We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian options, fresh & hot, great friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill

Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill
2130 Southgate Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-2683
719-227-9956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #261 of 1,062 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options, fresh & hot, great friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

WOW! What a find at the Promenade Shops at Briargate. Great options for vegetarians. Falafel that was flavorful and delicious. The falafel platter was fantastic and my husband loved the falafel sandwich. The staff was friendly, helpful and offered free samples. The homemade chips, hummus, and rice were fantastic. A great place for a home cooked meal, with fresh veggies, and great atmosphere. Can't wait till they come to my hometown!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“For fast food there's no where better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This relatively new chain, which originated in Denver, has quickly become my favorite! It is fast food that not only do my husband and I both like, but don't feel guilty after eating. As with many modern fast food concepts, they put together your order right in front of you so you can select what you want. They have everything from kebabs (their latest add) to salads to pitas and wraps. My personal favorite order is soup and a half pita as allows me to feel like I got to try two entrees in one meal without getting too much! The staff is always pleasant and the restaurants always clean. Make sure to try the falafel they offer (yummy) and get a "club card" as doesn't take too long to get to a free entree! They also do catering (if only they delivered I'd be using them for all my workday lunch functions). I just want them to expand faster as when I'm on travel out of the state, I miss them terribly as a quick but healthy meal option!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perhaps the Healthiest Fast Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Colorado "chain" restaurant, and I have been to both the Southgate and the Shops At The Bluffs stores. Both are identical. Super nice people enthusiastically offer you a falafel to try, and offer to explain the menu to you. It's not that complicated, working like a Chipotle or Qdoba: choose a pita (both white and whole wheat are excellent), laffa (more like a tortilla than a real laffa, avoid unless you want a "burrito"), or plate (w/ pita on the side). Choose to add a major food: falafel, chicken shawarma (more like spiced white meat chicken, than actual shawarma), steak shawarma, portobello mushroom, etc., and then add as much extra stuff as you want (some are extra cost, most are not). Terrific at any level, and all foods are labeled as to gluten free, dairy-free, etc. For $3 you can add a side (about 5 options) and a drink. Chips are great, and so is the mint-lemonade. You can try ANYTHING simply by asking. Haven't tried the kabobs (chicken or steak).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Everything is fresh. You feel good after eating here. My only complaint would be that the people that work here talk fast in their Mediterranean Cuisne speak and I am unfamiliar with some of the foods. It is clean and the service is good. They are always staffed up and they give you samples!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Cure For America...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

So most people go to McDonalds because it is fast...but it is terrible for you, the staff can be rude, the picture lied to you haha. Garbanzo's could be the cure for Americans...it is fast and healthy. I went in right after it opened and was greeted with a big smile and was asked how my day was doing. Then I was given many options and suggestions (Including a cost effective one). Then when I got the food it was very good (especially for fast food). I would still say go to Taste of Jerusalem if you are in it for the atmosphere, authenticity, and selection...but this place is great too! They had seats set up outside in October still but they might have brought them in for winter.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garbanzo Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.