We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds me of home in upstate NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back East Bar & Grill

Back East Bar & Grill
9475 Briar Village Pt, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
719-264-6161
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 1,062 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Reminds me of home in upstate NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

While my son was a cadet at USAFA, we discovered this place. The pizza and beef-on-weck were the closest to what I remember "back east." Finding really good pizza outside of the upstate NY city I grew up in is always a challenge. Back East Bar and Grill's pizza is exactly what I remember truly good pizza tasting like. What an enjoyment!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beef on weck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had the opportunity to have a beef on weck this summer in Rochester. This sandwich was even better than I remembered. The Back East's sandwich was the closest I have had when not "back east"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Down Home Friendly Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Back East B&G is a down home friendly place with good food and a great atmosphere. It’s not a large place, with a central bar and surrounded by about 20-25 tables. It is very football oriented with its decorations which I liked. There is a area for a band to play, but not one there when we were there. The restraint was very busy and not an open seat in the place. Drinks are reasonable priced but the food will get me to go back. It has an extensive menu at good prices. The sandwiches that we had for dinner were both very good, but the spicy potato tot was incredible. Looking at what other patrons were eating, the pizza also looked very good, and very large. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“solid bar for drinks and live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

They have the typical bar food as well as more restaurant style meals. I usually get the chicken cheese steaks. They also had a live band that was good. The service as also good. They have multiple TVs for watching sports. I have watched a few NHL playoff games there. It has a good and welcoming vibe.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our Meet Up at Briargate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Cheers of Briargate. Get in early and enjoy the crowd and great food.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back East Bar & Grill also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Back East Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back East Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.