We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some sprucing up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could use some sprucing up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for those who want quick access to the Interstate, downtown, and major attractions like the Cog Railway to Pike's Peak and Garden of the Gods. The hotel itself is quite dated and could benefit from a major renovation/updating, in almost every area. Room was clean enough but housekeeping was stingy with toilet and facial tissue - rarely left an emergency supply. Upholstered chairs were worn and stained. To reach the first-floor rooms you must go down 4 or 5 steps, giving the impression that it is in the "basement" and indeed, it is on one side next to the parking lot where the windows are high on the walls. I would suggest asking for a second-floor room. The inner rooms look out on the courtyard which is meant to be attractive, we think, but it has the appearance of not being manicured for a long time. Abundance of weeds and unkempt grass and shrubs. Better to keep the drapes drawn!
Other evidence of the need for a facelift was the dingy halls. They would benefit from brighter lighting and fresh paint/wallpaper. But not all is negative. The rates are affordable and the breakfast selection is the best we have experienced in this class of hotel. The breakfast room is spacious - no need to wait or dash for a table as soon as it is vacated. The lady working in the breakfast room was pleasant and helpful. With the improvements we suggest, we think this place would attract many more guests.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms should be more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Brulor,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I will share your comments with our staff. We are continually making improvements to the property and your suggestions will be noted. I will share your comments with our chief engineer about the courtyard and chair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    86
    39
    31
    36
See reviews for
80
57
34
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although the lobby and elevator seemed run down, the room was surprisingly very well maintained and nice and clean. We wanted to stay with friends at the Hilton, but it was full. This property was half the price, had just as nice a room and offered a good free breakfast. I think we won on this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Allison,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are continually updating and maintaining parts of the hotel that are showing there wear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenback, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This seemed to be an older hotel, but was very clean. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom was small with a tiny sink without much counter space to put out toiletries, but it was clean. The only drawback I found was in gettin luggage in and out of the hotel using the side entrance. It had steps at the door and we were unable to roll a luggage cart up to the car and into the door. This makes it difficult for anyone travelling alone or someone with a disability. If you go in through the front door, it is flat, but then you have a long meandering walk through the hotel depending on where your room is located. Breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Susan,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We offer a full American Breakfast daily, so it disappoints me that you felt our breakfast was sub par. I would like to hear why it did not meet your expectations. You can email me at gm.co025@choicehotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was not expecting this to be such a nice stay. Just in town on business and on a company budget - it was The Clarion or Quality Inn to be close to downtown. I picked The Clarion and what a nice surprise. Super nice staff, a cute fireplace and waterfall in the lobby, a pool and a hot tub and everything was super clean. My room was modern and tasteful with a really comfy king bed. Nice hot breakfast included every day and a manager's cocktail hour every evening. Plenty of free parking and easy access to I-25, which is at the corner.
The only downside is there is only one way to reach the front desk which includes having to climb stairs with heavy luggage. The 'backside' bottom floor of the hotel is kind of depressing looking with a moldy smell. Fortunately, I only had to see those going to and from my room.
Overall I gave this hotel a Very Good rating. Definitely a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Top floor is best. The room are all remodeled and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for the Clarion Call for the Clarion Hotel! I appreciate the positive and the constructive feedback that you have provided. Guest responses help us to improve future guest stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel stay was arranged for me by a business client of mine as I normally stay in Marriott or Hilton hotels. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality, price and services that this hotel offers. The room was very nice and exceptionally clean and well maintained. It has a small kitchen area and is obviously perfect for families who sometimes eat in their room. The rate included a very nice free breakfast that was surprisingly sufficient and well staffed. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Bajagoug,

The Quality Suites is not a Marriott or Hilton Hotel, we are a Choice Hotel, however we strive to offer our guests the same guest expectations as the upper scale brands. I am pleased your company chose to book with us and you enjoyed your stay. As you realize all our rooms are 2 room suites with plenty of room to spread out. I hope the next time you have business in Colorado Springs you and your company choose to stay with the Quality Suites Downtown again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Quality Inn side of this motel, which shares some services with the Clarian. Our suite was very nice and the price was great. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very comprehencive. Some of the best motel eggs ever. We would definitely stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel your feedback is very important to us. The Quality Suites takes pride in offering a full American Breakfast Buffet each day. Our eggs are 100% real and made fresh. We hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good hotel for the price. Big rooms and hot breakfast. Internet worked great. Staff very accommodating.. good for a quick one night passing thru..... neighborhood a bit rough so i wouldnt advise it for a family. parking is dimly lit. But for 50 its a good value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.