We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not spectacular.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Not bad, not spectacular.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Nice staff, decent breakfast downstairs. Clean enough rooms. But after confirming a late checkout with the front desk twice, housekeeping still tried to come in while I was trying to get ready. Also, there was no ventilation whatsoever in the bathroom, which kinda weird and seems like it would be possibly not up to normal building codes.

Anyway, overall it was fine and we would probably stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your positive review. We strive to deliver friendly and helpful customer service, clean rooms and a well maintained facility. Thanks for giving us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back to our area.


Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    86
    39
    31
    36
See reviews for
80
57
34
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Poor access to ramps from drop off for luggage cart. Poor customer service from desk staff. Small elevators made it hard to get luggage cart in. Door lock did not work properly. We had to be put into another room. We were supposed to have 2nd bed in our room for our kids but the only thing they could give us was a single bed. Pull out the hid-away for kids and it was broken. Kids fell threw the bed in the middle of the night and had to be put on the floor. Plumbing leaked.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are an older property and our guests do sometimes need additional assistance navigating their way through our building. I know that our maintenance team went with you to your room and ensured there were no issues with getting access into your room. You were also moved from the room where you indicate you had problems and we offered you a special discount for a future stay. We hope you take advantage of this offer and give us another opportunity to deliver great service for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed 3 nights with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower worked great and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. Not fancy but enough that we started our day with full stomachs. The location was fantastic just off I-25. They had a business center were we were able to print our boarding passes. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. For the price it was a good find and we will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. The highest compliment we can get is repeat business which is earned by delivering good value and service to our guests. We are happy you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was in town for work and stayed for 2 weeks in March. The front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful. The night staff was particularly so. The hotel is in the middle of some sort of renovation, so some areas are clearly not "done" - such as weird gaps in the ceiling of the pool room and construction debris on the pool deck. Honestly I couldn't tell which rooms were remodeled and which weren't. (The rooms next to me had some painting done while I was there, but other than the door being a different color they looked the same as my 2nd room.)

My first room smelled of smoke and the heater kept cycling - it turns out the glass slider didn't actually close (issue with the track). So cold air kept blowing in the heater, which kicked it on. And smoke was coming in the room from people smoking outside in the courtyard. Also there was no shower curtain. Considering I had a 2 week reservation and the hotel was rather empty I'm not sure why they put me in a "not ready" room. The next day I was moved to a new room with a working (closing) window (and a shower curtain). But there was no bedspread or cover on the duvet. I asked about it (twice) but it never appeared, so I stopped worrying about getting the duvet dirty from putting stuff on the bed. I also had to ask for clean towels one day, my room was never made up at all another day, my bed was not made up a different day. Generally just very spotty housekeeping service.

Breakfast is all fat, artificial sweeteners, and carbs. Since I have food allergies there wasn't anything there I could eat other than hard boiled eggs and fruit (if there was any). And no decaf coffee. So I stopped checking.

I was fortunate that there were no groups of young people in my area of the hotel. At some points there were large groups, and they apparently were very noisy and inconsiderate of other guests.

Oh, and the wifi was INCREDIBLY spotty. It worked fine the first week, and was completely broken at least 50% of the time the second week. Even during our meeting, when we were told they were making special effort to keep it up and running, it was unreliable.

Overall:
- breakfast not worth eating
- pool and spa were great, but area had sketchy debris and was clearly unfinished
- room was fine (once i switched)
- housekeeping varied from great to non-existent
- wifi varied from great to non-existent
- location was very convenient
- front desk staff helpful (but did not always have influence over housekeeping)

Room Tip: Rooms on courtyard have no street noise, but smokers go out there so if you open the window you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us for two weeks in March! Yes, we are finishing up our pool project and adding final touches to all guestrooms in preparation for Peak Season. This includes the addition of a new Bistro C Restaurant Concept which will provide better quality food items for breakfast and dinner. We were experiencing internet issues during your stay due to outages but we were also in the process of adding additional bandwidth to our Internet which has now been completed. Finally, we have added new staff that provide great service but are still learning the ropes. I will touch base with all Department Managers regarding your feedback and we will focus on delivering better service.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

So I will do this review on this hotel with pros and cons lists just to clarify.

Pros:
Great decor
Wonderful Service that helped us decide the restaurant we are going to.
Decent breakfast
Best sleep we had on our entire tour Colorado trip.
Great pool with great area (minus cons about it)
Everything else was THE BEST!!!!!

Cons:
Cheerios outside of a room on 2nd floor for 2/3 of our trip.
No towels in pool area and when called to restock gave had towels Day 1 but Day 2 worked fine.
Breakfast wasn't anything fancy except for what it looks like

We will stay here the next time we are in Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: The pool is rather cold, so don't be prepared for a warm pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with great objective feedback about your stay at the property which will be used to make our team better. We firmly believe that delivering superior service makes the difference between a good stay and a great stay. Our hotel team is extremely happy that you had a great stay overall. Thanks and much appreciated that we have earned the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had a nice, clean room. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet has quite a few items to choose from. This hotel is conveniently located...just a short walk to the downtown area. I very much enjoyed my week long stay here and would definitely stay here again when visiting my son and his family in Colorado Springs. It is a good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for the positive review. We are delighted that you had a great service experience at our hotel during your week long stay in Colorado Springs, Colorado. We look forward to serving you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past 5 years. Great rooms, comfortable beds, nice courtyard and pool, yummy free breakfast, free wi-fi, close and accessible to all the attractions that CO Springs has to offer, in close walking distance to Downtown CO Springs and many restaurants, etc. We LOVE staying here, the Staff is so friendly and helpful it's like seeing good friends every year. Looking forward to this year!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the positive review. We highly value the relationship that we have developed with you over the years and are delighted for another opportunity to host you and your family again later this year.


Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.