We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. Not great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not bad. Not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was fine, but not memorable. The first thing I noticed was the questionable area it is located. There were many transients and homeless constantly wandering the area. However, it is very accessible, next to 25 and downtown. Our room was nice. Newer bathroom and beds were comfy and a good tv. The pool area was about average. It was a little cool, but it was not overly chlorinated like most hotel pools. The staff always kept the area clean and there were always plenty of towels. The lobby is nice and the breakfast is good. They keep the food constantly filled so latecomers are not left scraps. We did not spend much time at the hotel, we were always on the go, so we did have much interaction with the staff but when we did they were friendly. Overall, an average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    93
    42
    33
    40
See reviews for
90
58
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We specifically chose this place to stay because of the breakfast buffet and pool for our daughter. The hot tub was broken for 2 of 3 days, the pool was was so cold that my daughters teeth were chattering within 3 minutes of being in the pool. The General Manager was very rude and did not care. I complained about the pool the first day thinking it would be handled but was still extremely cold the second day. The Manager again showed no sign of caring for a customer. I talked to the maintenance guy to turn it up. They finally got the pool to a good temp by the end of the second night. The third day we stayed I checked to see if the pool was still the same temp. They must have turned off because it was cold the entire third day. I do not recommend this place. They do not accommodate guests. They have a sign that states satisfaction guaranteed, they did not satisfy us on our stay for any issues. They didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. The place was filthy and make sure not to take a number two in the bathrooms. No fan and ruins the bathroom for the next hour or so. I just want to save any one from ruining your trip.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay somewhere that values a customer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Jamie,
I do remember speaking to you about the pool temp and explained that with the high usage, we had to back wash the pool once a day which caused the temp to drop a few degrees. I did ask my maintenance person to raise the temp after speaking to you.
I do care very much about you and my other guests experience. We also have a responsibilty to make sure that the pool and hot tub are safe for our guests and with such high usage it's very important that we back wash the pool and hot tub to make sure that it is safe for everyone to swim and relax. My appologies for any problems this may have caused you and your family.
Sincerely,
Taves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I arrived at the hotel only to be UPGRADED by the manager. They were very nice upon check in. They hotel was nice and the beds comfortable. They have a nice lobby. The breakfast served in the morning was warm and tasty. The pool area seemed to be enjoyed although i didn't take part in it. The down side was the walk to the rooms. It was like a maze and a hike to try and get to the elevators to get to the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

It would have been a lot better if the whole place smelled less like stinky feet and more like clean carpets. I really need a hotel to be clean and smell fresh.
The whole place needs a good cleaning. Tiles in our shower tub area may have been there since it was a Double Tree. White grout was not at all white.
Every staff member could use some training on friendliness to guests in the hotel.
Maybe we should look around a bit more when we are in Colorado Springs and need a downtown hotel.
The complementary breakfast was hot and tasty though.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I chose this hotel for the convenience of being able to walk into the centre of Colorado Springs and without having to pay silly prices for the priviledge by staying at the Hilton in town.

The Clarion is right next door to the Quality Inn and shares some of the property, but overall I preferred the price and facilities of the Clarion, Both are right off the I-25 at W Bijou St and difficult to miss.

The welcome was very warm and I received a nice goodie bag for being a Choice Points member containing candies, popcorn and bottles of water, though I was disappointed with the water. Given the hotel is right at the base of the Rockies with all those gushing mountain springs, it was a shame the bottles contained Nestle purified water.

I arrived just before 6pm which was fortuitous as the hotel serves a "manager's reception" from 4pm-6pm Monday-Thursday, where guests can enjoy two complementary drinks. They have a range of beers, wines or can do a branded spirit with a mixer if you prefer that. There's usually some snack food such as meatballs, mini-sausages, cheese, meats and crackers to accompany the drinks.

All in all, a nice addition, as is the cooked-to-order breakfast. You can choose the type of eggs and the side dishes you want with them, and the order is made and brought to your table. In the meantime you can help yourself to juices, coffee, yoghurt, pastries and cereals.

