We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We needed a hotel close to Colorado Memorial Hospital. We were quoted over the phone a great rate of $75/night- a hospital discount. That was about all that was good.
The Bad:
The hotel is located right off 25 highway. In a not-so-good part of town. There were several homeless people hanging around behind the hotel.
The breakfast was just OK. Scrambled eggs, sausage, French toast. Sounds good- but it was not. Eggs were watery. I could barely choke down the sausage.
The rooms: we had 2 queens- slept horrible! The shower had hardly any water pressure. We could hear the people in the room above us walking around and we could hear their hair dryer!! UGH!
We were here just to get some rest while being at the hospital all day. (That did not happen)
If we were here in vacation, we would've checked out early and went north on 25 about 5 miles- lots of nicer hotels up there. (Near Air Force Academy)

I gave them 2 stars because of the hospital rate. Otherwise, it would be 1 star.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    93
    42
    33
    38
See reviews for
88
58
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

When I checked in, I was greated by a very nice young lady. Quick check in. I enjoyed the managers reception with the free drinks and snacks. The room was comfortable and clean. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed in June/July 2013. Seems like a lot of the hotel is being updated or renovated, and looks like good improvements. Most of the staff is friendly and accommodating, housekeeping were super friendly. The maintenance crew were also super friendly and helpful. Pool is nice, great for kids, also have a enclosed pavilion area for kids to run or to just hang out outside. Workout room is clean and machines are in good shape. Breakfast is wonderful, a lot of options to choose from! The bedrooms are good size. Parking isn't great, there is a lot of parking availability, but the surrounding area doesn't look the safest and if having to park in the back of the hotel, there should be security cameras or fencing. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and a small park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on having a great breakfast for our guests. The entire team was happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. They gave us a welcome gift bag ( 2waters&2 bags of chips), the garden area was very nice, room nice size, and breakfast was better than average. The only complaint was the bed sagged and could feel the springs, woke up this morning with my hips hurting from the mattress.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. We are happy you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place seems newly renovated and well maintained. The rooms are of good size, nice and clean. The hotel certainly is old but has good solid structure and its recently renovated. Beds are nice, bedding is heavy duty, good pillows. Air condition is also very good. Shower had good force and water was hot right away and during any time. TV was a wide screen. I would have given five star rating if the TV had HD channels also. Hotel folks, I don't understand one thing; you spend so much money on a wide screen tv, why skimp on the content? Its like you have a top of the line cadillac but than you go out and buy the cheapest 82 octane gas! At least have the local channels in HD if nothing else...wifi was fine and had no connectivity issue.
Check in was very efficient, the desk clerk was knowledgable and gave us good tips on parking for Fourth of July fire works at memorial park.
Breakfast was really good. Generally in Clarion, breakfast is not free, but not the case here, it was included in the price. They had plenty of help and they kept it clean and replenished it constantly. The variety was also unusual, the kids were happy.
This place is big with so many rooms, so service could be impersonal, but I had no issues. they seem to get many groups, buses etc. You can hear the group, especially young adults having fun late night...but thats not hotel's fault. Next time, I would ask the desk clerk to give me room away from groups...Parking was ample. Will stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: They seem to have groups, buses etc...so ask for a room away from groups with young adults...they co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, Colorado Springs
719-329-7442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Clarion on Bijou St. is one of the poorer hotel experiences I've had in my nearly 30 years of hotel experiences. The lobby looks nice, but the room was awful, the hotel dirty, the parking insecure, and the management worse. I would avoid this hotel in its current management. Sad to say it, but sleeping in your car might be a better choice.

During the craziness of the Black Forest wildfire evacuation of June 13, 2013, a friend booked a room at this Clarion on Bijou St. for me and my family after trying 10 other places, all fully booked due to the massive evacuations. About 3000 additional folks in our neighborhoods were simultaneously forced to evacuate due to smoke and threat of fire that would eventually consume 500+ of our friends' and neighbors' houses as the most destructive wildfire in Colorado history. My friend used my credit card to reserve a room while I scrambled to evacuate, packing whatever I wanted to keep in the case the wildfire reached our place. My friend mentioned the clerk was a bit of a jerk over the phone, but oh well. I25 was jam packed, black smoke rising signaling another home going up in flames - crazy days. Lets just get through it.

We got to the hotel, and upon entry, the front desk staff was plentiful but inattentive and unresponsive - nobody else checking in at the time, folks not actually visibly doing anything, just one of those places where multiple staff are standing around, and you stand there at the check-in desk for an awkward few moments before anyone decides to acknowledge you standing at the check-in desk or ask if they can help you. Whatever - I just need to get checked in and get updated on the wildfire situation.

Upon check-in, I made my way around back to room 232. There's a grassy area just out back where homeless and vagrants were hanging out. No visible security presence, no fence between the homeless area and the hotel parking lot, not even a chain-link fence - cars in easy reach. The room had a nasty, musty smell. But I tell myself, hey, it's like camping - we'll be fine for one night - it's an emergency - we can find something better tomorrow.

I start-up my laptop to check on things with work, the fires, etc. I'm quite familiar with hotel wireless setups from many years of business travel, and Clarion's wireless internet simply didn't work (and no direct port to plug an ethernet cable into, either). I called the front desk, and the clerk suggested I call their internet vendor support line. I call their internet vendor support number, no answer on multiple calls, 3pm in the afternoon. I call the front desk back, tell them their vendor isn't answering. Staff member courteously says she'll call me right back to troubleshoot. Hours pass. She never did call. No message. And no internet.

