We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Greenwood, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretty Good Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is combined with a Quality Inn, it is quite confusing and there is only 1 door that doesn't have stairs to go down to get in the the rooms from either hotel including getting to an elevator. The front desk and restaurant attendants were very friendly and helpful. The room was good, the bed was very comfortable and over all our stay went well. I would stay here again, if I recomended it to anyone I would want to tell them about the unusual combination of 2 hotels together.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for doing the review on our hotel. We look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you back to Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    85
    38
    31
    36
See reviews for
80
57
33
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wilmette
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were in Colorado Springs for the Memorial of our brother in law, a beloved professor from Colorado College. Our room was clean and comfortable. We were there for 3 nights and had a delicious full breakfast every morning. I swam in the indoor pool which was a perfect temperature. The hot tub was available, which I skipped. It didn't hurt to have a view of the mountains as I swam! The front desk was very helpful in providing the tooth brushes which we forgot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to do a review. We are always mindful to treat the guests coming through our doors like family and we strive to make each one feel special. We know that offering a kind word or giving a warm smile can make the difference in a persons day. We hope that we were able to provide you with some comfort during your time of Memorial to your Brother in Law.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. Close to downtown. Elevators could have been a little closer to the back doors.nice and quiet floors. Front desk staff was very polite. Would definitely stay here again. Pool was nice. Lots of parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks again for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. We appreciate your comments as we strive to deliver great guest experiences every day! .

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After a horrible visit to another hotel we were treated like royalty here. Great rooms, great location, great breakfast. Pool was a little cold for some of my family but I enjoyed it. We had 3 rooms, one of the rooms had a stool that would not stop running. They fixed it immediately. The front desk people were all very helpful with any questions, Especially Gloria. She was fabulous at check in and out.

Room Tip: first floor inside rooms have sliding glass doors that open into big courtyard. We went room to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very happy that you had a great stay with us!! Thanks again for taking the time to do a review for us and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Here are the positives about this hotel:
1. Location - a pleasant, 1 mile walk, largely through Monument Creek Park to Colorado College. Easy access to downtown, I-25 and Manitou Springs
2. For its size, the fitness center was quite decent, with a compact, but large weight station, excellent mats and several aerobic machines.
3. Mon - Thurs late afternoon drinks on the house, which include not just beer/wine, but also vodka, gin and other mixed drink options. The (single) 'snack' option to go with drinks is paltry, insufficient, though.
4. Shaun, who seems to run the breakfast area weekends/Mon, and is the one shining star among the otherwise indifferent staff

After that, it is all downhill. This hotel has a serious problem with staff attitude and customer service. We are chain motel junkies, have realistic expectations, and tip well and often, including always to housekeeping, every day that they attend to the room.

Hotel physical plant is dingy and in need of remodeling. Not such a big deal to me, to have cracked plaster in the bathrooms and scratched up toilet seats - but there is no space to put anything - No counter space - essentially a pedestal sink with narrow counter around sink - teeny tiny table in the room, hanger hooks missing hangers, and TV, microwave, coffee tray all piled up on narrow dresser top. Housekeeping was consistently hit or miss - sometimes no bath mat, no new soap, coffee pot/mugs not cleaned; When addressed at all, used coffee mugs were not changed for clean ones (ever! in 1 week!) but washed (how?) by the staff by hand at the tiny, inadequate bathroom sink, where there is literally no room to set anything down, once our toiletries were squeezed in.

Breakfast bar is standard, adequate but not great, motel hot breakfast fare, but in 1 week stay, there was fresh, cut fruit exactly 1 morning. Otherwise, a bowl of tired apples and bananas. Prominent sign & breakfast card state "Gratuity not included" - and large tip jar set out - but with the notable exception of Shaun, - the staff are either walking zombies, or, if asked a question, obsequious in tone in a very much non-genuine manner.

Front desk: wow. This is where customer service should shine, and it was where we had our worst problems - I do believe, it is primarily young, immature and poorly trained, poorly supervised staff, and for this perhaps it is a General Manager problem.
We had 3 separate issues and events occur, the most serious one being the need to have a COLD refrigerator waiting in a room occupied by a family member needing to keep an injectable med cold - for which we called ahead day of arrival, during which frustrating phone call, (front desk staff clearly multi-tasking, not listening) - arrived to find: refrigerator not only not cold, it was turned off, with door ajar!
The other 2 issues included prolonged loss of internet service (actual hotel-internet connection, not wireless!) during prime evening hours, on 3 separate days - but the main point wasn't the problem so much as: staff attitude and response. This staff does not know how to portray that they understand the inconvenience to a customer, and that full effort to a solution is being sought (which, granted, is hard to do, when you're smirking at a text message on your cell phone while the hotel guest is standing in front of you).

There are many other more pleasant places to stay in the Springs - and getting around is so easy - just a few minutes from Garden of the Gods exit up the freeway, for example - that the location is just not worth the poor experience. Unless you only plan to stay one night and need to walk to CC or downtown, it is just not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I appreciate the thoughtful and balanced feedback that you have provided. I offer my deepest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. I prefer to resolve issues while guests are staying at the property and would have definitely done something if you had contacted me at anytime during your stay. The feedback you have provided will be shared with each department head and they will be held accountable for making improvements to ensure our guest experiences are better. We are not perfect but definitely making tremendous service strides in every department and this has been echoed by other guest who have done recent reviews of our property on TripAdvisor. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to host you and your family should you come back to Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Sincerely,

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I hauled all my luggage into the lobby only to find out that I would have to haul it all back out and drive around to the back of the building. I was on second floor so I had to haul my luggage down a flight of stairs to get to a super small elevator. Once inside the room, I was able to hear conversations of the people next door, above and outside of the door. I was told that this is one of the more quiet rooms! They did upgrade the rooms but didn't really pay attention to details. Putting lipstick on a pig is being mild, however the hotel, rooms and pool were clean. Breakfast was good and free. The pool is large but over-run will kids.
Lastly, my mom accidently left an old, worn out pair of sandals in the room. She called early the next day repeatedly and finally got to talk to someone, only to find out that they couldn't find them. I’m not sure if I’m more upset that they didn't seem to care or that one of the staff “couldn't find” them. Take all your belongings because you won’t see them again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review! We definitely care about all aspects of the service experience we provide to our guests. Your feedback regarding the cleanliness of our hotel, pool and guestrooms is appreciated and a testament that we strive to provide great amenities that our guests can enjoy. Our property is big so we do our best to provide our guests with concise instructions that saves them time getting to their guestroom. Feel free to call me at the number below to discuss the details regarding your mothers items.

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Colorado Springs
719-329-7442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Va
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean rooms, great staff, free breakfast and a couple free drinks at night.....no complaints. I didnt use the pool or sauna but they looked fine. Very nice lobby with a business center and flat screen TVs to while away the hours or wait for you party arrive.

Room Tip: get a room on the courtyard side of the hall...sliding glass doors and tables outside of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. The entire staff is excited that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.