We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Downtown, friendly and helpfull staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Akron, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient to Downtown, friendly and helpfull staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Clarion Hotel. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They recommended some good eateries in the area. The hotel is about a 1/2 mile from the downtown area. I elected to take their complimentary shuttle instead of driving. My room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had variety and was not your typical fare. It was more of a full breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. Internet signal was strong which is a major plus. Overall a vey good stay and I will be back the next time I return.

Room Tip: I would request a room off of their courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. The entire staff is delighted that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed our amenities as well. We hope to see you again in the future.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    35
    31
    36
See reviews for
77
55
31
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. On the first night we noticed someone had left their dirty dishes in the hall. They were still there when we checked out. Most of the staff was rude. Also, even though we left a do not disturb sign on the door one day they still came into the room. They made the bed and took our towels. We did get more. It was just the violation I didn't appreciate.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the way you felt you were treated during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the management staff who will help ensure that service attitudes improve and other details you mentioned are not missed.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room is on the older and cheaper side but overall was ok. The night rate include breakfast and wifi which is a good plus.
However the staff is less than professionnal. I woke up not feeling good at all and went to the front desk to ask where to find a doctor on a sunday. The answer I got is : not here. I insisted and he told me the address of the ER. I had to aks 3 times for him to actually write down the address and not do a drawing not understandable at all of the itinary. What does he expect ? That I know the area ? And while writing, he was laghing and singing while I was clearly not feeling good. All that trouble to realize once I got out of the hotel driving for the hopsital that there were an emergency care clinic on the block open on Sundays. That was that complicated to mention it ?? Unfortunately you never know what kind of staff you will find even if the hotel is acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our deepest apologies for not having a great stay with us. Every guest matters to us. We will investigate this matter further. Thanks for your feedback.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorful Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The outside was dirty, landscaping was bad, paint was peeling, needless to say we were a bit concerned about what our room would be like?! We PRE-PAID online and it is non-refundable and now we know why they do that! When we walked inside there was another guest yelling at the Front Desk Male Clerk who really seemed to keep his cool. A female clerk came out to help us, she was nice and check-in was easy but as we walked to our room the hallways were hot, the carpet was filthy and the tiles around where we were told breakfast would be was sticky and in desperate need of a mop! The elevator was small and hot too, the door to our room was small, we had booked a King Suite which reminded us of a cheap studio apartment, tan toilet and tub, sinks and tub were slow to drain, but overall we felt our room was clean compared to the public areas of the hotel. Some other positives about the room: The beds were comfortable and there was a good little fridge in there that even had a crisper, and the Wi-Fi worked well! All the staff we encountered was friendly but we had hoped the housekeeping staff would get to the dirty areas before breakfast service started, but that was not the case, floors were still sticky, tables were still dirty (like we saw them the night before) and we were a bit apprehensive about even eating there, but joined the other guests who seemed to be enjoyed themselves and going back for 2nds and 3rds. It was a typical hotel breakfast, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and oatmeal. Nothing exciting or anything to make it stand out from the crowd. This is the second CHOICE HOTEL we have tried this summer and have been disappointed with both of them, think we will stick with the high, consistent standards of the BEST WESTERN BRAND!.

Room Tip: Usually like a top floor with a view, but at this hotel all the first floor rooms had walk out patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our deepest apologies for not having a great stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff's excellent service. Our Maintenance Department is working on improving our landscape and curb appeal. Thanks for your feedback.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The good: the staff is excellent. Everyone we came into contact with was pleasant and helpful, from the folks at the front desk to the young lady who was cleaning up in the breakfast room.

The OK: breakfast was unexceptional, but perfectly acceptable.

The bad: this whole property looks like it's been rode hard and put up wet. Basic maintenance appears to be almost totally lacking. For example:

- exterior paint is peeling and/or missing entirely
- carpets in public areas were filthy, tile was chipped and cracked
- it took us half a dozen tries to get our room door to open every time we went in
- we found a partially-eaten sucker on the shelf by the microwave; in fairness, the rest of the room appeared to be clean
- there were brown stains on the ceiling over the tub
- there was something black on the wall behind the toilet
- the walls looked like they'd been patched, but poorly, and repainted in colors that didn't quite match. There were even areas that were missing paint entirely, like half of the shelf in the closet.
- the only outlet reachable from the beds was an extension cord on the floor.
- my husband had to spend 45 minutes on the phone with tech support to get logged into your wi-fi so that he could get some work done, and even when he finally got logged in, the signal was really weak.
- the room was extremely noisy. We could hear people coming and going all night long. That probably means that the door to the room isn't insulated for sound.
- lighting was inadequate. It was impossible to sit on the sofa (or lie in the sofa bed) and have enough light to read, because there's no lamp at all on that whole side of the room.
- all in all, our impression of the room was that it was just kind of funky

I'm not generally picky about hotel rooms; as long as it's clean and functional, I'm happy, and we've had great experiences at Clarion in the past, (The one in Garden City, KS is outstanding!) But it really annoyed me to pay $140 per night for a room that wasn't as nice as a room I could have had at Motel 6 for $70. We checked out a day early.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you felt our staff provided excellent service and that you also thought the breakfast was sufficient for your needs. We are in the process of improving our property grounds and public spaces. We hope you consider staying with us again in the future.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I called the late afternoon before driving to the hotel and asked for an early check in. The girl up front said that the king rooms were full that night but the earliest we could check in would be 1pm. I had explained to her that I would be on the road for 13 hours and had had been awake that morning since 4am. Taking her word for it, my family and I headed to Colorado Springs after I got off work. We arrived an hour early so we ate at the Denny's across the street until 1pm. So at 1 pm we go to check in and the girl up front tried many times to contact the cleaning crew and had no luck. After an hour of waiting the cleaning supervisor shows up and our room had still not been cleaned. At that point I was frustrated and just wanted to leave but could not get refunded. So we had to wait. I was so tried from being awake for almost 36 hours. Finally around 3pm (normal check in time). We were able to get our room. The girl up front handled my frustration well and the maintenance guys that helpped with our luggage were awesome and very friendly. Even though the outside, just off property, was a little spooky I felt secure within the hotel. Not a bad place to stay just not where I would stay next time. Sorry.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that you liked the king suite room and have noted your comments regarding wait time at check-in.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Customer service was awful & when I talked to the manager (Savannah?), she said we would get 2000 Choice Rewards points, but she did not follow thru on her promise! We were consequently unhappy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Your points will be added to your Choice Privileges Account as promised. Thanks for your patience.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.