We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with a couple of complaints.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Colorado Springs

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Colorado Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 Garden of the Gods Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80907 (Formerly AmeriSuites Colorado Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #19 of 105 hotels in Colorado Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice with a couple of complaints.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Overall a very nice place to stay. When we made our reservation I asked for a room with a view with a quiet location. The view is there but the window was too clouded with condensation between the glass panes to look through clearly. The room lacks a microwave, safe and storage. The Hyatt Place's location is somewhat difficult to get in and out of due to traffic and non obvious entrance. You can drive through adjacent parking lots to avoid the traffic. Everything is clean and comfortable. We listed it as average overall due to location and the lack of storage within the room. The staff was very helpful and considerate.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    120
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
111
77
4
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel was very nice. Upon arrival I was met by BJ who was very helpful and gave a quick tour of the amenities the hotel offered. The room we stayed in was like a suite. It had comfortable beds, a sectional couch, and a bar area with a sink and refrig. The room was extremely clean and had an updated decore. After a great nites sleep, the newspaper was waiting at my door. The breakfast was great and the staff, once again, was on top of it. When the coffee ran out, they had more coffee ready to go. I would stay here again if I go back to Colorado Springs. The only thing that I would mention is that the pool at this hotel is a little small.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We chose the Hyatt expecting it to be great because of the Hyatt name. We show up and our room has a carpet dryer in it and smells like mold. The staff apologized and takes the dryer out. We come to find out, after kicking off our shoes and attempting to relax a bit, that the carpet is SOAKED from the bathroom and all around the beds. We again talk with the front desk and are told there is nothing they can do because they were fully booked. Since we had booked through hotels.com, they could not refund us or give us a discount either. We were forced to stay in a wet carpeted, moldy room through the night. When they switched us rooms the next day, the next room smelled the same.

Even without this fiasco, the hotel was very fake. You can tell it was once a motel 8 or another motel of that sort and was turned into a Hyatt. The paint jobs are messy, the bedding is cheap, overall just a nightmare. DO NOT STAY HERE! Just because it has the Hyatt name does not mean it is the best choice!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on the convenient location to my sister's wedding. My father and brother got a room as well. I was impressed by the photos on the website, but I know how easy it is to make anything look good. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel like valued and welcome guests. Every staff member had a smile and sincerely wanted to know if we were enjoying our stay. The room was spacious and best of all the bed was comfortable. The location was perfect for exploring the garden of the gods. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed here late June 2011. This was my first experience with a Hyatt Place and it was generally a positive one. Arrived during heavy traffic time and finding the right drive was a little tricky as hotel is set back behind some other businesses, and had to cross heavy oncoming traffic after turning off of I-25 onto Garden of the Gods Road. However, once we located the correct drive and traffic let up some, it was okay. Staff was friendly, polite, efficient and helpful. Room was larger than most--a welcome surprise. It had a big couch in the living area that was a little separate from the beds. The living area also had a sink with counter, desk, etc. The bathroom was VERY small, but the dressing area was separate from the tub, and that was great, as was the extra mirror above the sink in the living area. These areas made getting dressed easier, as we had 3 in our party! The rooms need a little attention and updating. They were clean, but a little attention to things like a few specks of chipped paint would help give it a more welcoming feel (others in my party didn't even notice these chips, so they were not large spots). We had a beautiful mountian view (be sure to ask for this). They were booked full while we were there, but we didn't experience any noise issues. The breakfast area was full the next morning (full house and popular breakfast time). Some groups were seemingly not conscious that there were other people waiting and occupied several tables for an inconsiderate length of time. This is not the hotel's fault, and food was replenished regularly. The breakfast consisted of standard fare--pasteries, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, sausage gravy, etc. Pool was outside, but we didn't use this or the exercise room, so I can't comment on those areas. Free wifi; experienced no connection or speed issues. In general, our stay was pleasant, and would stay here again, but it is definitely scaled-down from a full-service Hyatt, and needed a little attention to some small details, but nothing major and nothing to be concerned about.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We loved this hotel. The location was minutes from Garden of the Gods and everything else we needed. The rooms are so spacious - which we needed for our 3 active kids. The lobby is so inviting - breakfast is great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights on business and it was a very comfortable trip.
Room was exactly what I expected from Hyatt Place, partially separated living/work area comfortable bed but a very small bathroom. Room was generally clean when I arrived (but not scrupulously so) only real cleaning issue I had was that the door to the bathroom needed a wipe down that it never got. WiFi had good penetration to the 4th floor.
Front desk was very pleasant and helpful, there was an issue at check in with the credit card system that was handled quickly and professionally. Wish they could have made some better recommendations for food in the area, but that's what yelp and tripadvisor are there for anyway. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful with a hot option alternating between oatmeal and biscuits and gravy.
Last 2 days of my stay, a large youth group descended on the hotel and proceeded to occupy all available lobby space and food during breakfast, but staff admirably kept everything in order. Rooms are really quiet (other than a noisy AC), and I never heard the additional guests while in my room.
To know
- Elevators are quite hot and do have a slight odor.
- Not directly accessible from freeway, only entrance is from Garden of the Gods Rd.
- Bathrooms are quite small (sink and counter is outside the bathroom proper)

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view, other option is highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Colorado Springs

Address: 503 Garden of the Gods Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80907 (Formerly AmeriSuites Colorado Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#17 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#30 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Colorado Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only four miles from downtown Colorado Springs and just 10 miles from Pikes Peak, the Hyatt Place Colorado Springs/Garden of the Gods hotel is centrally located to popular area attractions including Manitou Springs, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and the U.S. Olympic Training Center. Additional Colorado Springs attractions include World Arena, Cave of the Winds and five area public golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Hyatt Place
Hyatt Colorado Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Colorado Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.