We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
8330 Razorback Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
719-265-6227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 1,181 restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dumfries
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Well worth a visit, novelty with the waitress demonstrating the different sauces with the extra hot available on request! I had a starter for a main and the serving was still too much! Ribs large but delicious and pulled pork worth a try.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    25
    20
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had never eaten at a Famous Daves before. Ordered ribs (supposed to be their famous dish) and brisket. The brisket was the best I've ever had -- seasoned perfectly and so moist. Ribs were only ok -- a little tough for me -- I prefer the falling off the bone tenderness. Really good fries.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channahon, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More hype than it really is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Restaurant looks nice. Hostess was very friendly. Food was good but not outstanding. The mac and cheese has corn and jalapenos in it. Who does that? The beans have jalapenos and the mashed potatoes have garlic. Nothing is plain except the corn on the cob. Beware if you don't like spicey food. New beer can chicken was just ok. Ribs were good but the sauce was either too spicey or just plain. Our server was horrible. Never came back to the table until the end of the meal and then asked if we needed another drink. When I called her out of her service she just said "oh, ok". We left no tip. Manager came over and another server brought our bill. Never did get an apology from the server.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food, Not Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Visited with a friend and ordered the 2 meat combination which was tasty, but I noted that my entree...which I paid 3 additional dollars for had less meat than my friends entree which was a 1 meat entree.
There are better values at local BBQ's Front Range and Bird Dog

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knob Noster, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh... Em... Gee!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Usually when I go to a restaurant, a couple of things are pretty good and a few things are great. This place does it all right. From their appetizers, meals, desserts, and drinks, they have perfected everything. I need one of these places in my backyard. And if you are a pecan pie lover, you will be in heaven with theirs. Portions are big and there is plenty to share with the people you are sitting with. Prices are great and staff is amazingly friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.