That evening, I try to get some rest. The sheets were worn and frayed. The pillows awful. Oh well. It's only one night. The mattress is hard, not as in I-like-a-firm-bed kinda hard, but as in I-feel-the-springs-about-to-bust-through hard - as in we're-really-gonna-get-our-money-out-of-these-mattresses hard. One of those that leave you feeling the owners are squeezing short-sighted profits rather than providing a pleasant stay. Room is cramped as well. At least the TV worked. Just thankful the fire hadn't reached my place yet, and the air is clean enough to breathe, if a bit stinky. It's good to be alive and have my family safe.

Next morning, I pack up and leave to go back and deal with evacuation issues, thinking I only had one night booked, and in my haste, I don't bother going to the front desk to check out. I leave and never return. Not a good hotel, but I'm done with it, and I don't ever have to go back.

My friend who booked the room had asked if it was available for 3 nights, and the clerk had said yes. My friend asked if getting it tonight obligated me to the following nights, and the clerk confirmed that, no, it did not, that I could take care of that after checking in. I thought I'd asked the front desk person about it being only for tonight at check-in, but my memory is unclear, and I absent-mindedly initialed and signed whatever they asked, totally preoccupied with the wildfire burning up our area up north. At least my kids were safe. Our miscommunication in the craziness of the wildfire. Whose fault? Not really sure. It was an absolutely crazy day.

A week later, I see Clarion has charged my card for nearly $400 - for our one night at $109 or some such. I call the manager, "Patty", to explain the situation and ask for consideration given the mix-up in communication and the stressful situation going on with 500+ houses burning down in our area of town, multiple evacations, etc. Patty is rude, simply talking over me as I'm trying to explain our situation, and explains there's really nothing she can (will) do. I ask to speak to her manager. She tells me the manager is busy, but she'll have the manager, Savannah Jarosz, call me to address my concerns by the end of the next day. Not surprisingly, Ms. Jarosz never calls.

The next day, I call back, ask to speak to the Hotel Manager, who is Jerome Hopkins. I explain to Jerome the confusion and miscommunication, explain to him we only used the room for one night, and ask him for consideration of all that and the fact that it's been incredibly crazy dealing with wildfire evacuation. Jerome sympathetically says he's really sorry, that we're all in his prayers, but from that point on, all Jerome wants to focus on is whether or not I signed and initialed the check-in sheet, and what the sheet said. I tell him I indeed did sign/initial something, I'm sure, but that doesn't change the fact that there was a miscommunication, that I only had the room for one night, that he can check with his housekeeping staff to verify, and I again tell Jerome I'm asking for some consideration here as a local business owner, a member of the community, in a very stressful and chaotic situation. Jerome eventually offers customer loyalty points and a free future night. I explain to Jerome I'm not looking for that, I'm asking reasonable consideration of returning my $250 back to me for the nights I wasn't even there. I point out the hotel certainly experienced a significant windfall of profits due to the wildfire evacuation, and that it might actually be good customer service not to hang on with a deathgrip to profits for services not rendered. Jerome is unmoved, but promises to look into whatever paperwork he has. I tell him I'm not making any allegation that his staff did something wrong in the paperwork; it was a miscommunication involving the front desk, myself, and the friend booking the room. It happens. Jerome is unmoved. It's Thursday, and Jerome promises to call me back by Monday end of business at the absolute latest with a definitive answer. I doubt it, sounds like a stall/delay tactic. But that's his word to me, he says.

Friday comes and goes. Monday comes and goes, and not surprisingly, still no call from Jerome. Just before 6pm, I decide to call Jerome. He gets on the phone, and begins to repeat the same questions from our Thursday conversation - did you sign the sheet, did you initial the sheet, etc. It's clear he's going to stick by whatever was signed & initialed without consideration of the extreme circumstances.

I ask him for the name and number of his superior. He says he doesn't really have one. I question this, and he finally says he guesses it'd be the owner, Ted Jarosz. I ask for Mr. Jarosz's number. Jerome says Mr. Jarosz is not in. I say that's fine, I'll call him tomorrow and ask for his number again. Jerome says that's not how it works, that I just need to call back tomorrow to the front desk. I say I'd like to call Mr. Jarosz directly. Jerome says that's not possible. I say I'm getting tired of Jerome's B.S., and Jerome tells me he doesn't have to listen to profanity, and simply hangs up on me.

I call the front desk the next business day to reach the owner, Mr. Jarosz. The front desk clerk forwards me to an unnamed automated voicemail. I call back, ask to speak to Jerome again to get the right number, and the line is busy. I call back again the next day, and the line is still busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome H, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback concerning your stay. I shared your concerns with my staff. I also feel that it is important to point out that we attempted to resolve your concerns with two separate offers. One was for a 50% off discount on a future stay. You live here locally according to your comments so you could take advantage of this offer up to one year from the date you received that offer. We also offered you Choice Privileges points but both solutions were flatly rejected.


Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel and conference Center in Colorado Springs in June 2013. The lobby has been recently renovated and is very attractive for a hotel in this category. There is a nice dining area and a good hot breakfast is provided and included.
On the other hand the rest of the hotel is a dump. Walls all over the place show signs of an aborted remodeling with white plaster in some areas and holes waiting for repairs and others. I did not see any signs of painting or any other attempt to cover up the mess. The rooms are even worse. A quick refresh was apparently done but the shortcoming in maintenance, are very obvious. It simply not acceptable to have a hotel which runs out of hot water morning and evening. The decor is kind of shabby with an obvious surface attempt to make it look better, but no attempt to fix underlying problems like the plumbing and the hardware. Some money was spent to put in new air-conditioning but a lot more work is needed before I would recommend that anyone stay at this place. Do not be fooled by the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your invaluable feedback which will be shared with our maintenance department and entire staff. We take great pride in ensuring that our property is well maintained and our service is exceptional. Feel free to call me at 719.329.7442 if you have additional suggestions or improvement. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Colorado Springs.


Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.