $100 per night only - including breakfast. The staff is incredibly polite upon check-in. There is great gate security as well. Our lodge had a kitchen and laundry room in it. The rooms are large. You are only 2 mn from Garden of the Gods and about 5 mn. from Flying W Ranch attraction. However, with all the hiking trails and rock monoliths on the property, you have your 'Garden of the Gods' right on site. Spectacular!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Due to the destruction of last year’s Waldo Canyon Fire, the danger to hikers at Glen Eyrie is too great to allow the public on our trails. NO PUBLIC HIKING will be permitted on Glen Eyrie property until further notice. We apologize for the inconvenience, and encourage you to check our website for any future policy updates (www.gleneyrie.org/hiking). We hope you’ll still consider coming for a visit and checking out the many other wonderful things that Glen Eyrie has to offer, such as an afternoon tea, a tour of the castle or relaxing in our bookstore/café. We look forward to seeing and serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I attend an annual conference at Glen Eyrie every 4th of July. This year was the 4th year the conference was at the Glen. The conference is a family retreat that approximately 300 people attend. We had booked the whole campus.

PROS:

*Some* of the rooms. I have stayed in many of their lodgings over the years. Eagle's Nest, the Pink House, and the Castle are great! The others are just OK.

Conference Staff (in general). I know we are a very picky bunch, and Glen Eyrie always does a great job of catering to our special needs. Thanks to Denae for the great work!

The Campus. I love the setting, and the security & safety are fantastic.


CONS:

A/V Staff. Every year, our conference has had issues with the A/V people. They are EXTREMELY picky about policies and regulations. You can't use your own projector, and they don't provide VGA adapters for Mac users. They need to inspect your device (such as a laptop) about half a day in advance before you can use it. And yet they still mess some things up.

Lodging Rules. This is a minor drawback, but some lodgings (like the Pink House) have caretakers of varying quality. Two years ago, the caretakers were great! But this year, the caretaker had some strict rules (take your shoes off when you enter the building?) that seem out of place in a business/conference center environment.


Overall, a great place to have a conference. Just get some better A/V staff.

Room Tip: Eagle's Nest is newly remodeled: Great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at Glen Eyrie! It’s always a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to having you back in the future. Thank you also for sharing your thoughts regarding the Audio Visual services we offer. We would like to update you on some of our current policies regarding A/V services at Glen Eyrie to help you better understand what we offer and why.

We generally do not allow people to bring their own projectors into rooms where we already have equipment available to use, this is because it helps to keep the costs down and it enables us to offer better service to our guests. We do provide VGA adapters for Mac users for no charge (although we encourage people to bring their own adapters because we don't have an unlimited supply). Lastly, we only need to have laptops brought to us in advance if they are using them in the Great Hall, that way we can hook them into our system and get everything working. We usually just ask that presenters arrive an hour or so early just to ensure that we can fix any technical problems that might arise. We hope this information is helpful to you and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed two nights at Glen Eyrie on a vacation celebrating 20 years of marriage. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The grounds are a true gem, with trails around the grounds for every type of hiker. We plan on coming back and bringing our four kids next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Glen Eyrie!
However, due to the destruction of last year’s Waldo Canyon Fire, the danger to hikers at Glen Eyrie is too great to allow the public on our trails. NO PUBLIC HIKING will be permitted on Glen Eyrie property until further notice. We apologize for the inconvenience, and encourage you to check our website for any future policy updates (www.gleneyrie.org/hiking). We hope you’ll still consider coming for a visit and checking out the many other wonderful things that Glen Eyrie has to offer, such as an afternoon tea, a tour of the castle or relaxing in our bookstore/café. We look forward to seeing and serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My Fiance and I came across this beautiful castle and really wanted to get married at this venue more than any of the other places we looked at. The drive, the view, everything about this venue is breath taking....HOWEVER my experience with the people at this venue was unprofessional and closed minded AND there are several catches that they don't mention.

First catch: you are paying for 2 venues even if you are only using 1, so instead of the $3,500 that they mention on their website it is actually $7,000 JUST FOR THE VENUE!! Their explanation was that in case of rain you need a back up place to have. My fiance then asked what if we just used the indoor wedding venue for the ceremony and reception and never use the outside, would that make a difference and she said no still $7,000. No refund for the venue either if it doesn't rain you are still paying for 2 venues.

Second Catch: No alcohol on the premises they do not have it mentioned at all on the website. A dry wedding never bothered us, but it does for some.

Third Catch: You must sing an affirmation that you are a Christian and that you have the same beliefs that were listed on the page. NEVER MENTIONED UNTIL YOU RECEIVE THE CONTRACT. Now I am a christian, but I felt like I was pushed into a certain corner because I HAD to have the same belief systems that they did. It made me extremely uncomfortable that in order for me to get married I had to sign a paper (which was never mentioned to me or my fiance during the meeting) that we had to be Christians of their belief system, but not ours. Morally I think it is wrong, this is my wedding day not my baptism, I am an adult and have my own belief system and didn't feel that they respected me as a christian.

I wish I didn't leave this kind of review about this venue because it is very beautiful, but I felt that I needed to share my own experience with this place. Unfortunately we had to have our wedding there after then singing. It was a very very beautiful day and still had the best wedding because of the people I shared it with, but there was still a very unsettling feeling about the place after all of those experiences.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your experience at Glen Eyrie. We strive for excellence at Glen Eyrie and we are truly sorry that your experience was less than excellent. Please allow us to clarify some of our current policies and where you can find this information on our website. We have made every effort to inform the public of our alcohol-free policy, as well as the policy of agreeing with our statement of faith in order to get married at Glen Eyrie. We currently make all of this information available on our website so that nothing is unclear.

We apologize if these policies came as surprises to you and weren't clearly presented at the time of your wedding. We are in the process of updating our wedding package prices, so the best way to get clear information about what we offer is to call our wedding planner, who would be happy to help those interested in a wedding at Glen Eyrie.

We hope that you still had a memorable and beautiful wedding day, despite the disappointment you experienced, and we would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future! We are always striving to improve the guest experience here, and take all guest comments seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Glen Eyrie is a beautiful castle right in/ next to the Garden of the Gods NP. It was authentic and honest, not disneyfied. Though B&B is not they're mainstay business, we were well cared of and the accommodation was clean and quiet. Perfect couples retreat.
The grounds offer lovely hiking trails for all levels.
Don't be put off by the strong religious theme on the website, this is not obvious when you stay there unless your looking for it.
Breakfast was simple, but plentyful - perhaps not as fancy as the surroundings and didn't quite match the cost of the delux suite rooms, but fair for other accommodations on site. Would certainly reccomend Glen Eyrie and will love to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Glen Eyrie!
However, due to the destruction of last year’s Waldo Canyon Fire, the danger to hikers at Glen Eyrie is too great to allow the public on our trails. NO PUBLIC HIKING will be permitted on Glen Eyrie property until further notice. We apologize for the inconvenience, and encourage you to check our website for any future policy updates (www.gleneyrie.org/hiking). We hope you’ll still consider coming for a visit and checking out the many other wonderful things that Glen Eyrie has to offer, such as an afternoon tea, a tour of the castle or relaxing in our bookstore/café. We look forward to seeing and serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center

Address: 3820 North 30th Street, Colorado Springs, CO 80934
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#32 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 104
Also Known As:
Glen Eyrie Castle Hotel Colorado Springs
Glen Eyrie Castle And Conference Center
Glen Eyrie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Eyrie Castle & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.