We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #50 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Charleston, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The room was clean and the breakfast was good, however, the room needed a lot more lighting as the little bit of lighting in the room was not nearly bright enough. Water running in other rooms was clearly heard in our room. Analog channels only on the tv. The water temperature in the shower kept changing from hot to cold and no other water was being used in our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback about the cleanliness of our hotel and quality of our breakfast. I will also share your comments regarding the water temperature with our Facilities Manager so we can resolve this issue.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    91
    42
    33
    37
See reviews for
87
57
35
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came with a large group and booked weeks in advance. To start they cancelled our reservations without our notice or permission. When we finally got things squared away we found that one of our rooms was not what we asked for and couldn't fit the amount of people
Needed to stay in there. They promised that they would upgrade our room but never got around to it. So one of our students had to sleep on the floor. In addition to all of this they were out of pillows for the extra students. Front desk staff was rude and unhelpful. Definitely not staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad stay. The cancellation policy stated in our group agreement that your group contact would have signed would have laid out cutoff date or payment terms that would have needed to be met to keep the group rooms you requested. I recall the rooms that were reserved was the major issue. The number of people in your group could not be accommodated in the room type you requested. We were sold out and tried to help by providing your group with roll away beds.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center in Colorado Springs, CO numerous times over the past decade. The hotel never ceases to impress me with the efforts they take to make my stay an enjoyable one. They continue to update the guest rooms and common areas to keep up with the requirements of travelers such as myself. This is the only place to stay downtown as it is convenient, comfortable, and close to everything. As for the staff....they do everything to make you feel at home. From the front desk staff to housekeeping...they always greet you with a smile.

The hotel has great amenities and lots of free parking.

As I said...the place to stay. I just booked again for this upcoming September!!

Room Tip: Stayed in all types of rooms...all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Impressing our guests is what we strive to do every day. We believe it starts with delivering great service and doing our best to provide clean and well maintained accommodations. Thanks for your review.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our recent stay was mediocre. We love Colorado, and now that we have a toddler, returning to the Clarion seemed a wise choice with the prices. The suite we were given was ample in size and just right for our family. However, staff ignored our do not disturb sign and half heartedly cleaned our room the first day. They gave us new towels, but didn't take the used ones on the floor (even tho their bathroom card says they will); and I'm not sure the sheets were changed, but the beds were made. We prefer not to bother hotel staff with cleaning when we're staying a few days, which we know makes things easier for them particularly during a busy season, so why did they ignore our do not disturb? They only did that first day, but I wasn't happy. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired, with recycled food each day and tables that were really filthy from day to day. I even asked the front desk staff to change out some table cloths that hadn't been changed for two days and were covered with coffee, juice and food stains. My overall impression about the staff was that they really just didn't care very much, pleasant though they were. The hotel is older, and the walls are paper thin, so doors closing, people talking, ice machines, and television noises could easily be heard. Other negatives: the hair dryer in our room didn't work. When my husband called to ask for a replacement, the front desk told him there would be a wait since housekeeping didn't keep the hair dryers, only maintenance did and they'd have to call their maintenance staff to find out about them. Why wouldn't guest services/housekeeping keep additional grooming supplies? Also, the sleeper sofa in the living area where our toddler slept was broken. The exterior was a very nice sofa, but the support frame for the bed was broken. We jerry-rigged it each night for our toddler to sleep, and she did okay, but if an adult had to sleep there, it would have been really problematic. It could handle the 27 pounds of our child, but anything more was too much. Additionally, there was a fire in the hotel on one of the days we were there. No fire alarm sounded ever. But "security" (not sure who it was) knocked on our door and asked us to evacuate immediately, which we did. The fire was contained to a small area in the front of the hotel, and the majority of the rooms, if not all were not impacted. However, not all the rooms were evacuated. Approx. 30 minutes after we were told to leave, a family of four came out of the hotel and wondered why all of us were gathered around. It was unclear whether they hadn't been told, or if they simply ignored the order to evacuate. Either way, it's the hotel's responsibility to ensure all guests are evacuated. Without a fire alarm sounding, going from room to room may have proven too difficult for (seemingly) one security person. When we were allowed to return to our rooms, the electricity had been cut to the building, so while I understood the precaution about cutting the power due to the fire, since we saw the workmen who cut the power do it in under 30 seconds, I'm not sure why it took so long for it to be restored. Suffice to say, the price was right, but at what cost overall? I was disappointed. We'll visit Colorado again, but find accommodations elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you do choose this hotel, the corner suites 116, 216 and 316 are the largest on the property. Liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for pointing out that we offer great family value at our hotel. We are sorry that your stay was not great and will use your feedback to improve our overall guest experience. Having said that, the fire that happened took place in one of our meeting rooms on the 2nd Floor which is not connected to any guest rooms. We followed proper protocol for this type of emergency. We called each guest room and had management team members go to each room and knock on the door. This was done multiple times throughout this emergency situation. This is one of the reasons why no one was hurt in the fire and we were able to continue with normal operations on the same day.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado springs
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While traveling with a large group through Colorado, we stayed at this hotel. Overall our experience here was great! No one complained about the rooms and everyone loved the breakfast. Our check in and out was quick and easy considering how big of a group it was thanks to Ricardo, the young man who worked the front desk during our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a place to stay while in Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Ricardo. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallsville, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is an older hotel that is made fine by a good staff. The property is kept clean, and two good lads working there, (groundskeepers?) were always grabbing doors for us. We had a king suite that was nice to return to after dusty days in the mountains (fridge, microwave, coffee maker, bar counter). Clarion is right on Interstate 25 and only a mile or two from Highway 24, and downtown is just three minutes away. The hot breakfast in the dining room was nice enough to feature courteous attendants, glassware and china, as to me nothing says you are a bother more than styrofoam and sporks. We enjoyed Colorado Springs and the Clarion helped make that happen.

Room Tip: The King Suites have great room for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. Service makes the difference. Our staff understands this principle and is embracing their roles at the hotel as a calling to serve others.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugoton KS.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is my 2nd stay at Clarion, again thanks to Hotwires mystery deals I got a room here for a 6 night stay, currently on day 4. As other's have stated it is an older establishment however care has been given to the property to keep it appealing. Check in was breeze and the staff was efficient and courteous five minutes max. The room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities one could need, Very nice 42" flat screen, coffeemaker, fridge, and microwave.
One thing I've really enjoyed is the open courtyard with tables and chairs Sat and watched the squirrels scamper among the trees several times while taking a smoke break outside. Large pool hot tub, and exercise room available. Internet was flawless with a strong signal in my room. Breakfast provided each morning, unfortunately it doesn't vary so by the 3rd day it was tiresome. Fresh hot coffee available 24-7 and daily newspapers supplied. Overall a nice refreshing quiet Hotel. The only negatives it get's are it's location! Terrible part of town! I would be scared to walk around in the area after dark. Oh and HOTWIRE if your reading this the establishment is nowhere near what I consider south Colorado Springs it's more downtown!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate your positive and informative review of our hotel. Thanks again.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.