The cooked food was good quality, although the omelets seemed to be made with a mix rather than fresh eggs, so individual eggs seemed the better choice. The only real downside is having to endure some rabid sports commentators shouting each other down on the TV which seems to be the selection of choice for one particular server. There are free copies of the Wall Street Journal delivered to the rooms and available in the lobby if you need something a little more upscale with your breakfast.

For amenities, there are a couple of PCs in the lobby with a printer if you need them, and there are three washers and three dryers in the guest laundry. Washing costs $2 and drying is $1.50, although you'll probably need $3 worth of drying to get clothes dry. Detergent is available from the front desk for $1 and they can provide quarters too, since there is no change machine.

The room itself was spacious with a separate area for the fridge, microwave and coffee maker, together with a sink and bar seating. The fridge is switched off by default, so remember to turn it on inside if you want to use it.

Furnishings were fine and what was expected for the price and there was good storage space for hanging clothes. Criticisms would be the lack of ventillation in the bathroom which meant any odours in there either lasted for hours or spread to the rest of the room, the quality of some of the power outlets which didn't grip the plug, leaving it to fall out at times, and the poor selection of TV channels. There is a flat screen TV but not much to watch on it.

I'd also say to take care when leaving the room, as some door handles don't return to the closed position on the inside, so you close the door and it looks locked, but you can still open it without a key unless you make sure the inside handle is in the up position. Finally, while there was a little noise from the adjoining room through the party door (not the walls), it sounded like there was an elephant lodging upstairs. Either that, or the floors let through a lot of noise.

The rest of the property is looking somewhat worn and a little frayed around the edges. There are cracked walkways, internal doors which don't lock properly and an odd front door arrangement with two sets of double doors where only the outer doors open automatically. If you're struggling through with suitcases, don't be fooled into thinking the second doors open automatically too or you'll look daft just standing there.

Overall, it was about what I expected. The quality of service and inclusive services counterbalanced the rather frayed property. For the price I think it's a good choice for anyone wanting to be near the centre of Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: Third floor doesn't suffer from noise from the rooms above. Mountain view rooms have the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked the Clarion based on other reviews, the three star rating and the decieving pictures. First of all the staff was the most complacent and apathetic collection of people I have ever run accross in any business. The construction was just super cheapo and the materiels must have been used when they arrived. We booked 4 nights stay and after one very sleepless night on a miserable plank of a bed resulting in a very stiff back and neck we decided to check out. The General Manager checked us out and didn't even ask why we were leaving early. He stated that we would be credited our balance and we are now in a fight with Clarion, Expedia and Kyak for a refund. Not one of these people will take responsibiity for giving us this bum steer! I wouldn't recommend this place if it were free!! Stay away.

Room Tip: Don't rely on ratings that Expedia puts out. Also, go a grade higher than what makes sense for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
I'm sorry that you were not happy with the beds. We have been in the process of replacing some of our beds with new ones. I'm sorry that you didn't let me know what the issue was, We would have been happy to move you to a different room or possibly replace your bed. Since you paid through Expedia, it's them that billed your credit card not the hotel. we actually bill Expedia. So we are not able to credit your card.
We would love the opportunity to show you that what you experienced is not typical of the hotel. Please give me a call at the hotel so we can book your next stay at our hotel.
Sincerely,
Taves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked the in-room hot tub suite hoping for some nice relaxation after attending classes at University of the Rockies. The location for those classes was excellent. The relaxation - not so much. Conversation in the next room, set up as a connecting room, was clearly heard. The stairs at that end of the hall ended up on a fire escape to get outside, and scraped metal on metal to open and close, heard throughout the night. The hot tub faucet was very slow flowing, taking almost 45 minutes to fill above the jets. By the time the tub was full enough, the water had cooled considerably, and the water was tepid, at best. The room was a little dank smelling, but not from a particular source. The bed was comfortable, with nice bedding. Several light bulbs in the ceiling over the tub were burned out. The shower door would not close properly. The shower head dripped constantly, and loudly, I might add. I didn't partake of the breakfast so I can't speak to that. The room was nicely equipped with a small fridge, and microwave, which was nice for a stay of any length. The hotel is easy to get to off the highway. Will I stay there again in August for more classes? Not too sure at this point in time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 314 W. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, CO 80905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.