We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST MALTS - GENEROUS PORTIONS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gunther Toody's

Gunther Toody's
5490 E Woodmen Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-8067
719-548-1955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 1,061 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: American
Description: 2 locations in Colorado Springs--the other one is on Powers
Restaurant details
Description: 2 locations in Colorado Springs--the other one is on Powers
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEST MALTS - GENEROUS PORTIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I agree. We had the best malt of our lives at Gunther's in Colorado City. And the extra was in one of those chilled metal containers. I had a 1/3 lb burger with teriyaki sauce and a slice of pineapple. Yum. There was a mountain of fries on my plate. I couldn't eat it all. Add the nostalgic music to the blend for a bonus. Next time we are near Colorado Springs, we'll definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not our best!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved the set up of the restaurant but that was really it. Food was OK nothing to brag about. The waitress we had was average but didn't seem to put in that extra effort on anything.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Funky food, annoying service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Upon entering we were Hollered at to take a seat at the second booth from across the restaurant. Then we listen to three different waitresses talk about how the boss wants them to great the customers better (hollering at me from Across the restraunt is not an acceptabl greeting in my opinion). The throughout the meal we had to listen to the waitresses holler at the new customers that came in. The coffee was terrible, the gravy tasted as if a dirty dish cloth was dropped in it. I do not know what was on my toast, oil? It was very shiny and I was afraid to eat it. I was very dissapointed in this place and will not be coming back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Love this place. We went to the one on Woodman near Powers and the restaurant was friendly and good food. You really got your money's worth. They offer Kids eat Free on Mondays so if you have kids, a great place to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chicken fried chicken, eggs, bacon, toast for under $8 - can't be beat! Eggs were a bit overdone but chicken was very good. Also enjoyed a pumpkin shake - tasty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunther Toody's also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Gunther Toody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunther Toody's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.